We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had my misgivings before we booked”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chan-Kah Resort Village
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Palenque
Reviewed December 11, 2012

On the upside you are staying in the jungle but on the downside the food is horrible and the rooms need updating. It sort of feels like staying in Butlins in the jungle ! Our room was right on the edge of the resort so very close to the jungle and we also shared a small private pool with three or four other chalets. The main pool is huge but it was too cool to use when we were there. It was just about bearable until a coach full of tourists arrived so have no idea what it might be like in full season

Room Tip: Chalets near private pool at the back of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssw57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (636)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 636 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

Unfortunately I was only here for 1 night - 10/12/12 in a Casita Junior suite, which had more than enough space for me.
Each "room" was a separate little hut with it's own verandah.
Mine had 2 twin beds which was way more than I needed, being a sole traveller. There were separate areas for luggage and clothes, as well as separate areas for a toilet and shower.

The property is surrounded by lovely gardens that gives you the impression of being in the jungle.
The pool had separate areas for kids and adults and looks very nice, although I did not use it.

The restaurant was lovely. The food was excellent and the waiters prompt and courteous.

My only point being a sole female traveller is that since the huts are so spaced out and there were so many greenery surrounding the rooms in the resort it may not be very safe at night to wander around on your own - but it may be that I am being too cautious.

The resort is close to the ruins but a long way away from town so you are definitely stuck out here unless you have your own transportation.

Having said that Chan Kah resort village is a nice place to stay for visits to the Palenque ruins and I would thoroughly recommend it to families and couples.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the pool, restaurant or reception. It's a long walk otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank austraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed here for a night in November during our vacation to visit the palenque ruins which is just 3 km from the resort. We had the feeling of staying in a jungle due to the greenery all around and the cottages. The rooms were spacious and the back lobby was huge with a bath, a luggage rack and enough space to have a change of dress after a shower comfortably. The cottages were properly spaced to give enough privacy. The restaurant was a 5 minute walk away and had a decent veggie choice-though not many things to choose from. The staff was very courteous and though they said wifi in common facilities only, we got good connection in our room. Another nice thing we liked were that ceiling fans were provided so we could keep the windows open and get the fresh air. The net was provided on all windows to keep away insects. The front verandah was big with relaxing chairs and a tea table provided. The pool looked inviting, but we did not use the same due to paucity of time and also it looked like it was not too warm. There was a lot of gardens for leisurely walk and we wished we had more nights in this hotel, but we had to go onward to our next destination in the Mayan trail.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prema_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This resort is huge.  The windows to our room looked purely out to the jungle, and at night getting to hear the sounds, while still feeling protected from the elements was really pleasant. 
It wasn't warm enough to swim in the pools while we were here, but they do make for a pretty backdrop.  We ate dinner and breakfast at the restaurant and food is good and prices are reasonable. (Can also recommend Don Mucho's, at the ruin entrance.) The bed was really comfortable. There is no wi-fi, but two computers that are free for guests to use.  There is A/C in the rooms.  After driving through the town of Palenque, (where there is really not much to see), I am definitely happy we chose to stay outside of it- for the proximity to the ruins, as well as for the experience of sleeping in quite literally the jungle.  Great value, all considered.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabsy_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Huge resort in a lovely location surrounded by jungle. Very few of the staff speak english but the manager welcomed us on arrival (we never saw him again). We stayed here in October when the hotel was very quiet (maybe 7 other guests in total) however we were given a room outside of which there were maintenance works starting around 8am each morning and which made the paths very muddy.
The rooms are semi-detached and set amongst the densely planted gardens. They are dated inside but large and with a nice veranda.
The restaurant was a huge disappointment with relatively expensive, poorly presented food, unimaginatively prepared and generally of a very low quality (the bread left over at dinner was toasted and represented for breakfast!). The waiters also tried very hard to ensure that we left tips - and not by providing excellent service!
The shop looked abandonned and the "business centre" contained a few computers but also looked rather dilapidated.
Having said all that we had a relaxing time, found a swimming pool tucked away in the grounds that we had to ourselves all afternoon and the Palenque ruins are just a short drive away.
The campsite on the road to the ruins has a basic restaurant serving much better food than the resort - its about 15 minutes walk from the rear entrance of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is the most beautiful resort in this area, they have little individual houses apart from noise and people..

The swimming pool is big and the water is delicious

The food is very good

I recommend this place not only because is beautiful also because is magic.and you can realax and enjoy life visiting the Pyramids of Palenque, I recommend the Tonina Pyramid

Room Tip: Any casita is very nice some are close to the swimming pool others are close to the jungle, any casi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aracely V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

we loved our stay at Chan-Kah. Our house had a living room, a porch, 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms which was super spacious for my family. The rooms were well air-conditioned. It is situated in the lush jungle but with luxurious elements. The wifi worked well near the pool, dining room and lobby. The pool was great although part of it was closed for a couple of days due to cleaning. The rooms and hotel was very clean and surprisingly no bugs inside the house. The food was good in the restaurant. Most of the staff did not speak english but it wasn't a problem at all. The hotel recommended a driver and Victor helped arrange private and semi private tours for us during our stay. Also transportation to and from Villhermosa airport.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SherrieAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palenque hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Mercedes Palenque
2.3 mi away
Hotel Chablis Palenque
Hotel Chablis Palenque
#2 of 34 in Palenque
620 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Aldea del Halach Huinic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Mision Palenque
Hotel Mision Palenque
#4 of 34 in Palenque
569 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Maya Tulipanes Palenque
0.5 mi away
Piedra de Agua Palenque
Piedra de Agua Palenque
#14 of 34 in Palenque
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chan-Kah Resort Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chan-Kah Resort Village

Address: Carretera a las Ruinas Km. 3, Palenque 29960, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Palenque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Palenque
Price Range: $62 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chan-Kah Resort Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Chan-Kah Resort Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chan-Kah Resort Village Hotel Palenque
Chan Kah Hotel Palenque
Chan Kah Hotel Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing