We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather a disappointing member of this chain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trincity
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Rather a disappointing member of this chain”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

A rather lacklustre and drab example of Holiday Inn - lumpy bed and tired décor but it is what it is - a perfectly excellent base for first flight out of the Airport. It's quite a way out of Port of Spain - so a rather pricey taxi (T$200)was called to take us in to town to 'kill' time. We got one back - (having met a 'local' who directed us to a queue of locals piling into shared taxis ) for 40T$
Granted it was shared and 'an experience'!!

The shuttle didn't arrive for ages at the airport on our arrival, but was wonderfully prompt in the morning for our 4am check-in. Nice staff - just rather out on a limb! We didn't try breakfast - obviously - but it would have been nice to have been able to sit in the salon area when we'd arrived and have a relaxing coffee - there is a vending fridge of sandwiches - but that's the last thing we wanted.

So - all in all - an excellent place for a stopover when en route, as we were - especially with silly times for planes - just not overwhelmed by touches of comfort - and it isn't a cheap option - just mightily convenient.

Room Tip: They're all quiet as far as I can see because the place isn't really buzzing anywhere...see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Kate M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. It is good to read that you found our location commendable. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us due to the shuttle service and room accommodations. We have discussed this with the appropriate department for necessary improvements.

Once again thank you very much for your review and we will be working on improving our services in the future. We hope to serve you soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    110
    90
    33
    10
See reviews for
53
75
33
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

The hotel should be maintained better on the outside. Breakfast was great, very tasty with a good variety. Was close to the airport but far from other places like St. James and downtown. Computers in the business center were not working up to par and they did allow me to print but it needed to be collected at the front desk.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simwbwlp2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear simwbwlp2013,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. It is nice to hear that you have enjoyed the breakfast served during your stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Our second visit was as trouble free and enjoyable as the first. This hotel is ideally situated for your early morning/late night departure/arrival with a free shuttle bus service from the airport. We arrived in the evening prior to our silly o'clock departure time the following morning. The receptionist was as smiley and helpful as before. Our room was comfortable and well appointed, the bed comfortable and no noise from outside.. We were given menus for local eateries and had the opportunity for a shuttle bus drop off if required which was a nice touch. We left too early for breakfast but the lovely lady in the kitchen gave us hot chocolate to get us on our way. As ever the staff couldn't do enough to make our short stay as comfortable as ever. The only criticism is the room rate which is quite steep for an Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I booked this hotel as I need a place to stay near to the airport during a stopover, I was a little deterred by the price given that it was a Holiday Inn but there wasn't much choice! Upon arrival there was some confusion as I had made a third party booking and later changed the dates which was not communicated with the hotel. The front desk were very helpful and efficient, ensuring that the matter was sorted as quickly as possibly, which was much appreciated as I was quite drained after my flight.

The room was very clean and the all the furnishings were modern. I can't comment on much else as I did not attend breakfast or use any of the on-site facilities, however I would stay here again and recommend it if you had a connecting flight.

I will say however the shuttle bus can be hit or miss when at the airport so I took a taxi instead, however in the morning it was perfectly fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissJetSetterLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

close to one of the largest shopping malls with lots of variety

Hotel is very clean and staff are very helpful

pool needs shade attention

This hotel has a shuttle which is complimentary

stayed twice during my trip.

Room Tip: this is beside a highway so any of the rooms facing the front are the quietest ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I had a three night stay at this Holiday Inn and our stay was totally enjoyable!
The staff were always smiling and so willing to please-we can't say enough to complement
their attitude and helpfulness. We have travelled all over the world and stayed in many hotels and found the staff here second to none. Keep up the good work. We would definitely stay
here again when we visit Trinidad.
Carl and Jean Narine
Markham, Ontario, Canada

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool have a nice view and is very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Anne J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hello Mr & Mrs. Narine,

Thank you for taking the time out to offer a review on your recent stay at our hotel, your comments are important to us.

I am happy to read you both enjoyed yourselves and that our staff assisted in making your stay a comfortable one.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerly,

C. James
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Friendly and relatively efficient staff at this property. Checked in around 5 pm and it took 15 minutes, and a trip to find the housekeeper, for the staff to find a room. I asked not to be near an elevator. Guess what was across the hall? Also placed above the entrance to the hotel, so shuttle and guests arriving ad departing kept the noise level to a relatively annoying background noise. Rooms are clean and well maintained.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 218 - right above the entrance.You can hear the automatic door open and close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Anne J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hello Clay W,

Thank you taking the time out to offer us a review on your recent stay at our hotel, your comments are important to us.

We would like to sincerely apologise for the inconvenience you experienced and assure that we will do everything we can, to ensure your next visit is a comfortable one that meets your requirements of accommodation.

Once again we thank you for your contribution as it aids in what we can do to improve the quality of the service we aim to provide.

We hope to make amends in seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

C.James
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trincity
22.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,109 reviews
22.8 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
22.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
877 reviews
18.4 mi away
D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort
23.4 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport
Address: No. 1 Exposition Drive, Trincity, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Trincity
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trincity
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Trincity, Trinidad. We are pleased to offer you a 100% non-smoking Hotel.This attractive, recently built hotel is conveniently located 3 minutes from the Piarco International Airport, just 30 minutes from the capital city Port of Spain. We offer a complimentary shuttle service which runs from 4.00 a.m. to 12 midnight. Situated within a growing urban development with an 18 hole PGA Championship Golf Course, Premier Shopping Mall and Multiplex Cinema, this property features 82 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites and is ideal for business or pleasure. The hotel offers a complimentary Express Start breakfast along with the most up to date amenities and facilities including an outdoor swimming pool, facility, fitness center, business center and free high speed Internet access throughout the hotel! Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Trincity, Trinidad and experience this new hotel with exceptional views and outstanding service and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport Hotel Trincity
Holiday Inn Trincity
Holiday Inn Port Of Spain
Port Of Spain Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport Trinidad And Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing