We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Quinta Chanabnal
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Palenque
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A magical experience!”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

First of all, let me tell you that all words I can write on this review will come up short compared to the magical experience we lived on this hotel, we stayed only 3 nights, from July 10 to July 13, 2014; I'd have wished those days never passed. I went with my wife and daughters (5 and 11 years old).
If you visit Chiapas I strongly suggest you stay some nights on Palenque and definitely on this boutique Hotel in order to fully experience being on the jungle, on the heart of Chiapas!
My kids had a wonderful time, they loved the swimming pools, they didn't want to go out even with the rain falling!
All the personnel in the hotel were very friendship, the first night we arrived we decided to have dinner on the hotel restaurant, and we really enjoyed it, the personnel there was talking to us and giving us recommendation for our days in Palenque....the owner is an italian, and he is a polite an fine person always worried about you having a good time....
Possibly the only weak point would be the connectivity to the internet, at least on the room where we stayed, the WI-FI was very weak, but c'mon, you are on vacations, disconnect yourself and enjoy! :)
I would definitely recommend this hotel, and I would come back if I ever have a chance to visit Chiapas again in the future. I will add some pictures and you will see the joy in our faces :)

Room Tip: Try to get a stronger WI-FI connection that covers all hotel rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    34
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
54
167
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights. The owner welcomed us and showed us the property he built from scratch reminiscing a Maya town. The food is excellent. The pool is in the border of a pond surrounded by jungle vegetation. Rooms are big and neat. Great staff that make our stay wonderful! Best hotel in Palenque.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This boutique hotel can be approached by a private driveway from the main road. The hotel design was modeled on a small Mayan city, with its own Mayan Temple in front. The rooms are in a building that was based on the design of a Mayan residence. Our large suite included a large bed and a single bed for our daughter. The room was tastefully decorated with traditional textiles from Guatemala. In the bathroom, we discovered shampoo made with chocolate. There hotel has three small swimming pools at the back of the property, which overlook a small lagoon.

The owner/GM of this hotel, Rafael, is always around and is very friendly. He is a specialist in Mayan writing and we were lucky enough to converse with him at length after dinner and learned many things. The staff at the hotel are very accommodating and were kind enough accommodate our request for early checkout and even prepared our meal boxes to pack along on our very early departure the next day.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lourdes A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

The hotel is in a remote setting but close enough to the ruins and the town. The pool and grounds are so beautiful, it almost entices you to linger at the hotel more than you would normally do. The food in the restaurant is delicious with many local and native ingredients. The owner is very knowledgeable about the Maya culture. He sat with us after dinner and talked at length about it. The room was very lovely. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank velagato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Boutique Hotel Quinta Chanabnal is a truly magical, tranquil, beautiful and meticulously cared for secluded retreat. All aspects of your stay will charm and soothe you-- even beyond your great expectations. It will leave you in awe and provide peace and rest as if you've holidayed for years.

It tops as one of the most memorable holidays of my life, and I've been to 25+ countries and counting. It was my third time in Palenque (over the last 8 years), but first stay at QC, I will stay at no other place while here from now on. My father and I had a really phenomenal stay at this hotel for a week.

The minute you drive into the garden, you know you are entering a kind of paradise. The owner, Raphael, is also an expert Mayanist and provides as a great historian of the local history, languages and cuisines. Additionally, he has recreated the menu to reflect this knowledge (and every dish was scrumptious balancing perfectly planned flavours, herbs and spices). The hotel & grounds are filled with original works of art drawn on his and his wife's histories (most of the pictures do not do justice to its striking beauty and serenity). The rooms are beautifully designed with the highest quality of furniture, the beds were a dream to sleep in and our room felt like a mini mansion. The same great care has been taken all over the hotel. The open air dining room is spectacular! It feels like dining in an open air museum. The pools and gardens in the back are gorgeous and have been designed beautifully. The famous ruins of Palenque are just a few minutes up the road.

I highly recommend Quinta Chanabnal, it's no wonder it's ranked first in Palenque, should be the entire state! It left me with a sense of complete wonder; my father and I had a great time in Palenque and this experience was catapulted heaven-ward also mainly because of this hotel. We are left with amazing memories of our time conversing many hours with Raphael and his warm family. Raphael and his team ensure that your every need is met while providing as much privacy as one needs. It was an added element of pleasure to be able to converse with him. I've traveled within Mexico for the past decade and another positive element of this in Palenque is truly it's luxurious feel, certainly the best place to retreat to after all that wonderful trekking and sightseeing. Nothing like it.

Bravo, Raphael, it's clear this is not just some hotel someone built for 'business', it's your passion and love for the history and region that made you take on a unique project of this kind, and it leaves travelers like myself very lucky to have found it. Hardest part was leaving, but I'll be back soon!

Room Tip: I had the first room on the right hand side when you come up the garden (with my own seat and garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

This small boutique hotel fully deserves its high Tripadvisor ratings. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable, the grounds are extensive and delightful, with a lagoon and small waterfall-fed pool lovely for soaking and relaxing in the heat.

Raphael the owner was always friendly and helpful. When we had a difficult experience with a full day trip to the Mayan sites of Yaxchilan and Bonampak (multiple van breakdowns) Raphael helped sooth us and arranged a partial refund from the local tourist company that arranged the trip.

This is clearly the best place to stay if you're visiting Palenque.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oakland-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We have stayed at Piedre dr Agua in Merida and loved it so when we went to Palenque we stayed there as well ..for the first night;-) unfortunately the cleanliness and the service as well as accommodations were not nearly on par..even for a place in the jungle. The next day we checked in to Quinta Chanabnal and were VERY pleasantly surprised! Every aspect of this hotel is deluxe..the beds are wonderful, AC in every room, everything clean and in working order or beyond! Beautiful landscaping and pools and the service was over the top terrific! I generally do not like food at hotels but once again at Chanabnal we were astounded!! Delicious huge portions and fair prices! Between the 3 staff memebers I met and the owner, there were at least 4 languages spoken fluently English, Spanish, German and Italian! If you are really lucky the owner Raphael will be there as he is an expert in Mayan hieroglyphics and just a fascinating guy!

Room Tip: hard to say ..we looked at all of them.i think you can't go wrong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palenque hotels
0.8 mi away
Chan-Kah Resort Village
Chan-Kah Resort Village
#5 of 34 in Palenque
601 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Chablis Palenque
Hotel Chablis Palenque
#2 of 34 in Palenque
602 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Mision Palenque
Hotel Mision Palenque
#3 of 34 in Palenque
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Mercedes Palenque
0.3 mi away
Piedra de Agua Palenque
Piedra de Agua Palenque
#16 of 34 in Palenque
179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Aldea del Halach Huinic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Quinta Chanabnal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Quinta Chanabnal

Property: Boutique Hotel Quinta Chanabnal
Address: Carr. A Las Ruinas Km. 2, Palenque 29960, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Palenque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Palenque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Quinta Chanabnal 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only three kilometers from the archaeological site of Palenque, Chiapas, this luxury resort evokes a Mayan palace complex of the Classic Period. Traditional pre-Hispanic design, updated with modern sophistication, awaits the discerning traveler at Boutique Hotel Quinta Chanabnal.The architectural complex consists of two Junior Suites, four Deluxe Suites and one Presidential Suite. Amidst luxuriant jungle flora our swimming pools recall the typical waterfalls found in the ruins of Palenque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Boutique Hotel Quinta Chanabnal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing