We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply beautiful, a must see and swim location”
Review of Mossman Gorge

Mossman Gorge
Book In Advance
More Info
$115.96*
and up
Cape Tribulation, Mossman Gorge, and Daintree Rainforest Day Trip from Cairns...
More Info
$167.49*
and up
Mossman Gorge, Aboriginal Dreamtime Walk and Daintree River Crocodile Cruise...
More Info
$295.53*
and up
Mossman Gorge Dreamtime Walk and Low Isles Snorkeling and Sailing Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
perth
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply beautiful, a must see and swim location”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stumbled across this place and so glad we did. Was a beautiful swim and views a must do!!! Good to see the aboriginal people working well here, congrats to a beautiful tourist spot .

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank net64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    994
    458
    102
    30
    23
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Currumbin, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wholelistic”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My family and I drove from Cairns to Mossman Gorge (just over 1 hour scenic drive). It was inspiring how the local indigenous community is responsible for Mossman Gorge. The information centre was incredible and it cost only $6 for return transfer from carpark to start of boardwalk. You could walk this if you chose. The gorge walk was easy, over 2kms and was enjoyable breathing in the scents of the rainforest. The highlight for my family was swimming in the upper billabong - cool but refreshing. We also swam lower down in the river with the fishes. Afterwards our hair and skin felt sooo soft. This would be perfect spot for a picnic. It was a very uplifting experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mitcherson54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Must”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Recently visited Mossman Gorge and was compelled to write a review. The new Visitors Information Centre and Cafe which opened mid last year are an efficiently run enterprise showcasing exceptional local Aboriginal art and some really tasteful souvenirs. We enjoyed a very reasonably priced and delicious lunch prepared and served very efficiently. For $5 return you catch an electric bus to the area where you commence the well signed boardwalk. The whole centre employs indigenous personnel who were extremely efficient, helpful and professional. It's evident that the design of the centre and boardwalk have been done with the environment in mind with huge catchment for rain fall off and recycled materials used in many areas.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank richmondsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“love it”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

i love this place, the new interpretive centre is excellant. it is a top spot for a cool swim in the wet season

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank mannypdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Take your camera and swimmers”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The gorge is gorgeous. The facilities such as walkways, visitor centre, suspension bridge are all well looked after, which makes the small fee worth it. The water is crystal clear, you can see the sand on the bottom and huge fish swimming. We wish we had of taken our swimmers. The only bad thing about this trip was that the walkways with lots of stairs was difficult to navigate with our baby in the stroller (which cant be helped).

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LeanneandBrett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mossman Gorge also viewed

 

Been to Mossman Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing