We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did not enjoy this place” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Chablis Palenque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Chablis Palenque
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Palenque
Certificate of Excellence
BC
Level Contributor
168 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Did not enjoy this place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

First, do not show up and request a room--the price for walk in is $100. Pre-booking online can be half that amount.

I had booked ahead, and at the last minute my son joined us. I checked online for the extra person cost and figured that would be fine to pay when we arrived at the hotel. However, once you are there the extra person cost is 2.5 times what it is online. Payable on the spot.

We were shown to our room and the man counted to us: 1, 2 bath towels, number 3 the bath mat for the floor, number 4, the tiny hand towel. I requested a third towel for the money we had just forked over and when he returned with the towel I had to sign for it! What is up with that? I have never done that in my life before. Many europeans stay here, I don't think they are in the habit of stealing towels are they?

Although we were staying four days and the hotel was not crowded, we were given the WORST room in the place. Right next to the room on the main floor where the staff hung out. Because it was on the main floor, all the air conditioners for many rooms were running right outside our patio door. It could never be opened and I am a fresh air lover.

Probably because it was the main floor, we had ants in our room. Sometimes crawling on the bed, which was disconcerting. We saw at least one ant every day. The friendly ladies did do a great job cleaning and did mop the floor daily with disinfectant. The air conditioning worked well and was quiet.

The bathroom door did not open fully, it got stuck, so it was hard to get to the sink. The door also would not close properly. There was lots of hot water in the mornings for a shower. I found the room very cold and sterile looking with very white walls. It was not the place I had imagined it would be, from viewing photos and reading reviews.

We did not use the pool, it appeared very dirty, I wouldn't go in. I would not book this hotel again.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room on the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pumpermum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelchablis, Director General at Hotel Chablis Palenque, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear pumpermum,

Our regrets for not giving you the great service we are meant to do.
Through internet we offer sometimes good prices in single/double rooms, whereas the 3rd person is not included, as in your case. You had reserved for 2, but 3 arrived. An extra fee was charged, which is a worldwide normal procedure.
The details that you mentioned already have been fixed (doors, ants), and we have placed more enphasis in the cleanliness of the swimming pool area.
Regarding your concern of our procedure to keep our inventory of towels, this is been done as a procedure, never in a personnel way. Our apologies if you felt annoyed for that.
About what you mentioned: "Right next to the room on the main floor where the staff hung out", in fact was a room with guest and not our staff. We did not know of that inconvenience in order to stop it. In fact, in your 4 days of stay we never received a complaint from you whatsoever, in order to correct them immediatly, or to move you into another room.
Hope we can have you here in the future. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    275
    76
    10
    3
See reviews for
112
284
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sonoma county, ca
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

I was disappointed since we were put in a small dark room in the back hall and it was cold. And most of the hotel rooms were empty. I think staff could have been more friendly and helpful. The room was clean though. And I did like the area hotel was in and the setting was quite nice with trees and plants.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnySonomaCounty_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We spent 2 nights in this hotel. Since we had a very loaded excursions program, we only used the services in the mornings and in the evenings.
The location is probably good, a few good restaurants and bars are within walking distance. Check in and check out were quite smooth, although you have to sing for everything: remote, a/c, hairdryer.
I understand that it's not the fault of the hotel, but it is extremely humid. Air conditioner doesn't help, because the remote is sealed where you can adjust the mode.
The room itself is clean, but the tile on the floor is such that leaves dirty stains. If it rains, you cannot get from your room to the reception without umbrella.
The worst thing is hot water. For two mornings it was non-existant before 7am. We managed to get traces of it around 7:30 am, but you have to be patient and wait for 3-4 minutes. It also disappeared after 9 pm. On arrival (at 6 pm) we had to wait for 8 minutes with cold water running from hot tap. Then it finally became warmer. I wonder what is more expensive - water running for 10 minutes before it becomes warm or decent water heating facilities.
On the positive side, all the requests are answered readily and with enthusiasm.

Room Tip: Room 118 is on the ground floor and has problems with toitel flush
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aran_bako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Great little hotel set in the green neighbourhood in Palenque. Very easy to find as it's near the main road but still very quiet.
Rooms are basic but they are fresh, clean and fairly new. Hot water. Mosquito net on doors and windows.
Friendly staff, but you do need to sign for pool towels and the remote controls for tv and air conditioning.
Restaurant is ok and prices similar to other tourist places.
Nice well shaded pool that's cleaned daily.
Recommended for families.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuxtla Gutierrez, Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed here for one night with my parents, aunts and uncles and my spouse. The rooms were extremely clean although with pretty typical hotel decor. The service was attentive and kind. The location is nice - I have stayed in the Center of Palenque before and this area is much more charming and quiet. The staff spoke some English which helped my family very much. The common areas are really adorable, loved the courtyard with pool. We ate breakfast at the hotel and it was good - although a bit pricey for what it was. But being in super tourist zone of Palenque, the prices made sense. Definitely a great value for Palenque.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizanyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Staff could do with some training and seem a little lost. Unfortunately the staff speak loudly at reception and the noise carries. Hotel is at an adequate international level. The cost of a taxi from the ADO station is MEX25 and takes 2 minutes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Imparare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

I just finished a three night stay at the Hotel Chablis and was generally pleased with the experience. The rooms were very well kept and the TV and AC worked as advertised. The hotel while comfortable is a bit featureless and the rooms have a sterile feel. The included "American Breakfast" is to be avoided. The waitstaff is completely untrained and while well meaning are clueless. The food itself is adequate, although the substitution of hot dogs for breakfast sausages really is hysterical. The Chiapan breakfast, which looked very nice, is not included in the room rate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fred t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palenque hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maya Tulipanes Palenque
2.3 mi away
Chan-Kah Resort Village
Chan-Kah Resort Village
#4 of 34 in Palenque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mision Palenque
Hotel Mision Palenque
#3 of 34 in Palenque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ciudad Real Palenque
2.0 mi away
Hotel La Aldea del Halach Huinic
2.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Mercedes Palenque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chablis Palenque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chablis Palenque

Property: Hotel Chablis Palenque
Address: Merle Green No 7 | Centro Eco-Turistico La Cañada, Palenque 29960, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Palenque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Palenque
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palenque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Chablis Palenque 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm and relaxing hotel with 51 comfortable rooms, located in the Canada area, the only ecourbanistic area in the State of Chiapas, with big trees and singing birds, 500 m from the bus terminal, 1000 m from the city center, and 8 Km from the archaeological site of Palenque. Our rooms are equipped with minisplit, screen 32" with cable TV, telephone, ceiling fan, free Wi-Fi, hair dryer, safe, iron and ironing board, private bathroom and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Chablis Palenque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chablis Hotel Palenque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing