We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place- take your swimmers!”
Review of Mossman Gorge

Mossman Gorge
Book In Advance
More Info
$116.18*
and up
Cape Tribulation, Mossman Gorge, and Daintree Rainforest Day Trip from Cairns...
More Info
$167.81*
and up
Mossman Gorge, Aboriginal Dreamtime Walk and Daintree River Crocodile Cruise...
More Info
$296.09*
and up
Mossman Gorge Dreamtime Walk and Low Isles Snorkeling and Sailing Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place- take your swimmers!”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We took a drive up to Port Douglas and being slightly disappointed with that place we decided to drive to Mossman Gorge not really knowing what to expect. Well, we found a gem! This place is beautiful! Take up your swimmers and a towel and after you finish exploring the beautiful tracks, take a dip in the water hole. It is a bit fresh, but what an amazing place. The current is very strong, but there is a small area where young children can safely play in the water and the fish swim straight up to you. After a swim, eat in the cafe! Although prices are a bit steep (as you would expect for a tourist attraction) the food was great. We shared the steak burger and chips and weren't disappointed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireHicks_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,011
    468
    103
    30
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
518 reviews
153 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“Take your swimsuit and a towel”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Make sure you take your swimsuit and a towel. Most tour bus people do this as do non local tourists. This way you can take a true rainforest river swim! Watch out for the current by keeping close to the riverbank!
Ten years ago this was a legendary local spot to rock pool swim, today it’s been turned into an international tourist experience. A must see place to go when in Cairns. Here you can today take a bus for $ 6.00 that effortlessly takes you from a large car park to the start of the falls area. There is a tourist trap center where the staff look dull and bored. The windy road up to the gorge follows a large horizontal water piping system. Once you get to the top you can then walk to the suspension bridge and then backtrack to an entry point to get down to the river side. The freshwater rock pools are super cool and revitalizing against the humid heat that is Cairns.
Take mosquito spray and be prepared to see wild turkeys on the path.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank canadian175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Rainforest walk with indigenous guide”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Two possible tours -- park tour or indigenous tribe tour on different trails. Our OAT (Overseas Adventure Travel) group of 7 went on the 1 1/2 hour guided walk with a member of the tribe that inhabited the area. His name is Rodney Bill Dockrill (rodney7325@hotmail.com). The cost to us by OAT was $80 (lower rates are likely if arranging directly with tour guide). The weather the last of Feb was dry and warm (although it rains much of the year). The guide was extremely knowledgeable about local flora and fauna. Our trail is only used by tribe on their land. Much was shared about their culture and heritage. I am very glad we decided to go on this tour - how these people lived in a rainforest in northeast Australia.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“I love this place...”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I remembered visiting Mossman Gorge many years ago with my parents during our first trip to Cairns. How times have changed. Back then there wasn't a visitor centre and it was definitely a less well known place. I remembered stopping a few times to ask locals how to drive there. When we finally got there and walked down the trail, we were met with a different world. This time, there were many more people, but I must say that its beauty hasn't changed. It was great to see that everyone who visited treated this natural wonder with respect and from the smiles on people's faces I know that everyone was simply amazed by how beautiful this place truly is. A must see on anyone's tropical North Queensland itinerary.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jerrizhao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bungendore, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Would have to be the best swimming hole ever !! Very beautiful place great setup and service !! A must see !!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mossman Gorge also viewed

 

Been to Mossman Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing