We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chan-Kah Resort Village
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Palenque
Milan
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Tropical paradise”
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Wondeful resort in a jungle setting. Large bungalow with private patio. Given low season i also got a private small pool. Great location, very close to the maya ruins ( but you will need a private transport to arrive ).
Excellent restaurant.
Public areas very clean.
Negative: staff not helpful to organise transport and tours, pool water was dirty, restaurant personnel requested tip.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pereppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    268
    98
    24
    23
See reviews for
198
247
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

I have to warn you that myself and my friend become very very ill due to eating in the restaurant. The food is so so terrible and I recommend staying for the wonderful location but get a cheap cab into town to eat all meals

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panger99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

We stayed at Chan Kah for 2 nights to visit the Palenque ruins. The hotel was huge & totally deserted - many more staff than there were guests! We felt a bit sorry for the staff who were all very friendly, it must be a bit soul destroying to work for a large resort hotel, yet have little to do & very few guests to serve!
On the positive side the hotel was clean, rooms were comfortable despite the early wake up from transparent curtains. Pool is nice to sit by & they have a man who's very efficient at skimming it to keep it clean of bugs & leaves from the surface, however, it seems that they could do with spending some money giving it a proper clean as the sides & bottom seemed a bit scummy & slimey!
Food is ok if you stick to Mexican specialities, but pretty expensive. Chicken salad was a disasterous pile of chicken mixed with mayonaise, carrots, peas & potato! Breakfast was stale toasted buns with butter & jam which were complimentary although coffee, tea, juice & anything else had to be paid for. The continental breakfast includes the stale toast plus a glass of orange juice & coffee, but oddly costs more than just the juice & the coffee which is strange if the toast should be free.
Our main reason for staying was that we thought it was close to the ruins, but It's a 10min cab ride or collectivo. If we visited Palenque again, we'd stay in Palenque town & have a slightly longer journey to the ruins. At least that way you have the choice of restaurants & cafes rather than being stranded with no choice!
All in all, we found Chan Kah to be very overpriced. It has all the ingredients of a good hotel, but the lack of guests mean that it feels eerily quite. We felt that their lack of guests means that they are extracting every possible penny from the guests that they do have in a desperate attempt to stay afloat. If they reduced their rates & drew in more guests, it might be a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucy_witham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

I was going to say lousy service, but to be fair it was only the service in the restaurant which failed to live up to the mark.
The guests stay in individual cabañas in the form of Mayan village huts scattered around an enormous, hugely attractive swimming pool and surrounded by jungle. Indeed, only the narrow River Michol separates the hotel grounds from virgin jungle beyond. I doubt if it harbours jaguars or ocelots, but the fact that it could conceivably do so adds to the romance. We did, however, see rather more docile animals: jet black squirrels, agouti (like a giant guinea pig with a rat’s face) and howler monkeys, whose eerie cries in the middle of the night can send a shiver down the stiffest spine. The rooms were spacious, well-furnished, with windows on three sides, from one of which a door led on to a wide veranda with a pair of rocking chairs; the only shortcoming was that, again, there was no means of heating water in the room to make a tea or coffee.
On the other hand, the food was poor and the restaurant service worse. Breakfast for once was not a buffet, not an issue in itself, and given the fact that the hotel seemed to be only about 10% occupied that was hardly a surprise. The choice for those who do not go in for cooked breakfasts was, however, very limited, and for those who did, it was mainly a case of “how do you like your eggs?” At lunch (we were the only customers) I was misled into ordering an unsuitable dish to which I was allergic and therefore could not eat but for which I was fully billed at the end of the meal. As we were late for dinner and we hadn’t seen anywhere particularly attractive in the town the previous night, we decided (with many misgivings) to eat at the hotel. Mistake:
• It was the worst evening meal that we had all holiday. My arranchero (steak) was tough and came without any vegetables
• I was told that my credit card (which I had successfully used at lunchtime) was not working… before they had inserted it into the handset (?) and the restaurant staff showed their dismay when I insisted in going back to the room to get an alternative card. They clearly wanted us to pay in cash.
• We said that we would walk round the grounds for a while before returning for a cocktail. We arrived back at 23.01 and were refused service because the barman wanted to pack up, with no apology. Of course, nowhere did it indicate that the bar would close at all, let alone at such an early hour.
• It was about 30% more than we would have paid for the same sort of meal in Palenque town.
Shame about the restaurant, though: the rooms were excellent, the location perfect for the ruins, the setting was idyllic and the swimming pool superb.

Room Tip: Do stay here but eat in town (50 pesos in taxi)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SemperteFallant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, ID
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Although overpriced it is a clean and relaxing place to stay. The pool is big, clean and fun. Reataurandt is OK.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan83402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2011

Great location in the jungle, but the resort seems over extended and geared only for the mass high season. We stayed in low season, and the place was empty. The restaurant food was truly terrible in a way I can't described think bad 1970s packet food. The room was OK, but the pool was uninviting, and the staff less than helpful- little English spoken.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank snappergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

We had a really nice stay, but keep in mind that this is a resort hotel. It has a pool, beautiful garden grounds, a gameroom, computers with internet access, etc. It's in the jungle so it still has some rustic qualities (e.g. outdoor dining, jungle noises -- including ridiculously disturbing monkey howling at night, paths that were not heavily lit, etc.), but it's still a resort. So you're going to pay resort prices for the accommodations and for the food. Not surprisingly, most of the guests were families and groups that wanted both the proximity to the Palenque ruins and the relaxation/fun of the pool and grounds. The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable.
But if you're just in town to see the ruins and don't need the extra amenities, then this might not be the right value for you. Better to find a comfortable hotel in town (the Chan-Kah is outside of town, in the jungle on the way to the ruins). If you don't need/want the amenities, then the money you save on the room and food is probably worth the added 15 minutes it will take to travel to the ruins from the city center. And while many guidebooks seem to suggest that there really isn't much to Palenque town, we thought that it was a really neat town to walk through.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palenque hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Chablis Palenque
Hotel Chablis Palenque
#2 of 34 in Palenque
607 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Mercedes Palenque
3.2 mi away
Hotel Mision Palenque
Hotel Mision Palenque
#4 of 34 in Palenque
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Aldea del Halach Huinic
2.3 mi away
Hotel Maya Tulipanes Palenque
0.5 mi away
Piedra de Agua Palenque
Piedra de Agua Palenque
#15 of 34 in Palenque
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chan-Kah Resort Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chan-Kah Resort Village

Property: Chan-Kah Resort Village
Address: Carretera a las Ruinas Km. 3, Palenque 29960, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Palenque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Palenque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chan-Kah Resort Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chan-Kah Resort Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chan-Kah Resort Village Hotel Palenque
Chan Kah Hotel Palenque
Chan Kah Hotel Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing