We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay here” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mayabell

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palenque
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mayabell
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Don't stay here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

After spending 6 months in Mexico this will be our fist bad review. We have travelled extensively and stayed in many places, in all of these place we have been well received. This review is not to upset or discourage the staff or management but purely for the intent that it may bring to their attention that they need to be more attentive and be more service orientated because they have a lovely premises and the location is wonderful.

Mayabel receives pretty good recommendations of Trip Advisor, perhaps if you are camping or spending a night in a hammock you might have a different experience.

This is our experience, We had come from San Cristobal where we has had lovely accommodation for the same price as Mayabel. At $700 pesos per night (no air-conditioning) the rooms are over priced, they are clean but basic. Our first issue was that our shower drain was blocked and made the entire room smell, secondly there was no toilet paper, I went to reception to report the problem but the receptionist barely battered an eyelid. I had to get toilet paper from my parent’s room next door and just deal with the smell.

Mayabel is locaed in the National park about 2 km from the nearest restaurant other than the one on site. We were advised against walking the road at night due to bandits so we ate dinner at the restaurant.

When we arrived there was a band playing at it seemed pretty atmospheric. We were informed us that it was AUTO SERVICE- we would need to order and collect our own food. NO problem

As I waited patiently behind the counter for the receptionist to finish her knitting, she finally did me the favor of taking my order.
When our order was ready we collected it while the staff just stood around, played on their phones or knitted. Obviously we didn’t feel compelled to drop any coins in the tips jar since we did everything ourselves.

The second night we AUTO SERVICED again as the staff got on with entertaining themselves, this time the chef gave us a personal recommendation, Fish with herbs, sounds good, it looked good, but it tasted like absolutely nothing and there were no herbs in sight. Luckily though the other meals were pretty good.

If you plan on swimming during your stay here you may be put off by the dirty, unkempt trough that they call a swimming pool. We had planned to spend 3 nights but decided to leave after two, there are much better and cheaper options available in Palenque.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bdmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    47
    35
    13
    12
See reviews for
24
53
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

First things first the location is amazing. We walked to the ruins in just over 25 minutes and as long as you do this in the early morning the heat isn't suffocating. We stayed in a basic cabana with ceiling fan which was clean and good value at 300 pesos. You also get woken by some very loud howler monkeys which is a great experience. The pool, although in need of some TLC, is a good addition considering the daytime heat. However...we have never stayed somewhere with such RUDE and unhelpful staff. Admitedly our Spanish isn't great but after trying our best we were largely met by stern faces and utter contempt. The staff seemed to hate working and their attitude ranged from gormless to downright rude. The restaurant is overpriced and portions are small. It's a shame because the Place is in the perfect location and if not for the staff would be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich and Anja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palenque hotels

California
Level Contributor
253 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

This is as close as you get to lodging in the Palenque archeological site/National Park. The hotel also doubles for RV & camping park! The hotel "rooms" are cabañas (i.e., cabins) which have hot water. The food at the restaurant is top notch, authentic Mexican food (no tex-mex here!), and cheap! There is nightly live entertainment of high quality, two guys singing/playing classic & modern Spanish songs from all over Latin America & Spain--surreal! One staff member was not at all friendly & quite rude... The rest of the staff were quite friendly. In the morning a family of howler monkeys will wake you up with their loud screams as they play & eat in the hotel's trees. You're completely surrounded by the jungle hear, far away from downtown Palenque... which did not appeal to us for lodging. Parking is not an issue & it is free. During high peak season make sure you have reservations!! For those who were not raised in Latin America, take a walk up to the National Park, head toward the museum & ask which trail to take to the park-Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LatinaGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahahual, Mexico
Level Contributor
111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

This place was exactly what I needed to experience in Palenque! Adorably cute place surrounded by the jungle filled with LOUD howler monkeys! Stayed in a large screened cabana by the pool with private bath, large porch, and hammock. It was perfect. This place has everything from an open air palapa for camping or hanging a hammock (not my style) to rooms with A/C. I would not recommend the rooms on the farside of the park (to the left of the pool when facing the pool area). They seem too much like motel rooms. The restaurant has excellent coffee and good food, but the ordering process is weird. You have to order your food from the receptionist, pay, and then take the order to the window at the kitchen - which you can see is very clean and well organized. I think this place is great for the price. Interesting clientele passing through. I was there for a week and met some very interesting characters! Slept like a baby. No hot showers.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms to the left side of pool area (facing pool). Small, stuffy, and feel like a motel ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CostaMayaPaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

As the title suggests this is a lovely place to stay with a nice pool and good facilities, if in need of a little care and repair. The cabanas are OK value if you are with 2 or more and camping is fairly cheap. It is a fairly open site and so is much less humid than Ed's Cabanas or el Pancho which are both stiflingly hot in the late afternoon until early evening. The pool at Maya Bell is lovely and is cleaned everyday too :-)
Now, the staff are however awful. If you dont speak fluent spanish you'll be in for a big shock!! They will simply totally ignore you. I am pretty good at spanish but I was still met with a beligerent response many times. Such a shame as the place could truly be awesome with competent staff! I believe that because they are such an established place that they simply dont need to try and be good as the tourists will still keep coming! :-(

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

I camped here over Easter. It was busy with Mexican families and a few travellers. Good location close to the bottom entrance of the ruins. Food is good, great pool on the edge of the jungle. Showers ok, but could do with more frequent cleaning. Lot of howler monkeys close by :-)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
246 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

After seeing the prices for the cabañas we decided to stay at another place with more reasonable fares. But for some reason we decided to come back to have dinner at the restaurant, which was very bad and expensive. You have to give your order at the kitchen, then go get your plate when it's ready - there was one particular lady who was rude to the point that she stopped taking our order and started chatting with her friend across the hall. Not recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank makapon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palenque hotels
1.3 mi away
Chan-Kah Resort Village
Chan-Kah Resort Village
#4 of 34 in Palenque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Maya Tulipanes Palenque
3.0 mi away
Cabanas Safari
Cabanas Safari
#17 of 34 in Palenque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel La Aldea del Halach Huinic
3.5 mi away
Hotel Ciudad Real Palenque
3.6 mi away
Hotel Chablis Palenque
Hotel Chablis Palenque
#2 of 34 in Palenque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayabell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayabell

Property: Mayabell
Address: | Km. 6 Carretera a las Ruinas, Palenque 29960, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Palenque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Palenque
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayabell infrastructure is fully integrated with its surroundings. We offer all the necessary services to enjoy a comfortable stay in harmony with the nature, because it is a magical place, located in a "Protected Natural Area" in the heart of the Mayan jungle of the Mexican southeast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maya Bell Rv And Camping Park Hotel Palenque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing