We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely accommodation set in beautiful gardens”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Le Chardon

A light and airy cottage set in lovely, rural countryside setting.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A light and airy cottage set in lovely, rural countryside setting.
Lovely setting to take in the long hours of sunshine and country views. Relax and take in the sun - gite with private patio.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
A light and airy cottage set in lovely, rural countryside setting.
Lovely setting to take in the long hours of sunshine and country views.
Relax and take in the sun - gite with private patio.
South facing location in a  lovely courtyard setting with views over the Limousin countryside.
Private patio area perfectly located for taking in the evening sun with a glass of wine in hand.
Some of the owners chickens enjoying the large garden.  Fresh eggs available when chickens willing!
Tranquil setting with rural country view.
View over garden to countryside beyond.
More countryside.  So much to see and do or just rest and relax.
Light, bright and airy through lounge with kitchen/diner
Light and bright dining area with double doors to the lovely garden
Comfortable lounge with log burning stove. With Wifi, TV, DVD, and CD player.
Refurbished kitchen/diner.  Fully equipped with everything you might need.
Spacious double bedroom.  Comfortable bed and all towels and linens supplied.
Comfortable double bedroom with lovely view across garden.
Spacious twin bedded room.  All towels and linen provided.  Cot available on request
Refurbished shower/wc room.  Shower with body jets.  All towels supplied  Complimentary toiletries.
Lac de Vassiviere with its many beautiful swimming beaches just 20km away.
Lac de St. Helene.  Swimming beach, childrens play area and cafeteria just 4km away
Stunning evening sky over Cheissoux village
Early morning sunlight :-)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cheissoux, Haute-Vienne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
liza c
hull
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Lovely accommodation set in beautiful gardens”
Reviewed June 3, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Only managed to experience a couple of nice days this time during Easter in the region. Despite this the accommodation set in beautiful gardens was comfortable with all the amenities. The log burner a god send.

We enjoyed watching the chickens (quite the characters - I think one was called Elvis - brilliant....) and spotting the cats around the garden, there is also a garden swing which was welcomed by our younger daughter on the dryer days.

Eddie and Sonia very friendly and accommodating - we enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: March 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ian f
Oundle
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely gite and fantastic hosts”
Reviewed July 12, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The gite has lovely views and outdoor space and everything you could need inside. The bed was very comfortable and the decor really cosy and welcoming. Sonia and Eddie were great hosts-nothing was too much trouble to ensure your stay is memorable- and providing really useful information about the area and life in France. We had a great stay and would definitely recommend anyone to stay here.
thanks Sonia and Eddie.
Louise and Ian

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2017
Thank you for the lovely review Louise and Ian. It was a pleasure having you here and we are both really looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Eddie + Sonia :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy B
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed September 21, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The owners made us very welcome from the moment we arrived and throughout our stay they were helpful but not intrusive. The gite is very cosy with comfortable beds, everything you need in the kitchen and well maintained. Outside there is a lovely big garden with great views and a nice terrace for eating and enjoying the sunshine. We found the location very good to get out and explore the area. We had a great stay at Le Chardon and would recommend it to anyone.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort, facilities and location
Liked least: Leaving at the end of our stay
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2016
The Limousin is a beautiful region of France. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here - it was a pleasure having you here as guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejaytee20...
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“A fabulous place to stay!”
Reviewed July 14, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

What a wonderful little corner of paradise this place is!! The gite is spacious, bright, and comfortable, with everything you could possibly need. The owners are delightful, always happy to help and wonderful company to share some local wine with should you wish to. The garden and views are beautiful, and very peaceful. There are lots of lovely villages close by to explore, and the local lakes are fabulous on a hot day. If you want to stay local, I highly recommend the auberge in the village, the food was the best I've tasted in many years. A truly wonderful week, and we can't wait to come back!!

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and gardens
Liked least: having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2016
Thank you for the wonderful review Gary and Emma. It was a delight to meet you and a pleasure to have you at Le Chardon as guests.
Eddie and Sonia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LinP1965
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Lovely... the only place to stay!”
Reviewed September 22, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

WOW!!
We stayed for a week in this very comfortable, fully equipped Gite whilst looking for a property to buy ourselves. We knew we loved the Limousin area from previous visits. Our hosts Eddie & Sonia's enthusiasm for the area and lifestyle just confirmed we were making the right decision.
They provided us with wood for the log burner for when the evenings went off cool, and great company sharing a few bottles of wine.
Absolutely recommend anyone to stay @ Le Chardon :-)

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2016
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here and found a property you liked. We look forward to having you as neighbours and hope to see you on your next trip over.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardening...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Grateful thanks.....”
Reviewed July 22, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from the most delightful stay at Le Chardon, the gite was perfect for our needs set in beautiful grounds, with distant views of the surrounding area. Sonia and Eddie were the ideal hosts and their thoughtfulness and warm welcome made our stay. The immediate local area more than fulfilled our hopes - and we enjoyed daily swims nearby, meals out, concerts both classical and one given by local French musicians at the lakeside pizza restaurant and walks in the deep, quiet countryside.

We would wholeheartedly recommend this gite and feel fortunate indeed to have enjoyed such a special week.

Date of stay: July 2015
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2015
This is a beautiful area with lots to do and am pleased that you and your family found the gite comfortable and were able to enjoy the activities as well as the peace and tranquility. We do hope you can join us again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bas B
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful gite with an amazing garden and friendly hosts”
Reviewed July 15, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We absolutely loved staying at this beautiful gite!! The hosts were perfect; available when needed but also very respectful of our personal space, at no point did we feel we intruded in their lives. The house itself is superb, much more comfortable than what you'd expect of a gite in a small town in rural France, especially for this price. Both bedrooms were equipped with super-comfortable beds, the bathroom was newly renovated and very modern, the kitchen well equipped and nice-looking and the living area very comfortable. However, what we loved most was the outdoor space with our private patio with barbecue, the giant garden which we could make full use of, and the friendly chicken and pigs. As our hosts informed us through a very handy brochure, there actually is quite a lot to do in the area. The lakes were great to lay on the beach on warm days and the restaurants (both lunch and dinner) they recommend are excellent and not pricey at all (we tried almost every one of them). We were sad to leave after 5 nights and would highly recommend staying here!

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2015
It was an absolute pleasure having these 3 as guests. They were very polite and respectful. It was great seeing them obviously enjoying themselves because of their constant laughter and cheer. They were the perfect guests and left the gite in very good order when their holiday was over.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing