We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Absolute Favourite!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bilash Balti House

Bilash Balti House
Ranked #3 of 29 Restaurants in Swinton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: greater manchester / swinton area
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Our Absolute Favourite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We eat here at least once a week but I can't remember leaving a review on Trip Advisor so here goes!
We last went as a couple on Wednesday 24 July 2013. What we like about the place is that the staff always seem very pleased to see you and always make you feel welcome. The manager Mr Khan always makes a point of saying welcome and makes you feel like your custom is very much valued.
The restaurant is large and air conditioned. It has a carpet and the walls are decorated with painted murals - we love these!
There are two sides to the restaurant separated by a wall with arches cut out; in the old days before the ban one side was for smokers but now they seem to use one side for larger parties or families and the other side for couples.
On Wednesday we had poppadoms, a shiekh kebab and chicken pakoras to start with, these came with salad, chutneys and onions. We ordered off the main menu, they do have a special menu which is cheaper but honestly the food is really not too expensive here.
For our main courses we had Chicken Achari and a Chicken Tikka Methi. Both dishes were lovely, hot, tasty with lovely fresh chicken. The Achari spices are very good. We had some chips and boiled rice with the mains.
The drinks are not overpriced which is really noticeable especially the wine!
As per usual we had a lovely meal, for a very reasonable price which we really enjoyed.
A great traditional restaurant well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elsie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    33
    14
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Reliable Good Food and Good Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I cant fault the Bilash at all, we eat the same thing each time we go its consistantly good - we love the agra special curry - service is excellent - and i have to say the take away is very good value. we went last night 2 minutes to 1m which is when they close ( we did not know they close at 1pm) and the waiter said it was okay they would cook us some food, they had already cleaned up but they made us our agra special garlic nan and two free bottles of beer - most places would have just said sorry closed

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sjg44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley Surrey UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good curry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed at the Premier Inn in Swinton with work and walked the 15-20mins to the Bilash Balti. Welcoming staff, busy for a Monday night, good choice of menu. £9 for a litre of house wine, lots of good food and reasonable prices. Yes the decor is slightly odd but you know, it added to the experience, I'd come again if in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Clairem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“not too bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Half decent food, nothing to rave about but the staff are really friendly. The beer is cobra or kingfisher and is a good pint. I think I'd go back here just for the booze

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“yet another good visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

went there with wife for her birthday, 11 of us in total around 6pm for the deal which was £6.95 each.Poppodum,then the 2 courses.I have to say you really need to be really hungry if you want to get through the food as we had to take some of the food home.I had Chicken Chat which again was 10/10 and then Prawn Bhuna.Waiters were attentive and friendly.One even advised us on how to download something onto an I Pad when he could hear us talking about it! Service was quick despite the place being absolutely full to the rafters,and at these prices and quality,I'm not surprised.We took 2 kids aged 7 and 9 and there was no way they could eat what they were served so again more food taken home.Maybe slightly cheaper for kids that age with smaller portions being served? Bill was £121 for 9 adults and 2 kids.which included 3 nan breads and drinks.Bargain.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank salfordreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bilash Balti House also viewed

Salford, Greater Manchester
Swinton, Salford
 

Been to Bilash Balti House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing