We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bright blue agua”

Cascadas de Agua Azul
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.00*
and up
Full Day Tour: Wonders of Agua Azul Cascades and Palenque Ruins
Ranked #5 of 20 things to do in Palenque
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bright blue agua”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Gloriously brilliant blue falls, at a reasonably close distance to the Palenque ruins. I heard that the water in the days before I went was quite dull due to recent rainfall, though it is more often as beautiful as the pictures you see than not. Just be aware when planning what day you go - you want calm weather and a blue sky!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank dearkarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,875 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,058
    538
    206
    46
    27
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mazatlan, Mexico
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A beautifull and incredble site”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I have seen pictures and heard a lot about this place, but when you see it it is something undescribable, i`s just beautiful, so many falls, and the color of the water is incredible a clear turquoise, unseen in other places, very highly recomended, un fortunately is a bit far. Its worth to take a deep in them. But our gide said that during the rainy season the weater turns murky, so avoid this place at that time.
Also nearbay ys a beautifull waterfall called misol-ha its also worth to visit and swim in it

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RafaMazatlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing Place”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It is just beautiful, lush, exotic. A little busy, but still enjoyable. Best time to go is between December and February. Make sure no rain is in the forecast or you won't enjoy its beauty, since rains will stir up the waters. Good places to eat, nice spots to take a dip. Totally recommended

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Crowded”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Beautiful place,great pics, however very crowded during Easter be ready, lots of places for food and souvenirs, get there early to find a spot

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank cabrerjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful but don't bother bringing your bathing suit”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The falls are truly beautiful, a clear turquoise cascading from far up the mountain. The pathway along the falls and the terraces with benches for viewing are well shaded by trees and very welcoming. To your left as you ascend are plenty of craft stalls and eateries, but the falls create a white noise that allows for few distractions. We climbed until we could go no further without paying an additional fee. We were disappointed in the bathing area. We had seen a photo of a woman swimming just below the actual falls, but in fact the area that is strictly marked off for bathing is murky, still, and only thigh deep. If you are not a child or a hippopatamus, you will probably not want to swim here. If you do though, and you have not brought a swim suit, there are plenty of shorts and tee-shirts for sale. We had to pay 3 times: to enter the short road leading to the site, to enter the site, and to park. Then it was quite clear that you'd better tip the young man who waved you into the parking spot. Bathrooms, I believe, must be paid for as well.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank arleneNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cascadas de Agua Azul also viewed

 

Been to Cascadas de Agua Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing