We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop over on the way to Grenada”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trincity
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is purely for a stop over hotel as we arrived around midnight and left at 4am for a flight to Grenada. The staff were very pleasant. The rooms are average. We were hungry and everything was closed so they gave us some yogurt and a sandwich from the breakfast stuff plus bottled water. The shuttle was good to get back to the airport which is only 5mins away. This is purely why we stayed there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Anne J, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and comments regarding your recent stay and experience at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites, Trincity. It is comments like these that help us to improve and overcome any shortcomings in our attempt to deliver quality customer care and in this regard, I have also taken the opportunity to share your comments with the relevant team members.
It is our aim to make every guest stay a great experience every time and in this regard, we remain committed to ensuring that we deliver the experience that is consistent with the guest expectations.
Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express, Trincity, and on behalf of myself and my team we invite you to join us again on your next visit to Trinidad.

Sincerely,

C A James
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 316 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

Hotel has been opened since 2007, and I believe the staff has been exhausted with "the sorry we do not have" Ok i called to book for my 2nd stay and was told by the friendly Akeila of reservations unfortunately we do not have a restaurant, STILL?, then as it was a short business trip I appreciate the fact we get complimentary shuttle, breakfast and internet, but wait internet- no room wireless( i believe it is the only hotel in trinidad that do not offer room wireless) stayed anyway.
The rooms have been up kept the building itself looks dated from the outside, continental breakfast had a nice variety and staff was great.
MANAGEMENT- do you read these comments to improve on what your guest NEEDS. I hope so ,as i noticed a pretty decent airport hotel on its way up, who can say competition!!!
If on my next visit there is still no improvement in the basics i would not be returning.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are less used and you may be able to pick up the lobby wireless
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trinitravels1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Anne J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and comments regarding your experience at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites, Trincity. I do offer our sincerest apology for your less than satisfactory review, and note that your comments woud be shared with the relevant persons. However, your comments are well noted as they do help us to improve and overcome any shortcomings in our attempt to deliver quality customer care.

We would also like to thank you for the positive feedback in the areas that you have identified and assure you that we remain committed to ensuring that we deliver the experience that is consistent with our guest expectations.

We look forward to you giving us another opportunity o serve you.

Sincerely,

CA James
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Since 14 years I travel to Trinidad for business. This time I stayed for the first time in the Holiday Inn in Trincity. I did not like it too much because it is a soulless place in the middle of nowhere. In my opinion it is of course an excellent choice for one night when you have an early flight or late arrival at the nearby airport. But in all other cases when you have to stay two or more nights in Trinidad go to one of the hotels in Port of Spain or in another city. Since the hotel has no restaurant and no eating places are close by (actually the hotel is standing alone in an empty area besides the main highway), the only food you can get inside the hotel is KFC or Pizza Hut delivery. The room was clean and the bed was good - standard Holiday Inn. Next time in Trinidad, I will probably stay in another hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Doffa,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback. I am most pleased to know that you found our room accommodations comfortable enough for your needs. I am sorry that you found our location to be inaccessible. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Once again, many thanks for your comments.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is an excellent hotel. The rooms were clean, interestingly internet was wired, the hotel staff were courteous. I would recommend this hotel for business persons as there is an airport shuttle. There were no street lights so my drive out was dark and perilous especially as there are no other buildings nearby. The area is gated though, but some lights would make guests feel safer.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulaMar_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Anne J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

We thank you for the feedback regarding your stay. We would just like to reassure you that we are committed to ensure that we deliver a quality service to all our guests. We have had the street lights looked into and are pleased to advise that the lighting has been rectified.
In the other areas that received a favourable review, we thank you for your review and hope that you would stay with us again and again.

Sincerely,

CA James
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

First off we had to call to be picked up which isn't the problem, once the driver got there he wasn't friendly didn't put the luggage in the car and never spoke drove like a bat out of hell to the hotel form airport, once we got to the hotel the staff was all laid back at the desk like we was bothering them. The room looked great until you got to the bathroom pealing paint and the elevator had a smell of dirty mop. The only thing I liked was free shuttle and breakfast. Staff needs improvement for business

It takes a second to lose a customer and a lifetime to get them back!

Room Tip: Get your dinner before getting to hotel, kfc or pizza hut will deliver
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traveler2012311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I've been coming to Trinidad on business for nearly 20 years and decided on a 1 night first ever stay at the Holiday Inn as was there on transit between Guyana & Curacao.
I didn't get the free shuttle bus from the airport as didn't see it and to be honest didn't know there was one so paid TT$ 120 (about £12) from the airport to the hotel(which frankly i felt was a bit steep for a 5 minute taxi ride),but Trinidad taxis are expensive.
Check in was fairly quick and ok (although i didn't think the receptionist was very friendly),first impressions were not great as the public areas of the hotel are a bit tatty but my room was fine,very clean,quite modern with all you would want,i had a good nights uninterrupted sleep
before my early morning wake up and got the free shuttle bus to the airport which all went smoothly.
Overall my experience was fairly good and i would recommend staying here but only if you are planning on a short stay (which i think is what it was designed for) as it is not within walking distance of anywhere and there is no restaurant or bar on site,however the hotel do offer a regular free shuttle bus to the local Trincity Mall which has lots of eating outlets so you are not "stranded" .
My only gripe (and is why i have marked the hotel 3 instead of 4/5) is the price i paid,one of our customers got me a "corporate rate" which was US$ 163 so with taxes on top (which i know is not the hotels fault) i paid just short of 200 dollars for 1 night which in my opinion is about 50 dollars more than what i think i should have paid for the service received,i assume they charge such high rates due to the proximity of the hotel to the airport and not much (if any) competition,business is business i suppose !!.
Would i stay there again yes but only if on transit as it is too far (and expensive) to drive all the way into Port of Spain for a hotel for one night.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliFantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great place for overnight stopover. Near to airport. Excellent free shuttle service from and to airport and off site shopping and eating. No catering on premises, only vending machines.
Very clean ground floor room with coffee making facilities, flat screen TV, wifi and comfortable bed. Friendly staff. Early morning wake up call on time as well as 4am shuttle to airport.
I would rate it as excellent if meals were available on the premises especially as we had arrived in Trinidad 14 hours from the time we left our London home and were in need of a good meal and early to bed for the 4am start next morning wthout having to venture outside the hotel to eat.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms appear to represent value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seasonedtraveller169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trincity
11.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,288 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hilton Trinidad & Conference Centre
22.2 mi away
D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
686 reviews
12.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain
12.2 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport

Address: No. 1 Exposition Drive, Trincity, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Trincity
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trincity
Price Range: $163 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Trincity, Trinidad. We are pleased to offer you a 100% non-smoking Hotel.This attractive, recently built hotel is conveniently located 3 minutes from the Piarco International Airport, just 30 minutes from the capital city Port of Spain. We offer a complimentary shuttle service which runs from 4.00 a.m. to 12 midnight. Situated within a growing urban development with an 18 hole PGA Championship Golf Course, Premier Shopping Mall and Multiplex Cinema, this property features 82 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites and is ideal for business or pleasure. The hotel offers a complimentary Express Start breakfast along with the most up to date amenities and facilities including an outdoor swimming pool, facility, fitness center, business center and free high speed Internet access throughout the hotel! Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Trincity, Trinidad and experience this new hotel with exceptional views and outstanding service and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport Hotel Trincity
Holiday Inn Trincity
Holiday Inn Port Of Spain
Port Of Spain Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport Trinidad And Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing