We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Present Day Mayan Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Quinta Chanabnal
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Palenque
Certificate of Excellence
La Paz, Mexico
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Present Day Mayan Luxury”
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Echoing the other reviews found herein this is one amazing hotel. The owner Rapheal a charming German/Italian is a great host with an unending knowledge of the Mayan Civilization..
Our room was what I'd call a junior suite with an oversized bathroom walkin shower and nice amenities including a locally handmade chocolate soap! One note it would be nice to have a towel change out during turndown.
The grounds are very nice with its own lake and flock of egrets! the pool area is beautiful with modern replicas of Maya buildings and a cascading waterfall over various pools reminescent of the nearby Aqua Azul natural cascades.
The food is gourmet level relying upon locally sourced produce. Do not be bashful of the Mayan preparations all are incredible.

We wil be back!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LAPgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    34
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
51
165
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on our panamericana trip and because it was soo wonderful we stayed even one night longer. The restaurant is expensive but absolutly worth the money, the pools are great, the location is close to the ruins and the rooms are very nice (just the beds are not made for tall people because they are so short!!!). And the owner, raphael can tell you so many interessting stories about the cultur and the history! Definitly would come back here!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fab4kite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights as part of our honeymoon journey through Mexico. It was amazing. The accommodation was beautiful, the pool area was amazing and the food was spectacular. Rafael was one of the most accommodating and friendly host we have dealt with. He really made our stay as comfortable and easy as possible. Every penny spent was worth it.

It's really close to the ruins and you can simply waive down a collective for 10 pesos each. They come every 15 minutes and drive right by the hotel. We were fooled into getting a taxi and got ripped off, we paid 80 pesos to the ruins one way, we got the collectivo on the way back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lena_L_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Everything previous reviewers have said about the design and thought that has gone into this hotel is true and it is a real treat to stay here. The rooms feel quite luxurious, while also feeling relaxed and not too stuffy (as some luxury places can!) and they all have their own lovely outside area. The pool area is just beautiful and such a nice place to relax after walking around the ruins, and it's especially nice to have a massage at the end of the day and watch the bird life around the lake. For what you get at this hotel the rate is a bargain. I would agree with what some reviewers have said about the food, which although OK, wasn't up to the same high standard as the rest of the experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheerynarration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
77 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We chose this hotel based on the reviews in Tripadvisor. First I booked the normal villa in a reasonable price but when we changed our mind and wished to book for an earlier day, the website showed that there is no standard suite and we were forced to book a more expensive one. When we arrive an english speaking receptionist received us and we were given a local drink. Then they explained us about our villa. We felt that the illustration was a little bit showy. The room decoration was nice but the villa seemed a little empty. I believe they should add some carpet to the room to give warmth to the decoration or they may add a table to let you sit besides it. The breakfast was not buffet. You should order it and it took too much time. The villas environment was nice but not that much that the reviews expressed. Owner had a knock at our room at the first night and it gave us a good feeling. This hotel is a good one but I believe the value/service ratio is higher than normal. During our stay we did not meet any other guests than us.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citoyen-du-universe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
182 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

The hotel offers delightful accommodation just 3kms away from the classical Mayan site near modern Palenque. Our Junior Suite was comfortable and roomy with pleasant outdoor sitting space. Although modern the hotel is in the Mayan style so loved of its friendly Italian/German owner (and authority on classical Mayan culture) - even down to his choice of dog!. Given its sub-tropical jungle location we were relieved to find our room impregnable to mosquitoes. There is also a beautiful pool. We ate in the restaurant and were pleased to find that the hotel offers Mayan dishes. However, we found dinner and breakfast to be no better than average.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john_ivycottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is one lovely place--the detail and thought that went into it are crazy (check out the intricate carvings inside the dining area/lobby). The service is very attentive, the food is delicious, the pool area by the lake is a great way to spend a lazy/restful day. Rafael the owner/host is an extreme Maya enthusiast--so if you're here to see Palenque +Bonampak/Yaxchilan, be sure to talk about them with him (he'll for certain introduce himself during your stay).

Room Tip: We chose the cheapest room in the place, and we felt like we were living like royalty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Racandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palenque hotels
0.8 mi away
Chan-Kah Resort Village
Chan-Kah Resort Village
#6 of 34 in Palenque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Chablis Palenque
Hotel Chablis Palenque
#2 of 34 in Palenque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Mision Palenque
Hotel Mision Palenque
#3 of 34 in Palenque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Maya Tulipanes Palenque
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Mercedes Palenque
0.3 mi away
Piedra de Agua Palenque
Piedra de Agua Palenque
#16 of 34 in Palenque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Quinta Chanabnal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Quinta Chanabnal

Property: Boutique Hotel Quinta Chanabnal
Address: Carr. A Las Ruinas Km. 2, Palenque 29960, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Palenque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Palenque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Quinta Chanabnal 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only three kilometers from the archaeological site of Palenque, Chiapas, this luxury resort evokes a Mayan palace complex of the Classic Period. Traditional pre-Hispanic design, updated with modern sophistication, awaits the discerning traveler at Boutique Hotel Quinta Chanabnal.The architectural complex consists of two Junior Suites, four Deluxe Suites and one Presidential Suite. Amidst luxuriant jungle flora our swimming pools recall the typical waterfalls found in the ruins of Palenque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Boutique Hotel Quinta Chanabnal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing