We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Hostel”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Yaxkin Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yaxkin Hostel
Monterey, California, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible Hostel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

The dorm was booked up so I shared a private room with another woman. The private rooms are located across the street from the reception area, which seems ok at the time, but is really quite annoying when you have to walk in the dark every time you want to talk to reception, use the internet, use the kitchen, get water, etc. Staff is not helpful and appears annoyed when you ask questions. They give terrible directions. The sheets appeared dirty, and I pulled out my sleeping liner for only the second time during my 5 months in Central America. We had a private bathroom. The water in the sink did not work, cold water in the shower did not work which meant it was too scalding hot to take a shower, and the toilet stopped working during the night. (They did come fix this the next day). Unfortunately there are a limited number of budget options in Palenque.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillary724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    60
    61
    25
    23
See reviews for
9
78
55
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed in Yaxkin Hostel for 2 nights. I stayed in a 6-bed dorm and the first night I had it on my own in the second night we were 2 people (I guess it wasn’t main season). The room was clean. It’s really nice that the dorms are located in various bungalows throughout the garden which creates a really relaxing atmosphere. In the garden they also have chairs and benches so that you can hang out there. They have several fans/ventilators in the rooms, which serve ok (although real air-conditioning would of course be better). It’s good that they have WiFi because they only have one PC (more would be great!). Before staying in Yaxkin Hostel I read the reviews here and on hostelworld about the rude staff. Well, my experience was that it wasn’t the nicest staff I have ever met but also I wouldn’t consider them as extremely rude. The location is really great. Crossing the bridge it’s 1 or 2 blocks where the minibuses to the ruins leave. Also there main street is pretty close where they have a bakery, a supermarket and I also found a good and not touristy little place where they serve good Tacos (Mr. Cruda). It would be cool if breakfast was included. They have a restaurant and café where they serve breakfast and also some good coffee creations (Oreo Frappe, etc). I think for Mexican conditions it’s a little expensive, but the coffee is good and it’s worth trying (the frappes are a great refreshment on a humid day).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaffeeanne_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We got a private double for 200pesos which is good value. Including towels, hot water, well equipped kitchen, drinking water, tv room and a lovely garden. The location is fantastic just minutes from town and in a pleasant neighbourhood. Ok the wifi doesnt work, but who cares really, enjoy the jungle instead! The staff are also not hugely friendly or helpful. Overall we had quite a luxurious stay. High standards for a hostel. Would reccommend.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Allardyced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecate, Mexico
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We arrive very early in the morning (around 7 AM) and the doors were closed, an employee was waiting to get in too and she rang the bell a few times, until a boy with a very sleepy face went to open the door! After that he did't give us a room he told us that the check in time was until 2 pm, I wanted to pay for an extra night so they could let us in at that time and the he told us he couldn't do that! So we went around town and to the ruinas and came back after 2. The good thing is that they could hold on to our luggage in the meanwhile! After that everything seem pretty well! I would come back but after 2 next time!
The only advise I could give to the owners is that the staff need more training in cotumer service!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YepRom-Fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I really don't understand the amount of mixed reviews this place receives. It really is a nice hostel that looks like a hotel. While it's not perfect, I don't have major complaints.

Some cons are the kitchen, it's literally next to the lobby so I can imagine that when people cook, it smells. It's in an open space, but still. There's wifi but only one computer and it's s#!t and the backyard where some rooms and the dorms are could be better lit. It's scary not knowing if you're stepping on something that could bite. The town is not exactly IN the jungle but it's surrounded by it. And in terms of the loud and rude employees, I didn't experience this but there was one employee in particular who liked to play music a little too loud and I just asked him to please turn it down, to which he complied without a problem.

Pros: it's clean, the beds and pillows are comfy, it has good water pressure, the warm water functions perfectly and the restaurant has affordable food considering Palenque restaurant prices. You find dishes from $30 to about $60. Plus, the location is nice. It's tucked away on a quiet street away from the main avenues but VERY close.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luisanaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed one night, people behind the desk were pretty friendly though they didn't know information on tours and rates on promotional stuff in their lobby. Dorms were average. Plenty of windows and some fans so it wasn't too hot. Nice location, about 3 block from downtown main street. There is a restaurant on site that has pretty good food. I would stay here another night passing by, not to lounge about.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank world_citizen38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

First impressions were good - the hostel is set in a beautiful jungle area and the lobby is stylish. But when I got to the reception desk, they seemed unaware of my booking and spent about 10 minutes confirming I had indeed made one.

The dorm was average at best - I found the mattress hard and the pillow somewhat lumpy. The bathroom was rather shabby - peeling paint and no shower curtain. However, it was all kept reasonably clean.

I could not get the wifi working and, while there is a computer in the lobby for guest use, this is not connected to the Internet either (exactly what else they expect guests to want a computer for, I don't know).

While not hugely expensive, the lack of facilities and breakfast not being included make this hostel poor value compared to some others.

To conclude, this hostel is ok if you just need to spend a night or two in Palanque, but don't expect anything amazing.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palenque hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chablis Palenque
Hotel Chablis Palenque
#2 of 34 in Palenque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Xibalba
Hotel Xibalba
#12 of 34 in Palenque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mision Palenque
Hotel Mision Palenque
#3 of 34 in Palenque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maya Tulipanes Palenque
2.4 mi away
Chan-Kah Resort Village
Chan-Kah Resort Village
#5 of 34 in Palenque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ciudad Real Palenque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yaxkin Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yaxkin Hostel

Property: Yaxkin Hostel
Address: Prolongacion Av. Hidalgo esquina 5ta poniente norte Num 1 | Zona ecoturistica la Canada, Palenque 29960, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Palenque
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Palenque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Yaxkin Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yaxkin Hotel Palenque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing