We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful and stunning”
Review of Mossman Gorge

Mossman Gorge
Book In Advance
More Info
$116.07*
and up
Cape Tribulation, Mossman Gorge, and Daintree Rainforest Day Trip from Cairns...
More Info
$167.66*
and up
Mossman Gorge, Aboriginal Dreamtime Walk and Daintree River Crocodile Cruise...
More Info
$295.82*
and up
Mossman Gorge Dreamtime Walk and Low Isles Snorkeling and Sailing Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“peaceful and stunning”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We hired a car for the day and decided to take a trip up the Captain Cook highway to Daintree Rainforest, with a few stops along the way. As we drove through Mossman, i remembered hearing someone talking about Mossman Gorge and how nice it was, so we decided to stop there and check it out. We are so glad we did! It really is beautiful and we decided to take a dip (the water was freezing!) after we had walked over the bridge and seen a few snakes, which we loved. We stayed there for a while, just sitting on the rocks, dangling our legs into the water and taking in our amazing surroundings. However, in typical Queensland and Rainforest fashion, it began to rain so we quickly headed back to catch the shuttle bus back to the car park. Don't let that sentence put you off though, Mossman Gorge is definitley a must visit! The only fee we paid was for the shuttle bus too, so the visit to the gorge itself is totally free!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank shortbutsweet91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,634 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,010
    467
    103
    30
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leura, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“One of my favourite places in the world, lush natural rainforest, beautiful.”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

If you are visiting Australia, and are planning a trip to Queensland, Mossman Gorge is a must. It is the easiest access point for the famous Daintree Rainforest. I have been several times, when living in Australia, and it never ceases to stop me in my tracks. You can access the gorge from Mossman town, it is a short drive along the Mossman river. From the carpark, take the winding walk along the river bank to the main viewing point. You walk through rainforest (bring a brolly & raincoat). The main viewing point gives you a fantastic view up and down river, of this ancient boulder strewn river. There is a tiny beach just before the viewing platform, where you can access the quieter pools of the river, to take a dip & sit on the huge smooth boulders, in contemplation. There are further short walks you can do from here, up to the suspension bridge and beyond. Nothing too strenuous or long. The main forest is too dense, and it is not recommended that you go off the tracks, as the plants & wildlife are protected. It is a truly beautiful and peaceful spot (when there are not bus loads of people there).
From December through to April expect heavy rain every day. May through to November is dry season.
A stunning place.
This is a wild forest, and though there are toilets and a few picnic tables near the carpark, don't expect anything more developed than that. The walking track may not suit pushchairs/buggies. However if kids are old enough to walk it is a great place to explore.
Spray arms & legs if you don't want to get mosquito bites. Even during the day you can get bitten as it is cooler and shady under the tree canopy.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank shebe43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, now made made to feel unwelcome”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

What has happened? Mossman Gorge is a place is for everyone!! Road closed! If money is needed, perhaps a gold coin donation to get through the gate. If parking was a problem in the gorge carpark, make a new one a little bit futher down, near the 'house'. A bus shuttle for $5 to the original carpark, I don't think so. Staff in the costly looking information centre are not in any way friendly or welcoming. We stood at the desk, for a while looking at a map in amazement, maybe that's why they would not serve us. Up your friendliness and customer service skills.
You are forced to go through the visitor centre and pay $5 for a stuffy shuttle bus. Or you can walk the 2.5klms (visitor centre tells you 2klms). However, you have to 'prise' it out of them that you can walk. I don't think they really want you there.
The Mossman Gorge itself is still an amazing, beautiful & a very refreshing destination.
The shuttle bus and having to park at the visitor centre is a extremely disappointing and a poor experience. Sustain the natural beauty, fine, but this experience should be free not a money making venture, we pay our taxes.
Suggestion to all, if you want to visit and go for a swim, I recommend to find a tour operator that can drive through the gate with direct access to the gorge.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheap and lovely”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

After a super long, hot drive to get to the centre, it was such a relief to have some cool! The gift shop is lovely, staff are friendly and $4.80 return for the shuttle to the gorge is super cheap for such a tourist spot.
Very pretty location, a must do if you're in the region.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MelbCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The fee was low but the staff were not particularly friendly or welcoming. Bus seemed unreliable and was hot and uncomfortable. Actual setting was nice, but a bit offputting to see all of the warning signs against swimming. Views were nice and few good photo opportunities. Would have been much nicer to have been able to drive up closer to the actual site and experience it that way. Lots of signs preventing you from entering areas, only a few areas can actually be accessed by visitors. Can say that I have been there and done that but dont think I would bother to visit again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Stacey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mossman Gorge also viewed

 

Been to Mossman Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing