We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food change of owners”
Review of Hare and Hounds

Hare and Hounds
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Levens
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Village pub with four en suite letting rooms. Owned and run by Becky and Ash Dewar since 2013. Four individual en suite letting rooms. Specialising in local ales and simple fresh food.
Wigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely food change of owners”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The restaurant and bar are amazing with new owners. Atmosphere is relaxed and ideal for eating with very reasonable prices and good food. Try the fruit cider with mint and berries and the Sauvignon Blanc is a good price too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pollo1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    68
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great local pub”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Great meal, wonderful atmosphere, charming and really friendly staff and excellent choice of wines and local beers, all reasonably priced. What more can one say other than we will be back on our next visit to the area. We understand that the pub is under new management and has clearly been lovingly restored.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boris2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaw, Oldham
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We tried this pub as it was the nearest to where we were staying but the food was very expensive and the menu was mainly pizzas and burgers.

The burger was uncooked and chips greasy. Granted that they knocked a couple of pounds off the price but our experience was not a good one.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank SunloverShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Budworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“A charming country pub”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My girlfriend and I stopped in at the Hare & Hounds for a spot of lunch over the bank holiday weekend and were charmed by it. Sitting in the picturesque but easily accessible village of Levens, the Hare & Hounds is a stereotypical country pub; cosy atmosphere, good guest ales and hearty food. We had a very nice meal in the sun with a few pints of local ale to wash it all down with. Well worth a visit if you happen to be in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Amazing local pub”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Excellent local pub. The service was a bit slow but made up for in smiles and completely due to the fact that the place was packed. Food was wonderful and servings were massive (I swear the yorkshire pudding was the size of my head). No room for dessert? Share a sticky toffee pudding because it did not disappoint.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hare and Hounds also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowland Bridge, Lake District
 
Grange-over-Sands, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Coniston, Duddon Valley
 

Been to Hare and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing