We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Quinta Chanabnal
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Palenque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We only had one night at the Hotel Quinta Chanabnal. On arrival we were given a warm welcome including a drink of some local brew in a hollowed out coconut. We were upgraded to the "Presidential Suite" which was a nice surprise. Very comfortable, private and spacious. The owner, Raphael is most attentive and helpful, as were his staff. My husband had a health issue over dinner which Raphael handled extremely well, with the kind assistance of two French doctors who were dining in the restaurant. At short notice the hotel organised a private guide to take us through the ruins, and a car to take us to VillaHermosa airport. A very pleasant, but expensive, hotel. Close to the ruins and not far from the town.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John-Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 319 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had booked into Chanabnal for the tuesday evening before catching the bus on up to San Christobal the next evening. Our problem was that our coach from Merida travelled overnight arriving at 6am that same day, no problem said the owner we will have the room ready for you whenever you arrive!. True to their word, our taxi pulled up in the secluded driveway at 6.30am we were met by the Raphael himself who showed us to our beautiful room where we proceeded to catch up on the sleep we had missed on the exceedingly uncomfortable ADO 3rd rate bus. We awoke a few hrs later, the staff called us a taxi to palenque town ($30 pesos) where we caught a combi bus to Agua Azul stopping on the way to enjoy the waterfall at Mozul Ha, (I think?). The kingsize bed gave us a wonderful sleep that evening then a trip around the ruins before checking out to catch the coach on up to San Christobal. All in all a beautiful small & secluded hotel with wonderful staff, rooms & surroundings.

Room Tip: Have the name of the hotel in writing, it is so new & secluded some of the taxi drivers don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stiffbrit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

If you want a nice hotel close to the ruins without buses full of tour groups, then this is the place for you. Raphael has built a boutique hotel that reflects and builds on local traditions and takes care of guests. The rooms are grand, the custom built furniture is beautiful and it is all enhanced with traditional and creative new takes on Mayan art.

The service was always friendly, in fact since this was a bit of a splurge for us, the service was much better than we are used to.

What is a bit of a secret at this hotel is the food. The restaurant serves some European dishes, if you must, but the best dishes are modern executions of traditional dishes from the area. We tried all of the traditional dishes and they were the best Mexican meals in two weeks in Chiapas.

We stayed for 4 nights and when we ended up with another night available we headed right back for one more.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Canute_the_Great
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just a short review because there are several more Yucatan reviews to come. Beautiful rooms, mahogany furniture, all amenities/services worked properly, excellent service and very good food. Close to both the Palenque ruins and town . The knowledgeable owner Raphael will connect you with tours to Yaxchilan as well. Fully agree with the other 5 star reviews here, somewhat expensive but good value, highly recommended!

Room Tip: The junior suites are very nice, not sure what a deluxe suite adds except more space. Junior is ple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejbmgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have been there for four nights in february.
Located at half way between the Palenque ruins and the town, the architecture of this de luxe boutique-hotel is really "mayan", sometimes too much, close to kitsch. You feel a little like in a Hollywood decor.
The two successes are the impressive main dining room in palapa style and the pools nice and secluded.
The rooms are very large, a little pretentious with huge mahagony beds, but are lacking some evident fixtures like a good table, chairs or hooks in the bathroom.
One of the main problem is prices compared to quality, if it's ok for the rooms, it's not the case for food which is average and drinks or services. When you pay that much in Mexico you could expect more.
The owner Rafael is nice and knows very
well the area.
I realize that many of my fellow trip advisor travellers were most positive about this place but, with due respect, they may have less experience of travelling in Mexico.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoguiMardjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Hi, This is an amazing spot. You will not be disappointed. The owner of this property has extensively studied Mayan culture and hieroglyphics. The property reflects this experience. We had some major problems with a rental car breaking down twice in the mountains and he easily helped us to resolve this. He was pretty much a vacation saver. You will be surrounded by amazing birds as well as hear the howler monkeys morning and evening. The food is very very good and the service is 5 star quality!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BettyCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This hotel is an attraction in itself! They execute the basics perfectly, and then delights and surprises us with the intoxicating blend of Mayan form, function and purpose.

I'll cover the basics first and then I'll talk about what really knocked us out.

Rooms - the rooms are immaculate. Roomy, cosy, generously appointed, very comfortable and super clean.

Service - top notch! The staff are terrific, but the owner, Raphael, is something else (more on him later). My wife left her beloved Lululemon jacket. Raphael found it and posted it to us in Playa del Carmen. Wow!

Location - around 3ks from the ruins and a very short cab ride to town. Very good location.

Food - Raphael put a lot of thought on putting together an amazing menu. Make sure you try the Mayan dishes. They are very impressive. Moreover, the food is served on Mexican plates and bowls. These plates are literally pieces of art.

The above would have already earned this hotel 5 stars in my view. But it was really the hotel grounds and its owner that made our stay in Palenque really memorable.

As you walk through the reception/lobby/dining area, you might notice the beautiful architecture and the tasteful interior decoration. But you really need to have a chat to Raphael to fully appreciate the effort and significance of the design elements. The hotel grounds, the furniture and the interior design are a modern re-imagining of what the Mayans would have done had they continued to be the dominant culture, ie if the Spanish did not come and obliterate their culture. Allow Raphael to talk you through his vision and thought process in building the hotel, and you will also gain some insight on the inner workings of Mayan culture, of which Raphael's knowledge is encyclopedic. Everything from the shape of the chairs and tables, the use of stucco to paint the walls, and the tablets with Mayan hieroglyphics portraying the story of how the hotel was founded (Raphael reads and writes Mayan hieroglyphs) are all original. The design of the swimming pools are also based on the springs at the ruins.

This is why I travel - to gain amazing and unforgettable travel experiences. And that I found in abundance here at Chanabnal!.

Room Tip: Chat to Raphael about any special requirements or preferences you may have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iskoolboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palenque hotels
0.8 mi away
Chan-Kah Resort Village
Chan-Kah Resort Village
#6 of 34 in Palenque
662 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Chablis Palenque
Hotel Chablis Palenque
#2 of 34 in Palenque
634 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Mision Palenque
Hotel Mision Palenque
#3 of 34 in Palenque
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Piedra de Agua Palenque
Piedra de Agua Palenque
#16 of 34 in Palenque
196 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Maya Tulipanes Palenque
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Aldea del Halach Huinic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Quinta Chanabnal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Quinta Chanabnal

Address: Carr. A Las Ruinas Km. 2, Palenque 29960, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Palenque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Palenque
Price Range: $166 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Quinta Chanabnal 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only three kilometers from the archaeological site of Palenque, Chiapas, this luxury resort evokes a Mayan palace complex of the Classic Period. Traditional pre-Hispanic design, updated with modern sophistication, awaits the discerning traveler at Boutique Hotel Quinta Chanabnal.The architectural complex consists of two Junior Suites, four Deluxe Suites and one Presidential Suite. Amidst luxuriant jungle flora our swimming pools recall the typical waterfalls found in the ruins of Palenque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Boutique Hotel Quinta Chanabnal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing