We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good price and location. Room is clean and big”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Xibalba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Xibalba
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Palenque
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
231 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Good price and location. Room is clean and big”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Hotel is located in Palenque's nice hotel zone (3 star and higher), Merle Green Street.
Many good hotel is clustered in this area. Hotel Xibalba is relatively cheap compare to other hotel. I paid 1,400 peso for 3 nights. Staffs are nice and helpful. Do not arrage tour to Yaxilan and Bonampak with hotel. Arrange tour at the tour agency directly. Room has airconditioned and good water pressure. There are not many good restaurant in Palenque.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eunwoo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    141
    62
    9
    6
See reviews for
21
141
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

My room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The location is good for access to the town and for Palenque ruins. 10 pesos each way on a collectivo. a nice part of town as there's lots of trees, restaurants and other hotels. breakfast was fine but rather expensive for what you get. I've been travelling over 7 weeks in Mexico and have had many really good breakfasts, usually included in the price of the room. Found reception staff to be neither friendly nor unfriendly although I do understand and speak Spanish. Can't say whether or not they speak English. Windows do have good mosquito netting on them so you are able to leave windows open. There is nowhere in the hotel to sit and relax after a long hot day on an excursion. no garden, no roof terrace, no comfy chairs or sofas! It really is just a place to sleep. You can hear people in other rooms as all the rooms have a couple of bricks taken out of the walls, am assuming its something to do with the humidity and air circulation. There is mosquito netting over these gaps. Wifi worked in my room on my iPad 2.

Room Tip: I had room 15 on the ground floor at the very back of the hotel. it had internal windows and outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanda54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for three nights in January 2012, and found that it was clean, good value and in a central location. The hotel has a decent in house restaurant, and is also located near several other options for local dining and shopping. The in room safe and air conditioning was much appreciated, as was the great hot water supply! The management were friendly and polite, and went well out of their way to respond to requests and provide advice.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meaghan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campeche, Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Great value, easy walking to downtown area. Helpful staff.

Room Tip: We like the old part. Nice little balcony to sit and have a drink. No wifi in the old section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aaquwaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We opted to stay in the city with a/c. We did not need a pool, spa etc. just a nice place to sleep and eat. Quite reasonable

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SVAquadesiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

This hotel is located in the La Canada area which is close to the main bus station and the collectivos to take you to Palenque.
The hotel has two buildings. We stayed in the original building. The lobby has an eyecatching big Mayan statue. The rooms have AC and are very simple, clean, have a small TV and the shower definitely rejuvenates you after a hard days' exploration at the ruins.
Our only issue was the walls being so thin and being unlucky to have noisy neighbours 2 nights in a row.
However, the staff are friendly and the hotcakes they serve for breakfast were really very good. Also there's a great Mexican restaurant next door.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Man_with_wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
152 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Palenque. There are a couple of good restaurants nearby and the prices were decent as well. I would stay there again and recommend it to others as well.

Mayaruinsonly
Destination Expert - Guatemala

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mayaruinsonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palenque hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maya Tulipanes Palenque
0.0 mi away
Hotel Chablis Palenque
Hotel Chablis Palenque
#2 of 34 in Palenque
573 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mision Palenque
Hotel Mision Palenque
#3 of 34 in Palenque
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ciudad Real Palenque
2.0 mi away
Hotel La Aldea del Halach Huinic
2.3 mi away
Chan-Kah Resort Village
Chan-Kah Resort Village
#4 of 34 in Palenque
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Xibalba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xibalba

Property: Hotel Xibalba
Address: Calle Merle Green No. 9 | Col. La Canada, Apartado Postal 33, Palenque 29960, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Palenque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Palenque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Xibalba 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xibalba Hotel, located in Palenque, Chiapas, Mexico, offers comfortable lodging in the relaxed atmosphere of a small hotel anxious to know and to please its guests. Our rates are very competitive, our advice steers tourists to intersting places, and we can tell you many things about Maya culture should you care to ask. Hotel Xibalba began modestly in 1992 and now, two renovations later, offers 35 clean, comfortable rooms in two adjacent locations. Our Don Carlos Restaurant features Mexican specialties at reasonable prices. Parking, in a safe private area, is free. We have two computers for guests. Wi-Fi internet access free, We offer laundry and dry cleaning service. You may reserve rooms at our hotel on-line from the comfort of your own computer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Xibalba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xibalba Hotel Palenque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing