We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kin Balam Cabanas Palenque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2013

the cabanas in the kin Balam have very good views, big lawn, tall jungle tree, sunshine, and the room is clean, and the rent is not expensive, but if there is a fan or something like that, it wiil be better. over all, the experience in kin Balam is good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xiaofeng z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 141 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed for one night so we could be close to palenque pyramids. This hotel is at the entrance to the pyramids. Very nice bungalows, room was clean and bathrooms very clean. Lot of nature surrounds you and you feel very relaxed. Price is excellent
There is no cafe but across the road is avery nice restaurant called don mucho.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felizmujer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

On booking the Cabanas we were prepared for pretty basic accommodation, but Kin Balan exceeded our expectations. We arrived at the Cabanas after a long day and a long drive from Merida. Although the staff did not seem to have a record of our reservation, once we showed them our confirmation we were shown to our Cabana with bathroom en suite. Room and bathroom were very clean. Room was large with a fan, table and chair. Towels and water were provided each day. There is a restaurant on site which was shutting down for the night but the owner promptly opened up the kitchen and put a couple of enchilada/burritos with rice and beans for us, which was a godsend. It was also handy to have breakfast before setting off to the site.

After a day at the ruins we went into town thinking we would have a bite to eat. Palenque was hot, dusty and noisy so instead, we decided to buy some provisions and could not wait to return to our Cabana where we detached from reality (based on its seclusion, beautiful environment and no wifi) and enjoyed the rest of the afternoon and evening, having our meal al fresco in the peace, tranquility and clean air of Kin Balan.

Room Tip: Not all cabanas include a bathroom ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Kin balam is right next to the ruins of palenque, it just takes about a 10min drive.
Everything was clean in the room, and the scenery was beautiful, you are completely surrounded by nature.
The staff is really helpful and friendly. If you get hungry just cross the street and grab a bite to eat at Don Mucho's Restaurant.
Keep in mind that there is no air con in the room, though in my case the fan was more than enough.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albany A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

You just want a calm place where you can be yourself surrounded by beautiful nature, having everything you need kept in good state: you go to Kin Balam!
Clean facilities, good prices, friendly and helpful stuff, convenient location in between the archeological site and the town of Palenque, you cannot ask to be at a better place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonikaMueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed there one night and it was a nice place to sleep. It is clean, feels quite secluded, the showers had hot water and is right by the entrance to the park. The staff was very nice and helpful. No wifi.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zayatss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Kin Balam is not a hostel, just a collection of cabanas. We had a reservation for 3 nights through Hostelworld that didn't quite register with the staff. Got in at 11pm after 9 hours of travel, given a 3 bed room and asked to shift to a double the next day. This meant that we had to pack at 7am. The facilities are basic - no meeting area, kitchen or a restaurant. Staff was genuinely nice. * note - don't expect service in English. And this is a cash only joint.

The bathroom reeked and the rooms were not quite clean. We found a dirty towel under the bed in one of the rooms.

Stay here if you must, but I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank appyrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palenque hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Chablis Palenque
Hotel Chablis Palenque
#2 of 34 in Palenque
631 reviews
2 mi away
Cabanas Safari
Cabanas Safari
#15 of 34 in Palenque
62 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chan-Kah Resort Village
Chan-Kah Resort Village
#6 of 34 in Palenque
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Ciudad Real Palenque
3.4 mi away
Casssa Vlanca Hotel
Casssa Vlanca Hotel
#7 of 34 in Palenque
66 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Maya Tulipanes Palenque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kin Balam Cabanas Palenque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kin Balam Cabanas Palenque

Address: Carretera Palenque - Ruinas km 4.5 | Next to the tollbooth of the Palenque National Park, Palenque 29960, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Palenque
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Palenque
Price Range: $20 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kin Balam Cabanas Palenque 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasant and well located hotel within the National Park with bright and cozy cabins, located less than 3 km from the archaeological site of Palenque. The property is surrounded by gardens with an outdoor swimming pool, the freshness of the Michol River, and the tranquility of the surroundings which is ideal to disconnect from the hustle and bustle of the city. The rooms include fan and private or shared bathroom, safe, bottle of water and amenities. Our restaurant La Reina Roja offers a great food and beverage experience. The city center is just a 10-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Kin Balam Cabanas Palenque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing