We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like being transported back in time!”
Review of Relais Casamassima

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Relais Casamassima
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Like being transported back in time!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We loved Casamassima! It's a converted farmhouse that's been in the same family for 200 years. The people there are wonderful, extremely helpful and kind. The grounds are just beautiful with views of Perugia in the distance. It's still a working farm with olive orchards and vineyards. You can buy their homemade olive oil and wines. The room was so charming! It had a separate living room and bedroom and stone walls all around, a skylight and fireplace! So comfortable, quiet and scenic!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
52
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at Casamassima in April for four nights and found ourselves wishing we could stay longer. If you are looking for the classic Italian villa experience, look no further. Casamassima is a working farm which still produces its own wine and olive oil. We stayed in one of the exquisitely renovated suites in a refurbished barn. It was light, airy, and even had a working fireplace. The suites offer an Italian villa experience to those who don't have a big enough party to justify renting the entire villa.

The hostess Anna was wonderful: extremely hospitable and very knowledgable about the local area. She helped us with restaurant recommendations and is an excellent cook herself. She prepared several meals for us featuring fresh, local ingredients. Anna was frequently accompanied in her gardens by two "helpers": Valentino and Truchelo, the resident cats who add lots of character to the place.

Only a couple hours drive north of Rome, the location is a great launching point for exploring nearby towns like Assisi and Perugia.

Make sure you leave time to lounge next to the pool at sunset and listen to the birds!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have to say the entire experience was exceptional. The suite was spacious, well appointed and so inviting that it was hard to leave yet the beckoning gardens and Umbrian vistas made it impossible to stay inside. The suggested daily activities took us through the countryside enjoying a fantastic balance of history, culture and gastronomy.
A return trip is on the agenda for October!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

What an excellent find! We had an excellent three days at Casamassima, and will be returning.

Hostess

We were welcomed on our arrival by Anna, whose warm and sincere smile remained throughout our stay. She is a veritable fountain of knowledge about the local area, but not in a pushy way - she obviously just loves the region... It was more along the lines of, "You're off to Perugia, I know this fantastic place.." or, "I am going to Assisi tonight to try a new restaurant, I'll let you know how it is".

She couldn't have done more to make us feel at home. eg we asked for the nearest shop so that we could buy some mineral water, and five minutes later a bottle appeared, along with an enormous basket of freshly picked cherries.

Rooms

There are three suites at Casamassima, and we stayed in number 2. Hotel rooms can be quite samey, but suite 2 definitely had an unexpected wow factor. It has obviously been decorated by someone who really cared about the finished article.

The bathroom had a huge sink, shower and jacuzzi bath (and lots of fluffy towels), and there was large living area and lovely bedroom, complete with original stone walls. It is beautifully decorated and extremely elegant. I wouldn't change a thing.

Setting

The house is about 15 minutes from Perugia, and reached down a little road, and sits on its own. The views are lovely and the grounds are well kept, but without being overly manicured; this is a working farm. Lemon trees and orange trees line the walk to breakfast and to the pool.

Breakfast is in the conservatory, and there is a lovely drawing room with books/cards/games and a sitting area. We didn't use it, as we found the sitting area in our room more than sufficient, but it was nice to know that it was there. It also housed an array of local beverages, which was a nice touch.

There is a little shop with olive oil, wines and beauty products. Everything was very reasonably priced, and the beauty products are in the bathrooms in miniature, so you can try them first.

For anyone wanting to get away from it all, I would really recommend staying here. It is charming in every way.

Thank you Anna.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaS470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montelaguardia
2.8 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 66 in Perugia
813 reviews
5.5 mi away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#2 of 66 in Perugia
689 reviews
13.3 mi away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sina Brufani
Sina Brufani
#6 of 66 in Perugia
1,142 reviews
7.6 mi away
Alla Posta dei Donini
Alla Posta dei Donini
#1 of 2 in San Martino in Campo
845 reviews
1.8 mi away
Agriturismo La Fonte
Agriturismo La Fonte
#5 of 113 in Perugia
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Casamassima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Casamassima

Property: Relais Casamassima
Address: Strada Pieve San Sebastiano 5, 06134 Montelaguardia, Perugia, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia > Montelaguardia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Montelaguardia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Relais Casamassima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing