We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Yabelo Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yabelo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yabelo Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yabelo
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I had a very nice stay with my 10 year old daughter. Everything, including the water heater and the TV worked fine. We just had to turn the water heater on before we took a shower. The bed felt hard sitting on it, but was very comfortable to sleep on.

We will definitely visit again if we find ourselves in that area of the world.

The slippers were nice, but were my daughter's size.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biggy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 79 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

We found this motel better than expected, with the typical african notes such as the shower with no curtain or the door lock assembled inside out, but the garden and the tidiness make it a very good choice. The restaurant, with tables in the garden, is just average, probably the most decent place in the town, because it was full of businessmen from neighboring countries (somalis, kenyattas, ugandan). Strange for such a location? Worth noting that this part of the country is beyond the customs control...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank homedelsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

After a very long drive from Turmi we stayed here as part of our tour. I do realize that we are in the middle of nowhere but this motel is on the main road to Kenya and we would have expected better. The shower has no curtain so the floor got flooded.Only 1 towel. Satellite TV very poor sound. Fridge switched off. Staff unfriendly and bar staff charge what every they like, no bar prices displayed. The place looks like a prison, dirty plates in the garden and cat was cleaning the plates in the dining area.

Room Tip: check your room thoroughly before accepting it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Truus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is a nice hotel to stay, I recommend the new rooms in the back garden. The rooms are clean and nice, and you have a nice garden in front, where you can relax and the children can run around (especially nice after a long days drive). They have nice tibs, but be patient when ordering, the serving is somewhat slow. In the meantime enjoy the relaxing atmosphere in their out door restaurant or in the garden. I enjoy their suite in the corner, it has 2 bedrooms - and suits well for a family. This hotel was a pleasant surprise first time we came to stay here, and even more when they got the new rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AddisPearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stopped here for one night on our way through the area. The rooms were clean and bright and the gardens were nicely manicured. The restaurant had the slowest service I had encountered in Ethiopia although the setting in the outdoor dining space was lovely. Overall, I think it was nicer than what I'd expected to find in the area.

We visited the nearby Yabelo National Park while staying here--we saw a huge herd of zebras but not much else.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beanvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel was until now the only decent option in Yabelo, so 45 dollar for a double last week is a lot , if you get some pensions at a few 100 m from there for 17 dollar.
These pensions offer the same room quality, more silent at night but no food or drinks.
The Motel also stays in a permanent construction and extending phase. They were cutting at 5 m from our table with an electric cutter Ceramic to put on the floor. Television in the middle of the restaurant added 50 people to see English football.
So all by all , overpriced now others are in the neighbourhood.

Room Tip: Take a room away from noisy areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eenEthiopia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This motel is by far the most pleasant place to stay south to Awassa. It is built in a relatively quite area so expect deep sleep. Their TV works properly so is the refrigerator. Those rooms in the back yard of the restaurant are much quiter since it is away from busy restaurant area. I like to relax on their well kept green area in front of the rooms. The water pressure is weak and the service at restaurant is a bit slow but the rest qualities compensate it. If you love meat go into town and eat tibs at Raba Gada hotel.When travelling with family, I often choose the suite room. It is extremely good, particularly when you come direct from stay in country side villages you will definately find this as 5 star hotel.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Borana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yabelo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yabelo Motel

Address: Yabelo, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Oromiya Region > Yabelo
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yabelo
Number of rooms: 101
Also Known As:
Yabelo Hotel Yabelo
Yabelo Motel Ethiopia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing