We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sad to leave this wonderful location”

Review of The Burren

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Burren Rear view of The Burren
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
The Burren
Rear view of The Burren
Sitting area
Dining area
The other side of the kitchen
Downstairs seating area
One of the bedroom
Another bedroom
View of the living area from the terrace
Upstairs seating area
One of the ensuites
View from the upstairs seating area
Upstairs seating area
One side of the kitchen
View from the balcony
Rear garden
Front garden
The Burren from the beach path
Path to the beach
Our local beach
View from the balcony
Another view of the beach
The beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Tyrella, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
iheartvac...
Topsfield, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sad to leave this wonderful location”
Reviewed July 12, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Our family of 4, plus one friend stayed at the Burren for two weeks while visiting from the states. From the drive up the lane to the house we fell in love. It was the perfect location for visiting family in Downpatrick (quick 10-15min drive). The short scenic walk to the beach was fabulous- and the beach- well, we only saw people a handful of times! Was fun to watch the seals or the occasional horseback rider. The views from the upstairs balcony of the house are also breathtaking. The kitchen is well appointed and there is lots of seating both upstairs and downstairs, so plenty of room to spread out. There is a house right next door (with small kids), which we knew beforehand but is not shown in the pictures. Just mentioning in case someone is looking for complete seclusion. The owner and his sister were both very pleasant and easy to communicate with. We loved our stay here so much that I was hesitant to write a review for fear I can't get booked again! Can't wait to go back.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2017
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Burren and hope you will come back !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2004lorn
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful house”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Stayed here last week for my mums 80th birthday for 2 nights. It was amazing form start to finish, all needs were catered for as we had children in the party as well. They loved playing in the garden and walking to the beach down the lane. It was great to have a fully equipped kitchen and a BBQ. Great views of the sea and Mournes. Was worried we would be in the middle of nowhere but it was so relaxing and peaceful and not too far from anywhere. Everything was very modern and clean. We had a great 2 days exploring the Mournes, using this as our base, couldnt have been better, and such great value for money. Thank you John and Claire, we will definitely come back! x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views and the peace and quiet
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2016
Thank you for feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Burren.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy A
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Carlsberg don't do holiday homes, but if they did, this would be it.”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Totally fantastic. This home is really beautiful. It was immaculately presented. Claire and John could not be more helpful. Everything you could ever need for a perfect holiday and the huge bonus of uninterrupted views of the ever changing Mournes. We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary with our extended family. Perfect memories, can't wait for our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was so perfect, better than its description.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2015
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Burren. Thank you for the lovely feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liz b
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic holiday home with amazing views in a great position close to a beach.”
Reviewed September 6, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a wonderful stay at this spacious holiday home which fitted in three generations easily. We all said Wow! at the views from the upstairs living room and balcony. Having a private path to a nearby stunning beach was a huge benefit. Loved the place and the area and can't wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2015
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Burren.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCurran74
1 review
“Fabulous Family Stay”
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We booked the Burren for an extended family stay in July 2015. The house is fantastic with amazing views and superb accommodation. Hard to believe we were all swimming at the private beech ... Weather was perfect!
Thank you John and Claire for making the booking, payment and arrangements so client friendly. We would definitely recommend this rental to anyone looking for a beautiful house in a stunning location.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2015
The Ritchie family are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Burren.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate C
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous property, amazing views, great family memories.”
Reviewed May 6, 2015 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our weekend was booked to celebrate a 50th Wedding Anniversary in the family. We took our family of four teenagers and granny and granda for a weekend to The Burren. Everything was as good, if not better than it looks on their web site. The house was extremely well equipped, we wanted for nothing. So airy, bright, comfortable and amazing views wherever you went in the house. You are surrounded by views of the Mournes, the sea, countryside, with golden hay bales in the fields. We all had a wonderful weekend, with wonderful memories, wonderful photos, we could have stayed longer. We will definitely return for another stay. Clare was so helpful and accommodating. A fab weekend that we are all still talking about. Kate, Robert and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and the views. (Upstairs room, balcony was my favourite area)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2015
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Burren.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendyh35
County Armagh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed November 3, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I can't rate this holiday letting high enough. The house was fantastic - equipped with everything you would need & more. Everything was spotless & easy to see that the owners look after the property well. The location was beautiful with easy access to the beach. John & Claire were extremely helpful answering any queries. We hope to return very soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Burren.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing