We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”
Review of Seas The Day B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seas The Day B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Ventnor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We had a wonderful overnight stay to celebrate our wedding anniversay. Bill and Jeanette were lovely hosts and nothing was too much trouble. They obviously enjoy what they do!
A lazy soak in the spa, quiet wander through the beautiful gardens and an afternoon siesta.....so relaxing! And as for the breakfast; cereal, fruit salad, yoghurt, home baked muffins, croissants, eggs cooked to your liking as well as all the hot trimmings......we certainly did not need lunch!
Thank you Bill and Jeanette!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacMol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Owner at Seas The Day B&B, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Thanks for your splendid review. As you know! Our garden spa is so soothing and romantic.during the day or evening. Even had a candlelit spa wedding proposal in there. We have many anniversary celebrations at our place. Being a small B&B, we usually have one couple at a time ( peak periods, limited to two couples,) so absolute peace and privacy is assured. We are pleased you enjoyed our complimentary treats and had a chance to relax and chill out. Regards from Jeanette & Bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

209 - 215 of 295 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

Janette & Bill are very good hosts, they will do everything to make your stay confortable and make the must out of your visit to the island. We were three travelling adults and we occupied the two rooms. Both are spottless and quiet, the one on the ground floor has a private garden an patio too (prefer this one if you have any mobility problems, the one upsairs has a narrow, steep stairway). Breakfast is aboundant and eccellent. The only negative thing I could say is that the surrownding of the house, Ventnor village, is not very attractive, but dont' be put out by that. Cowes is five minutes away by car, the pinguins parade and the Nobbies just ten. So, this B&b is a very good choice if you want to stay on the island and visit it extensively. Be aware that all the island, as most of the natural spots in Austalia, is a flyes playgound. Have a good repellent with you (and on you) when you go out.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Italiano61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Owner at Seas The Day B&B, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thanks for your nice review. With your older sisters walking limitations, its unfortunate that you wouldn't have seen all of Ventnor's local attractions. Ventnor common with its bird hides and wallaby bushland and beautiful Ventnor beach. However we are so pleased you made the most of our lovely private garden and see most of our Island's major attractions. Hope you arrived back to your home in Tahiti safely. Kindest regards from Jeanette and Bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Bill and Jeanette were fantastic hosts. My wife surprised me with a trip away here this weekend and I couldn't have asked for better.
The house is located a short walk from a nice beach, and is a short drive away from all the local attractions. Bird watching at Swan Lake was a highlight, and neither of us ever thought of ourselves as bird watchers before.
The room was perfectly clean and comfortable, with nice complimentary refreshments.
The spa was very nice and refreshing to use, even on a warm day.
We also recommend White Salt Fish and Chips at Cape Woolami nearby.
I have come back to work more relaxed than I have in a long time!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chansmission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Owner at Seas The Day B&B, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Eddie and Alicia. What a wonderful review. We love seeing our guests having fun and enjoying themselves. As you are now official 'bird watchers' you would have appreciated the abundant birds that visit our lovely garden. If you had been here a year ago, you would have spotted one of the rare local koalas on the gum tree. With food, being a Celiac myself, so glad I could help with your dietary requirements. To a happy couple, all the best from Jeanette & bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

My husband and I decided to take a quick getaway before our first baby is born. As soon as we arrived our delightful hosts, Bill and Jeanette, made us feel welcomed and happily showed us around their beautiful Balinese inspired garden and the room we would be staying in.

The room was spotless and fresh with everything that we needed plus more. It felt homely with the cute shell, flip-flop and Australian wildlife ornaments. The bed was very comfy and being heavily pregnant I was able to sleep comfortably, now that is saying something! There were bath robes, complimentary shampoo and conditioner and refreshments in the minibar, which were a nice touch. Our private garden at the front of the room was so relaxing and beautiful especially with the wind chimes playing now and again. Being an adults only B&B, it was extra peaceful and quiet.

The location is fantastic with the beach only a very short stroll away. Restaurants and attractions are only a short drive away. Bill and Jeanette provide a comprehensive recommendation of the best eateries on the island.

Our breakfast was amazing and our hosts made sure my eggs were well cooked (due to pregnancy dietary requirements) and they still tasted delicious. The cooked breakfast consisted of eggs to our liking, mushrooms, bacon, tomatoes, sausages and toast. It was cooked to perfection. There was also fresh fruit, juice, cereal, yoghurt, croissants and beautiful home-made muffins. The coffee was freshly brewed and a variety of tea was available too.

We were sad to leave and really wished we could stay another night here. We couldn't find anything whatsoever to fault. We'll definitely be coming back and I cannot recommend this magnificent place enough! Thankyou again Bill and Jeanette!

Room Tip: If you want comfortable accommodation and privacy at a reasonable price, this is the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaraLouise1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Owner at Seas The Day B&B, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Peter & Kara, so glad you enjoyed your short stay. Cooking is my passion and both my hubby and I love giving our guests a hearty home cooked gourmet breakfast. We try to make our place as cosy and as homely as possible and, there is nothing as relaxing as an open window,a gentle sea breeze and the rustle of palms. From your comprehensive review it is obvious that you had a romantic time and we wish you all the best for the new arrival next month.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

A couple of nights at Seas the Day on Phillip Island was a magnificent experience. Bill and Jeanette are wonderful hosts: generous, thoughtful and full of fun.

The accommodation was very attractively furnished and spacious with a good sized balcony -and all sorts of treats to hand.

Breakfast on the veranda was delicious and they have created a tropical garden around the house - a refreshing oasis .

They even gave us a detailed plan for our onward journey with suggestions of things we should not miss.

We were very sad to say good bye to them and leave their lovely home.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Owner at Seas The Day B&B, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Peter and Sandy. Wow! What a beautiful description of our place. We love our unique tropical look garden and when the weather is favourable, having breakfast in the outdoor room is so romantic. As you both know, the high fence surrounding our seaside property gives our guests absolute privacy and seclusion from the outside world. Thanks again from Jeanette & Bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed at Seas the Day as part of road trip from Melbourne to Sydney so we could see the penguins on Phillip Island. Jeanette and Bill made us feel really welcome from the second we arrived. Lovely downstairs room, very clean, separate entrance/exit from rest of house. Late evening port was a nice touch. They've clearly put so much thought and work into the whole set up, house and gardens. Deserves to be No.1 on Phillip Island.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Richardh552014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Owner at Seas The Day B&B, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Richard and Dee, thanks for your warm review. With having done a fair bit of travelling ourselves, we try to make our little b&b as cosy and as comfortable as possible. You will be pleased to know that we are a Tripadvisor 2014 "Travellers Choice Winner, which puts our guesthouse into the top 25 B&B inns in Australia. So you can imagine, we are over the moon and, its thanks to our lovely, happy guests that we received such a prestigious award. Hope the weather in UK is bucking up. Regards from Jeanette and Bill.
,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed two nights in captains quarters (upstairs). Gorgeous gardens, room, location & amazing hosts. So many needs anticipated with chocolates & mints, bottled water for day trips, cookies & popcorn for evening. We made use of the jacuzzi both evenings surrounded by candles - towels & bubbly are even provided! Completely spoilt. Breakfast is absolutely delicious & very hearty & dietary requirements are covered. Bill & Jeanette have wonderful stories to share & really do go above & beyond. Beach a few min walk away. Short drive into Cowes, to Nobbies, other beaches & Rhyll. Definitely a 5+star experience.

Room Tip: Both rooms looked lovely (we stayed upstairs in captains quarters but were given a tour of driftwood...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DVAu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Owner at Seas The Day B&B, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Vicky and Geoff, so glad you enjoyed your stay and had a romantic time in our nautically themed captain's quarters rooms. Depending on the length of stay and the reason eg. penguin spotting, just passing through, popping the question, celebrating a special occasion or time to retreat and chill out from the real world, we like to pamper our guests. As you know, our hearty home cooked breakfast and various treats are complimentary. Thanks for your lovely review and all the best from Jeanette & Bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
3.0 mi away
The Castle Villa by the Sea
2.9 mi away
The Waves Apartments
The Waves Apartments
#4 of 11 in Cowes
232 reviews
2.8 mi away
North Pier Hotel
North Pier Hotel
#10 of 11 in Cowes
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Glen Isla House
Glen Isla House
#1 of 10 in Cowes
246 reviews
2.9 mi away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
6.1 mi away
Oak Tree Lodge Luxury B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seas The Day B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seas The Day B&B

Address: 2 Sidford St, Ventnor, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Ventnor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ventnor
Price Range: $158 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seas The Day B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury small multi award winning B&B near the sea for adults only. Absolute privacy guaranteed. This boutique B&B cannot accommodate infants or children and is close to the penguins (5 minutes drive away) and other tourist attractions. A beautiful beach is only 3 minute's walk away. Seas the Day is nestled in a romantic garden oasis containing water features, a sheltered spa-pool, artworks an abundance of birds. Both accommodations have private entrances. One with balcony. The other a terrace. There are nooks and crannies outside for guests to unwind and chill out. Inside, two beautifully appointed accommodations are well equipped and unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Seas The Day B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing