We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take your camera and swimmers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mossman Gorge

Mossman Gorge
Book In Advance
More Info
$275.52*
and up
Mossman Gorge Dreamtime Walk and Low Isles Snorkeling and Sailing Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Take your camera and swimmers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

The gorge is gorgeous. The facilities such as walkways, visitor centre, suspension bridge are all well looked after, which makes the small fee worth it. The water is crystal clear, you can see the sand on the bottom and huge fish swimming. We wish we had of taken our swimmers. The only bad thing about this trip was that the walkways with lots of stairs was difficult to navigate with our baby in the stroller (which cant be helped).

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LeanneandBrett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    897
    417
    96
    28
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mossman Gorge Swimming Hole, Visitor's Centre/Shop/Cafe/Shower & toilet block/Bus Transfer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

A stunningly beautiful architectural structure housing Mossman Gorge Visitor's Centre, Shop, Cafe, Change Rooms with shower/toilets & Bus Transfer station is what greets the visitor. We purchased the $5 transfer-ticket for the bus that leaves every 15 minutes, then proceeded to enjoy a delicious breakfast from the cafe as we had missed breakkie leaving early from Cairns. The banana-honey smoothie, big breakfast and DELECTABLE banana bread toast was utterly yummy and well worth the $! After that we jumped on the transfer bus and were swished away gently to the edge of the rainforest and a little beyond, following the boardwalk, the most incredible clear-watered, fish-filled swimming hole with mini-rapids to be swept away by if you want to get a thrill...OMG! After a lovely walk through various paths in the glossy growing greenery of the rich rainforest surrounds and a walk over the hand-built suspension bridge over the gorge, we found ourselves looking down at the mini-rapids with local children playing in the water & jumping off the rocks. Many a photo later, my entry into the chill-cool 'fresh' pool had me gasping momentarily, then absolute heaven prevailed as my walk-weary legs were soothed by the crystal clear waters. I swam up the side of the waterhole to where the water rushed over a metre or so drop through huge boulders and launched myself into the center of the rushing water and found myself screeching with delight as I was buoyed up & swept 20-30 metres down the gorge before a gentle current took over and I drifted toward the middle of the pool. Another like-effort saw me drifting along with a grin as big as Alice's Cheshire Cat!!! Do not miss this amazing opportunity to be one with nature and enjoy fresh water swimming at it's best...then go back on the bus to the cafe and enjoy just a bit more banana bread or other yummies that might suit your fancy! This amazingly enjoyable attraction is so much more the better for its caretakers and employees, all local Aborigines who hold control of their own assets - just as it should be!!! Long may you enjoy, care for, conserve and profit from this wonderful asset that you share with fellow Australians and overseas visitors to boot! THANK YOU!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sallyjanehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“memorable experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

This easily accessible rainforest was awesome to walk through. Trails are well marked, but the forest was empty of people on the trails which was nice. Dipping into the river and the small ponds was a great way to cool off from the humidity.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Brilliant Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

The walks through the rainforest were fantastic with a great suspension bridge view of raging torrents of water below you. There was an electric shuttle service to the gorge which was fantastic and the staff were so friendly and helpful. They were 100% aboriginal staff and I believe the complex is owned by the Australian Indigenous Corporation which I think goes under the name of Voyages (same as Uluru). I take my hat off to them for a perfect job and the complex itself was spotless. The entry fee was only $5 and I enjoyed it more than Daintree which including ferry came to nearly $90 for a couple.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Not far out of Port Douglas this attraction is well run culture connection with the local trouble history,Electric shuttle service is provided for a small nominal charged and can be used all day up to and back from the walking track carpark or you can walk up free.Stroll alone good party ways up the gorge. Lovely swimming hole in river a couple of minutes from top drop of point.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mossman Gorge also viewed

Daintree Region, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Mossman Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing