We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Convenient and Friendly Place to Stay”
Review of Dockside Motel

Dockside Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dockside Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 St Barbe B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We usually plan our trips sufficiently to make reservations for hotels before we leave home. This time, we did not do that because we did not decide how long we were going to spend in transit and how much time we would stay at any particular location. We stumbled onto this hotel just occupying the same building as the terminal for ferry service to Labrador. We’ve never stayed at an economy hotel that came close to the great service we received at the motel. The rooms were standard fare, except the water pressure was far greater than available about anywhere in the U.S. these days. It almost blew me out of the shower and that experience alone was worth the price of a room. The motel includes a full service restaurant and both establishments are owned and operated by eight women, who also make up nearly all of the staff, from cook to desk clerk, to housekeeping and laundry. We stayed there an extra day, partly to catch a ferry to Labrador a day later, but also to enjoy the great service here. Example: We toured the northwest corner of the Newfoundland Island on our only full day there and we arrived back at the motel about 20 minutes after the restaurant had closed. We asked about the availability of other local restaurants and were instead offered a hot meal prepared at the motel restaurant. The ladies didn’t mind sticking around long enough to prepare a good meal for us, and at the same price. Stay here – you will not be sorry.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kzzzkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 38 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2012

I spent the night at the Dockside Motel in St. Barbe Newfoundland in November, 2012, while I was on my way to Labrador. I chose the Dockside as it was next to the ferry terminal. If you are traveling to Labrador via this route you must take a 90 car ferry ride across the Strait on the MV Apollo. I booked a crossing at 0800hrs so it made sense to stay at the Dockside Motel, a rather rustic place I discovered. I had a room with one double bed, a small TV, and table. The bathroom had a tub /shower but had seen better days as it needed to be re-chaulked. WIFii, which was intermittent. The room was clean but there isn't much insulation between the walls/hallway. Anybody walking down the hall in the middle of the night sounded like a freight-train. The mattress was soft and rather worn so a good night sleep escaped me. There was a small cafe but I did not partake. Lastly there was a boil order in effect for water so you could not drink any water from the tap. The staff did leave one bottle of water in the room. Convenient location if you are catching the ferry and have to overnight somewhere. As long as you don't mind rustic this motel will meet your needs.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank florapeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed for one night in July as we were taking the 8:00 am ferry to Labrador. The room was clean but very basic. The walls were so thin that I could hear the person snoring in the next room. I had to wear ear plugs so that I could get some sleep. The food at the restaurant was simple but decent although it was a bit pricy. I would recommend staying at another property close by if you can find one for the same price or less.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toots812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Agree with other recent reviews. The only reason to stay at the Dockside is for the convenience to the Labrador Ferry (the Ferry office is in the adjacent building). The rooms are spartan and show their age. The doors open outwards into the corridor. The chain lock on the door was broken. The crank to close the window was broken. As noted, there was a boil water order in effect while we were there. In our room, there was a notice posted on the inside door, and 2 bottles of water were provided. Bed was fine, so had a good night's sleep in time to catch the 8 am ferry. WiFi available, ask the clerk for the password.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Boston T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The linen was clean the beds very firm, but there was a lot of careless attention to detail. For example there was a boil order on the water and we were not informed when we checked-in and there was no notice over the tap. Smelled of cigarette smoke. Many light bulbs burned out or missing. When the room was booked accommodation for 5 adults and a child was requested...the room had two double beds and a couch that did not pull-out so we ended up booking another room. There were no sheets for the couch. The unit had only three towels...one large. It was a housekeeping unit but the salt and pepper shakers had no salt and pepper; there was one tea towel; no teapot; no corkscrew; no coffee filters. No spare toilet paper. But it's the only motel in town so be prepared!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SelaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We chose the Dockside, well...because it was dock side and made catching an 8 am ferry to Labrador very easy. The rooms were clean but somewhat dated. One room had a very interesting set of three steps up into it. We had two meals at the restaurant. Dinner was a slow affair with the food being fine but unremarkable. Breakfast was served very quickly and was tasty (both appreciated given the task of the morning was catching the ferry). Overall, an okay place to stay to catch the ferry to Labrador-don't expect the Ritz or fine dining but don't write it all off either. A clean comfortable night was had by all.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexminn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dockside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dockside Motel

Address: St Barbe, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 1M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St Barbe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in St Barbe
Price Range: $88 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Accommodation to the Labrador Ferry. Your choice of beds: Double, Queen and King size are all available. We welcome your pets and all rooms include include wireless internet, cable TV and a coffee maker. In addition to all major credit cards, cash and Interac we also accept US Dollars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dockside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing