We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We arrived in a torrential rain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chan-Kah Resort Village
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Palenque
Certificate of Excellence
vancouver
Level Contributor
327 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“We arrived in a torrential rain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

which did not damper our mood.I was very excited to stay in the forest.Due to the rain, we experienced few mosquitoes, but that the jungle right ?
The casita is very well organized, so that when you come in, there is the sink and the location for the lauggage and rods to hang your clothes.Needless to say, due to high humidity, everything you touch is damp.but, C'est la vie The bedroom is quite adequate.We had a room with 2 beds overlooking the creek which runs through the property. Lovely. We did not use the porch because of , right, mosquitoes. But it is there to enjoy. Very atmosphric place.
The closeness to the ruins makes it a good choice.
We stayed 2 nights, since we wanted to experience a full day at the ruins.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    253
    91
    24
    21
See reviews for
180
240
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We needed a nice and comfortable place to stay in Palenque as my partner was not feeling well and needed to rest. We booked a standard casita in Chan-Kah and we were pleasently surprised - the casita was big and spacious, with separate clothing and washig area, and with mosquito screens in the windows which allowed us to keep windows open ( although there were not many mosquitos in Palenque in general), it had a nice big patio with rocking chairs from which you could see a lot of green and an odd animal walking around ( birds, small dear- like mammals), it was very quiet and relaxing just to sit there, we could hear the howler monkeys in the evening and at night - I found it cool, however for some people it can be annoying as they are very loud, it makes you feel like you are in the jungle. The hotel pool looked beautiful but as it was January it was too cold to use it- I would definitely check it out if it was warmer. The food in the restaurant was average but the service was very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aga W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed for one day/night having been rained out of Palenque. Our room (casita) was spacious and thoughtfully arranged with regard to clothing and luggage storage. We had a lovely veranda with rocking chairs which overlooked a stream. The main advantage of this place is its nearness to Palenque's ruins. The grounds appear to be beautiful, but, alas, we did not explore due to torrential downpour all day and night. That said, the restaurant food is quite mediocre and overpriced. A waiter argued with me when I wanted to remove some uneaten bread from the table to take back to my room, telling me that the bread was for the table only and he would get in trouble. Very, very weird and very, very offputting. The bedding and bath linens in our casita needed jserious updating. Things were quite worn and faded. Our unit had two double beds, both of which were hard to sleep on. This place will do in a pinch, but maybe you can do better if you do a little research.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maralina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have just returned from a trip that included three nights at this hotel near the Palenque ruins. The accommodations are in little "casitas" with an outdoor patio that looks out over the jungle landscape. There is a fantastic outdoor pool area; and an open air restaurant and bar. The grounds are extensive and lush. The room included a large bathroom area, air conditioning and a ceiling fan. There were adequate electrical outlets for charging devices. Staff were unbelievably helpful, especially when my husband left his camera in the lobby area. They held it until we could return and stayed on after their shift was over to assist us with ground transport to our next location. Fantastic customer service.

Room Tip: We enjoyed two different rooms and preferred one further away from the facilities. It felt like we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

What we liked about the hotel:
Spacious rooms
Jungle environment
Close to the ruins of Palenque
Nice swimming pool

What we did not like:
Food, there are few alternatives
Abrupt service

In conclusion, we would stay there again as the rooms are a good size but it is showing its sell-by date!

Room Tip: Make sure you get one facing the jungle and not the footpath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terenceandwendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel is very nicely located in a jungle area you will hear the howler monkeys and will be able to view all kinds of birds and other animals from your terracce. The pool is very nice and will provide you a nice relaxing place after a day at the ruins.
You will reach the ruins in about 7 minutes by car and it is a 45 mins drive to Agua Azul.
The hotel will try to sell you day tours, but if you have your own car it is not problem to go by yourself.
If you are willing to spent more than you have to in Mexico than you will find Chank-Kah Village a good base for visiting Palenque and Chiapas.
Depending from where you come it might be worth it to extend your stay in Chiapas to vist St. Cristobal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reas_ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Years ago I’ve been in this hotel and for this trip decided to stay there again. Nothing had changed over time (as quoted in other reviews) but for me it was like coming home and I enjoyed it very much. We got a cabin close to the main swimming pool, which is one of the most beautiful swimming pools I’ve ever seen. It’s build completely out of rocks in the middle of a jungle scenery, awesome. At night they light it up beautifully, which you can enjoy having a lovely dinner in their good restaurant. Try one of the fish dishes (I loved the garlic one, but also the Ceviche is great). We were there off season so did not have to reserve tables at all, but if there’s a conference or you’re going in high season be sure to reserve a table overlooking the swimming pool. The cabin’s are good, we slept very well on the great beds and shower etc are good too. Yes, it’s true the curtains and bed linen isn’t of the latest fashion (as mentioned in other reviews) but it didn’t bother me. It’s lovely to sit on your front porch at night after dinner to enjoy the sounds of the jungle. Talking about jungle sounds, because you are in the jungle in this resort!! one night we were woken up by screaming monkey’s, the sound was overwhelming, it went on for at least 15 minutes, amazing. In the morning we checked...it seems that these 10 kilo monkey’s are able to produce a mindblowing sound to mark their territory, and some nights they're very active. They do not harm human beings but the sound was a bit frightning to say the least. Nevertheless it’s also part of being in the jungle and to be honest we kind of enjoyed it.
Definitely a great place to be!

Room Tip: Try to get close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frans C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palenque hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Chablis Palenque
Hotel Chablis Palenque
#2 of 34 in Palenque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Mision Palenque
Hotel Mision Palenque
#3 of 34 in Palenque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Maya Tulipanes Palenque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Aldea del Halach Huinic
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Mercedes Palenque
2.2 mi away
Hotel Ciudad Real Palenque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chan-Kah Resort Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chan-Kah Resort Village

Property: Chan-Kah Resort Village
Address: Carretera a las Ruinas Km. 3, Palenque 29960, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Palenque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Palenque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chan-Kah Resort Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chan-Kah Resort Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chan-Kah Resort Village Hotel Palenque
Chan Kah Hotel Palenque
Chan Kah Hotel Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing