We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great standard mid range hotel”
Review of Hotel Xibalba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Xibalba
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Palenque
Reviewed August 13, 2014

A solid choice to spend a couple of nights at in Palenque. The street setting is lovely amongst the trees and away frpm the bustle of downtown but still only 5 mins walk away. The rooms have good AC and hot showers and plenty of room. The restaurant is pretty average and I would go elsewhere to eat. There is a nice coffee shop in the corner and a good restaurant across the street and cafe jade down the hill 50m.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank TimMPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 278 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed 2 nights whilst on a tour and the place was nice and clean. It has a nice bed and breakfast feel to it (minus the breakfast as it wasn't included in our package). Showers are good with hot water and bathrooms were decent. It has a safe in the bathroom as well.
Down the road is Jade cafe only a few minutes walk and the food is amazing! I'd recommend the food there rather the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikosansan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

After a long bus ride from San Cristobal, we were happy to find this comfortable, affordable hotel
in Palenque. It has a very convenient location with excellent restaurants nearby. Dont miss the
Maya Canada restaurant right across the street for fine cuisine. It was easy to arrange tours to see
the beautiful waterfalls of Chiapas from this hotel. The rooms were very clean and quiet. The staff
were helpful and pleasant. We would definitely stay here upon a return visit. Mucho gracias!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laxdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

It was very noisy at night when we were there, close to a restaurant/pub. There are holes on the wall at every guest room. Maybe good for ventilation but bad for sound isolation.
WiFi signal was not usable in the room, very weak.
Room itself is good and clean.
BTW, the owner/host can't speak English, but OK to check in/out.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiger810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

The room itself is dated, but very clean and spacious. For good wifi, get rooms closer to the front / reception of the hotel. Stayed in room at the very back and the wifi was slow as a result of being distant from the router. The front desk did not speak English but was very helpful with my limited Spanish in assisting with tours and other requests. Refills of bottled water available as Palenque is rather humid at this time of the year. Walk 5 minutes to the main road to catch a collective for 20 pesos to the ruins. Couldn't be easier! Walk 5 minutes the other way to visit the small town centre.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and the room was very clean and quiet. We did not have breakfast or lunch/dinner at the hotel (there is a very good restaurant on the other side of the street). The staff was friendly and there is nothing to complain about.
We would recommend this hotel if you only need a clean place to stay for a night or two to see the amazing ruins of Palenque. If you need a pool and a great restaurant inside your hotel you should probably go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisG1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The word "Xibalba" in Mayan means "underworld" or "hell." Unfortunately, this hotel lives up to it's name. We stayed during holy week, so it was busy, but i don't find that a compelling excuse for the hellish experience. Check-in was handled by a grumpy, unfriendly front desk attendant. The room was tiny, beds hard, pillows thin, the shower was at best a light mist of lukewarm water, and the noise from the street out front was unbearable, mostly due to the screened window that could not be shut and the busses pulling up at 5 a.m. to whisk people off on their tours. One of the reasons we picked the hotel was it's "free WiFi." It may have been free, but it also was unavailable during our two night stay. Repeated consultations with the people manning the front desk were unhelpful at best. The blank faces and uninterested shrug upon hearing their internet was not working is all i needed to rank this the lowest possible. Their two publicly available computers were also "not working." Location was good and walking to other properties with better food and functioning internet was convenient. Xibalba, take some pride in your property, your work and your reputation. Traveler be warned, don't be tempted by the Mayan underworld.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhg1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palenque hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Chablis Palenque
Hotel Chablis Palenque
#2 of 34 in Palenque
626 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cabanas Safari
Cabanas Safari
#16 of 34 in Palenque
57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maya Tulipanes Palenque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Axkan Arte Hotel Palenque
Axkan Arte Hotel Palenque
#11 of 34 in Palenque
168 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Mision Palenque
Hotel Mision Palenque
#4 of 34 in Palenque
586 reviews
2.3 mi away
Chan-Kah Resort Village
Chan-Kah Resort Village
#5 of 34 in Palenque
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Xibalba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xibalba

Address: Calle Merle Green No. 9 | Col. La Canada, Apartado Postal 33, Palenque 29960, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Palenque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Palenque
Price Range: $32 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Xibalba 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xibalba Hotel, located in Palenque, Chiapas, Mexico, offers comfortable lodging in the relaxed atmosphere of a small hotel anxious to know and to please its guests. Our rates are very competitive, our advice steers tourists to intersting places, and we can tell you many things about Maya culture should you care to ask. Hotel Xibalba began modestly in 1992 and now, two renovations later, offers 35 clean, comfortable rooms in two adjacent locations. Our Don Carlos Restaurant features Mexican specialties at reasonable prices. Parking, in a safe private area, is free. We have two computers for guests. Wi-Fi internet access free, We offer laundry and dry cleaning service. You may reserve rooms at our hotel on-line from the comfort of your own computer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Xibalba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xibalba Hotel Palenque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing