We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissapointing to be honest”

Daintree Rainforest
Book In Advance
More Info
$1,114.19*
and up
Private Daintree National Park Day Tour from Cairns Including Cape Tribulation...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: 2 or 4-hour guided and interpreted walking tours through the centrepiece of the oldest rainforest in the world.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dissapointing to be honest”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The place is 'tired' and lacking a lot of much needed maintenance. To be honest I enjoyed the Mossman Gorge more than the Daintree.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Nathan_Schwartfeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    34
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTE MUST!!!”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The beauty of the rainforest cannot be adequately described...it's almost as if you can taste the fresh oxygen produced by the trees, vines, ferns and mosses that abound! Smell the humus, sight the flora and fauna and be at one with nature, take time out to enjoy the magnitude of this natural beauty...I absolutely recommend it!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sallyjanehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Vic
Level Contributor
173 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Quiet Time”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just sit and let the surroundings cover you with the peace of the rainforest and the peace of the pieople that lived here in the past.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Arthur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Day trip to daintree national park”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Booked thru Fred at the info centre for 1 day with North Trek to the mossman gorge, daintree river excursion and national park and cape tribulation.
Terry, our guide was excellent and very knowledgeable . We had a fabulous day.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cape Tribulation: amazing wildlife, tree frogs, beauty”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Cape tribulation is a highlight of my 2 years traveling Australia and New Zealand. I highly recommend staying in Cape Trib itself for several days, not just passing through on a day tour. The eco-adventures are too good to miss! Horseback riding on the beach, wonderful night walks in the jungle with a guide, kayaking, amazing. Tree frogs, incredible rainforest, breathtaking beach, refreshing watering holes to swim in (get the locals to show you the ones without crocs), enough adventure tourism activities to keep you busy for a week... amazing. The place itself has an indescribably relaxing, healing energy to it. The oldest continuing rainforest *in the world,* the Daintree rainforest around Cape Tribulation has an enormous richness of wildlife whose isolated evolutionary history means they are found nowhere else in the world. They are also pretty safe-- do a "jungle walk" with a guide and you will find out that it is an adventure you don't have to be scared of-- none of the snakes are extremely venemous, few of the spiders common to that area will really hurt you. Unless you get in the way of a Cassoary, or actively poke at a croodile for a good picture (which a Belgian tourist did years ago) you should be alright. Locals love telling stories about bumbling backpackers hurting themselves, but the stories are rare. Just make sure you are informed before you go anywhere. I first visited Cape Tribulation in 2006 and then again in 2012, it was always a "light footprint" area but in those 6 years it actually became *even more* unspoiled due to lack of tourism. As a female traveler on my own I felt relaxed and the atmosphere was great-- as anywhere, be very cautious though. I always tell people where I am going, the locals can be a bit rough around the edges (lots of drinking and a bit aggressive), and however cruisy the atmosphere it is always best to be on the cautious side. As adventures go this is accessible and sparkling with green juicy gorgeousness and amazing wildlife!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daintree Rainforest also viewed

Daintree Region, Queensland
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
 

Been to Daintree Rainforest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing