We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They try hard”

Monte Verde Trattoria Pizzeria Italiana
Ranked #1 of 61 Restaurants in Palenque
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: This little restaurant, surrounded by jungle (hopefully watc iguanas, macaw squirrels or parrots) offers traditional Italian dishes as well as a session with fusion cuisine creations combining Italian flavors with to the peculiar Chiapas deli. Handmade pasta; pizza, bread and fish in wood oven; cuts of meat; barbecue; seafood. Beautiful view, open terraces and live music. Personalized service, free wifi and a small cellar of Italian wines complete the slogan of the place "just handmade, really unique" . Chef and owner , Alessandra Rustici is Italian, and she is an organic lover.
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“They try hard”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I really wanted to love this restaurant. The location is a bit mysterious, down a dark single lane road that does not look very promising. I felt relieved to see a cute rustic building at the end. The service was a bit confused and some members of my party were served long after the others. The food itself was a good effort, but it is difficult to make good Italian food without proper ingredients. Sadly, there were no quality tomatoes, parmesan cheese or mozzarella. Making do without the basics is tough. The pizza, however, was very pleasant even with the substitution of manchego cheese for mozzarella. My friends and I dined for the next two nights at Las Tinajas, which has amazing Chiapan food. It was the real deal.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank fred t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandra R, Gerente at Monte Verde Trattoria Pizzeria Italiana, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Fred T we did not manage to fully satisfy you anyway thanks in advance for your comments motivate us to continue to try to improve in all aspects.

Obviously in Monte Verde we have Parmesan cheese! "Reggiano and Belgioioso"! it would be like to go to a Mexican restaurant and not find hot sauce! In my opinion, it goes well with all the dishes so you do not necessarily send it to the table unless you ask the customer ...
With pleasure I would like to say some restaurant in the Mexican Caribbean have pizza with imported italian mozzarella for just 300 pesos...
However, I am pleased to know that many Italian customers are satisfied with the quality of Monte Verde.
Yes,definitly, I agree with her: deal is deal; amount is the amount and I would say, quality is quality...

Thanks and we hope to have another opportunity to serve again.
A friendly greeting
Alessandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    100
    20
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Because of what we read on TripAdvisor, we decided to check this place out. And what a pleasant surprise it was: candle lit tables, best pizza and pasta we've had in a long time, salsa music (not too loud), in the midst of the Palenque 'jungle' and really nice and good service. It was a shame we arrived on Christmas Day, and the place was closed, otherwise we would've eaten here twice (only stayed for two days in Palenque). Forget the waterfalls, go eat here! ;-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NigrarumOvium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisbee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best in Chiapas”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Dined at the Monte Verde recently while on a 10 day trip to Chiapas. Monte Verde was by far the best restaurant we encountered during the entire trip. The service, food, wine and atmosphere were all superb. The pasta is home made and and all courses from the salsa to the main course are made from fresh local ingredients and and the prices are very reasonable.. A wonderful experience from the moment we entered until we left extremely satisfied...Go there, you will not be disappointed..The turn off to the restaurant is located about 1.5 kilometers down the road to the archeological site .. You will see a sign on the left hand side of the road; turn left there and go about another 1/2 kilometer down a dirt road and viola...

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bobnmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Vinos and vines!”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

A great setting and jungle atmosphere make this restaurant fairly unique. All home made ingredients prepared on the spot add to the great eating experience. Mariachi singers remind you you're still in Mexico and not Italy.
Gratuities added for their convenience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WogBoyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandra R, Gerente at Monte Verde Trattoria Pizzeria Italiana, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
hello Wogboyz afraid that this opinion is not for Monte Verde: have food dishes handmade, but we have not mariacis music and never add gratuities to our account! client's decision whether to let or not tip. Thank you very much as. A many greeting.
Alessandra R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernie, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best pasta ever!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This place is amazing. Set back from the road with only a small sign you wouldn't necessarily notice it but its well worth looking out for! On the road out of Palenque towards the ruins, its the left turn just past a little shop (shop on the right). The pasta was out of this world. Seriously the nicest pasta dish I have ever had; home made pasta with a light and delicious sauce. The pizza was also very good as was the desert. The service was exceptional, the staff friendly and helpful. The setting is idyllic, on a terrace overlooking the jungle. The food you get would be at least 3x the price anywhere else. Go there!! :)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jobandrude1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandra R, Gerente at Monte Verde Trattoria Pizzeria Italiana, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Hello Jobandrude1 ... I really appreciate your very nice comment, greatly encourages us to continue on our work and to give our best every day.
Nice for all Monte verde staff know that you enjoyed our dishes!
Best regards and good trip!
Ciao
Alessandra R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monte Verde Trattoria Pizzeria Italiana also viewed

 
Palenque, Chiapas
Chiapas, Southern Mexico
 

Been to Monte Verde Trattoria Pizzeria Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing