We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above Average”
Review of Tulija Express

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tulija Express
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Palenque
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night as part of a tour.

The location is good for visiting the Palenque ruins and not much else. It is not in the hotel zone and our tour guide insisted on accompanying us when we had to go down the road to use the ATM. Apparently the town can get quite dangerous.

The rooms were clean and comfortable however our air conditioner was noisy and didn't work properly.

The pool was nice however there is no automatic chlorination. A hotel employee came out to the pool at about 8pm and poured a 10L bottle of chlorine into the pool before trying to explain in Spanish that we shouldn't go back in the water! As it was we had to leave the pool area altogether because the smell was so strong! So be careful of using the pool first thing in the morning or late at night!

For us it was a decent place to rest a night while exploring the ruins.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikaila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 117 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights despite the bad reviews here, what a regret. It´s an old hotel with extremely bad service and negative attitude. Dont stay there ever, when I complained about the dirty rooms we never got that resolved, and after 3 calls the receptionist said as soon as they have time they will send someone, that never happened. To make a long story short I was told my bad review won´t hurt them at all and that 1 bad review from 1 customer isn´t that important. So there, don´t stay there they don´t care if you had a good stay or not.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fernando T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Tulija Express Hotel last Nov. 24-26, 2012. At first I was really hesitant to book this hotel after reading some of the reviews, but because of a good deal I got in the internet we decided to give it a try. When we arrived in the hotel the bell boy was very attentive and assisted us with our luggage the receptionist was very courteous too. the accommodation that I booked for was for a king suite, and we entered the room it was very clean and tidy. the bed was comfortable.the hotel is also near the city center as well as the archaeological sites which is also a good thing. the food was good too.

Room Tip: get the suite. very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barefoot21traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We've spent two nights here in Palenque at this Hotel. We were on our way through Mexico and we stopped here to see the famous ruins.

We chose this place mostly because we got a good deal online. It's right at the main road and right next to a Chedraui (like a mexican Walmart), which was convenient to shop some mexican products in the evening.

You can reach "downtown" from here by foot in about 15-20 minutes, if you don't mind to walk in the heat. For us, the location was fine.
The Check-In was just alright. Fast, but could have been warmer and friendlier. The rooms are pretty standard, ours was recently refurbished...but still average. It was clean enough and ok for two nights. Our room was next to a pretty quiet road, so the sleep we had was fine.
There's also a pool with hammocks and beach chairs. It was fine to hang out a little. But the pool water was green and had a thick, green layer on top. Not really inviting. The only one's attracted to that were the mosquitoes.
There is a quite nice lounge area too with a cool pool table (50 peso for one hour). So we just ordered some pizza, opened a bottle of wine and played some pool in the evening. That was pretty fun. The Hotel also has a restaurant which does the room service (the Club Sandwich was fair priced and pretty good).
There's also free WiFi, but that requires some luck...the rooms in the back are too far away from the signal.

All in all it's a very average place. Location's fine, because there's not much to see in town. It's a nice town, but you don't need to stay IN town overnight. A walk in the daytime's good enough to see Palenque.
And for the ruins you need a taxi anyway. You can get a private one (70 peso) or share a van (10 peso pp).
If you don't mind not staying in one of the ruins close-by resorts, then this is an option. Not great, but fine for a night or two.

Wanna know more about my trips? Check my profile (where you'll also find my website with more info about my travels).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bandit-One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I was happy to be in the room that we were placed in. It was part of the new rooms that had been added on to the hotel. The rooms were state of the art. I had a chance to take a look at the older rooms and they were horrible to say the least. The internet was poor and only avaible in a few areas. The staff was not helpful and unkind. If you go, please stay in one of the nicer rooms.

Room Tip: You must stay in the new part that has just been added. The old rooms are horrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dougzihua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel.
Hotel very well located with commodities just around (little supermarket, cash machine).
The room was clean, quiet with air conditioned, beautiful bathroom.
The hotel has also a restaurant and a pool.

The team was nice and always available.

I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2SR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

This is our second stay at the Tulija Express. The manager had given our junior suite to another customer when we arrived, so we stayed in a regular room the first night and then changed to the junior suite for the next two nights. There wasn't that much difference between the two rooms, except for a couple of extra mirrors and a flat screen tv in the junior suite. The place is clean, but is terribly worn and in desperate need of major renovations. The restaurant has great breakfasts, but I wouldn't recommend it for other meals. The hotel is ok for the price you pay, but don't expect any frills.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MexicoTraveler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palenque hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mision Palenque
Hotel Mision Palenque
#3 of 34 in Palenque
599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chablis Palenque
Hotel Chablis Palenque
#2 of 34 in Palenque
631 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maya Tulipanes Palenque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ciudad Real Palenque
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Aldea del Halach Huinic
2.2 mi away
Chan-Kah Resort Village
Chan-Kah Resort Village
#6 of 34 in Palenque
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulija Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulija Express

Address: Boulevard Aeropuerto Km 0.5 Zona Hotelera, Palenque 29960, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Palenque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Palenque
Price Range: $50 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulija Express 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tulija Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing