We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“double booking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chan-Kah Resort Village
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Palenque
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Arrived late travelling with a group and when we went to our room there was already a customer in the room. How was it possible to have the keys is another question and we were told that the hotel was full. Our guide gave his room to us and, as he told us thye next morning, it took him around an hour to get another room.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room before you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buciIstanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (645)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 645 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2012

I was just standing in my kitchen here in cold Minnesota dreaming about our stay in Palenque last March and remembered I had not written a review for our stay at Chan-Kah. We stayed for 3-4 nights and found it to be fantastic, a great option in Palenque. There are not many higher end options in the valley. At first sight, we were a little nervous about our decision, but once you get past the check in area, it is really quite nice, clean and beautiful. The pool was fantastic! They have incredible pina coladas too...which never hurts. There was an indoor-outdoor game area with ping pong tables and a pool table...which was fun for our family when we tired of the sun. Our accommodations were fine, and we loved the outdoor patio with rocking chairs that looked over the little stream in front of the porch/patio . There were howler monkeys we heard and saw. The location is great...very close to ruins and to some great restaurants. I would make sure to stay in the newer units, the older ones at the other side of the restaurant area seem a little depressing...though we did not see them from the inside.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamasitaMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Its an 80s resort/hotel dream. In the jungle with an incredible swimming pool and open air restaurant. We saw a condor try and catch an ocelot just outside our bungalow. We actually saw more animals in the hotel grounds than in the jungle around the ruins. It was incredible. Yes the rooms are a bit damp but you are in the jungle. And this is luxury in the jungle. Actually when you realise you are swimming in Mayan waters in the jungle you will smile at the sun god and thank him.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highabove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

You are really in the middle of the rainforest, at two km from the archeological site of Palenque.
The Restaurant is something you will forget soon.
Charming.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrincePL75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Very good location near Palenque ruins. Very good receptionists and well organized. Well Kept. Amazing huge swimming pool. Nice rooms. Decent restaurant.
Most of the restaurant staff was excellent, except one waiter who directly asked us for a tip at breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveltheclock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Resort was very friendly and individual bungalows made it very private. The bathroom was was large with plenty of room to place your things. The pool was beautiful and huge. We spent two night there with good breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vwsjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed one night at the Chan Kah Resort and one night at Villa Mercedes, so I will compare a bit these two top options for Palenque.

Firstly the Chan-kah is nestled into the gorgeous rainforest of Palenque, the scenery is breathtaking, you will find thousands shades of green and all sort of insect and monkey sounds coming out of the jungle, it's a dream place to be.

However, as famous as the Chan-kah resort itself is I do not doubt it was a glorious hotel in it's heyday but these days unfortunately are long gone.

Again, the grounds are impeccable and the resort it proud owner of one of the most beautiful pool areas I have seen anywhere but the rooms or houses itself are lacking a well needed update.

The overall feeling was musty and well, old. The curtains have been hanging there for decades, no doubt, as well as the duvet which in fact I did not dare to lie down on but put it straight into a corner.

I am very picky with bathrooms and while it was clean it just seemed somehow uncomfortable as well, the fixtures were just as old as the curtains.
The toiletries were of cheap quality, thank heavens I packed my own, and the AC was one of these old window ACs, which worked alright though.

The beds were comfy though and with the sounds coming from the surroundings you will hopefully find a good night's sleep.

So if I had to choose between the Villa Mercedes and the Chan-Kah resorts I will definitely go back to the Villa Mercedes, you will not have a separate "casita" as in Chan-kah but in Villa Mercedes they fit some 3 to 4 rooms per house but the rooms itself are much nicer, up to date and very comfortable.
The grounds of Villa Mercedes are beautiful as well however regarding the pool area the Chan-Kah will beat the Villa Mercedes which at Villa Mercedes is quiet small and does not have the lush vegetation around like the Chan-Kah.

In short, if I went to Palenque and planned a resort stay where I want to hang out by the pool all day after some tiring ruin exploring I would probably stay at the Chan-kah trying not to think of the musty rooms, if I don't plan on hanging out much by the pool and rather want a very nice and relaxing room to come home to after exploring the area, I will definitely come back to Villa Mercedes.

In any case, Palenque is a glorious place to visit. Save travels!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank deernchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palenque hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Chablis Palenque
Hotel Chablis Palenque
#2 of 34 in Palenque
626 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Aldea del Halach Huinic
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Mercedes Palenque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Mision Palenque
Hotel Mision Palenque
#4 of 34 in Palenque
586 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Maya Tulipanes Palenque
0.5 mi away
Piedra de Agua Palenque
Piedra de Agua Palenque
#15 of 34 in Palenque
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chan-Kah Resort Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chan-Kah Resort Village

Address: Carretera a las Ruinas Km. 3, Palenque 29960, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Palenque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Palenque
Price Range: $62 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chan-Kah Resort Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chan-Kah Resort Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chan-Kah Resort Village Hotel Palenque
Chan Kah Hotel Palenque
Chan Kah Hotel Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing