We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent but not amazing.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Don Muchos

Don Muchos
Ranked #6 of 59 Restaurants in Palenque
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mexican, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Decent but not amazing.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

While staying at El Panchan on a couple of occasions I mostly ate here. The menu is extensive, but the food is just okay. I tried the pastas, the mexi food and a calzone. The calzone was probably the best. The food was mostly just bland. The service was good but pretty slow even when I was the only one in the place. Mostly the waiters just wanted to hang out with each other. The entertainment was exceptional though! Great bands (or solo musicians) playing every time I was there, and the fire dancing was good too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 0theories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    200
    94
    27
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
150 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Agree with "Why so much hype?"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

If you stay in El Panchan, this is certainly the most upscale (although not the only) place to eat. Having read reviews, I expected more. The wood-fired pizza was quite tasty, and all of the dishes were decent. However, the service ranged from indifferent to rude, and in my absence they blatantly ignored my wife's multiple requests for the check. The prices were decent, but nothing special by local standards. If you feel like venturing into Palenque, you can get a better meal and a better deal at Las Tinajas.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
779 reviews
458 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Great place with really good food, very affordable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Don Mucho's is a great local place with local and tourists enjoying great live music. Food is very good, specially the pizzas! Great break from Mexican food.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MTorre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth every peso”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

I spent a lot of pesos at Don Mucho's over a few days, and it was worth every cent. They have a huge menu where anyone can find something- pizza, pasta, soup, salad, Mexican food, etc- and it's all reasonably priced. All the dishes are very good to amazing and the platters do not leave you wanting. The live music and candles on the tables make for a great environment at night. The staff seem to like what they do even though they're busy, and we're great. Some meals I added to the complimentary 10% tip. I highly recommend Don Mucho's!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We visited Don Muchos after a tiring day at Palenque, and were delighted to have such a great meal in an unexpected place. We liked it so much that we went the day after for breakfast as well. Breakfast was good too, but the absolute star was dinner. We were a large group and they were efficient in their service. The pizzas and pastas were all amazing. The atmosphere was relaxed, there was live music after 9pm. The most pleasant surprise was the check... we payed way less than in other restaurants in the area, and after such a great meal, we left very happy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elsa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Muchos also viewed

 

Been to Don Muchos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing