We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We’ll go back again”
Review of Don Muchos

Don Muchos
Ranked #5 of 61 Restaurants in Palenque
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Sterling, Alaska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We’ll go back again”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My wife and I spent five hours in this restaurant after concluding our tour of the ruins. Granted it is the only full service establishment where we lodged, at the entrance road to the ruins, it was an enjoyable experience.

Good ravioli, handmade pasta with shrimp, appetizers, drinks and live pleasant music -all of this for $590 pesos. Service was good for this meal while two other meals the wait staff seemed indifferent to our presence. Keep in mind that they automatically add a 10% tip to your bill; which they do give fair warning if you carefully read the menu.

We would return to Don Mucho next trip even if we stay in another location. Check the other reviews. Other travelers did not have our positive experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DLA_Alaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    207
    97
    27
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“It's About The Only Thing Around”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Average food, average service. It will do, just take it for what it is, or you will be disappointed. Late night bar and live music too. It's just outside the main entrance to the preserve and ruins.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank vantine8665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Yumm!”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The food here is abundant and good. The pizzas are excellent thin crust. Fish was good, breakfast was HUGE! Service was very friendly. Went one night and they were packed and we still had our meal in 20 minutes, freshly made and hot. They really know what they are doing here.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank V V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible service, bad cheese, pre-made frozen pizzas…”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We arrived to the screaming terrible noise of floor renovation. They were not able to find a table for us away from the noise, but promised it will only last for 10 min. Right… Of course it lasted until we were done eating. The most absurd thing is that they let the band play for 30 min while the noisy renovation was still going 3 steps from it… Perhaps it was a bad night (but they acted like it is a usual thing for them). So you should not expect good sound quality for the live music. In fact, I would not recommend that you come here for the live music experience, even if there is no renovation going on.

The food is mostly Italian. The server claimed that they use parmesan cheese. Unfortunately, in most of Chiapas, the cheese is not parmesan, but rather some cheap local substitute which we do not like. So we asked the server to taste the cheese before ordering the pizza. He did not like the request. After we insisted on it for a while, he finally let us taste it and discover that it is not parmesan as we suspected.

The food is pre-made and most of the pizzas are frozen and they simply heat them in their oven. So unfortunately, they could not change the cheese or even remove the cheese completely. Similarly, most pastas are pre-made with the same cheap cheese that they cannot remove. (It's a bit weird, but the server insisted that even the pesto pasta is pre-made with the same cheese).
So the point is that if you do not like the local cheese, you have very few choices on the menu.

Another example of the type of service you should expect: On our way out we discovered that they take $50 pesos as a deposit before they call a taxi. (You cannot get here without a $50 taxi each way). We only had a $200 bill, and they claimed they do not have change. We reminded them that we just paid $350 bill 30 seconds ago, and we asked them to use the $50 bills that we just paid. They just rudely refused to do that and insisted on keeping the entire $200 as a taxi deposit. Not that it is a big issue, but it just shows the type of rude service that you should expect here.

In general, the service made me feel like I'm in a tourist factory/machine, were I should not ask too many questions or have any special requests, but rather just shut up and pay.

I would not come back, and I highly recommend that you avoid this place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eado351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and good food!”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

When we arrived in the late afternoon of Dec 29, after visiting the gorgeous archaeological Maya site of Palenque, we were greeted with a nice band playing relaxing island-type music. We were seated pretty quickly and happy to find out that they had a wood-burning pizza oven in which they make pretty darn good pizzas. They have a good selection of pastas (although we didn't try any of them). They also have traditional Mexican food.
Don Mucho is definitely a place will we go back to if we are given the opportunity to return to Palenque!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Muchos also viewed

 

Been to Don Muchos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing