We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor boooking services”
Review of Hotel Palenque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palenque
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Palenque
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I reserved a room on this hotel's website and received a confirmation e-mail, which stated that they would be in contact with me to confirm the reservation. Never heard from them, so I called the hotel to confirm. They said they had no record of my reservation, even when I gave the confirmation number from the e-mail. They said that they had no availability for the nights I had reserved.

I found the hotel on another booking site, and it showed that they did have availability, so I booked it through that site, paid a $22 deposit, and received a confirmation e-mail. Later, when I called the hotel to confirm, they AGAIN said that they had no record of my new reservation, and that they had no availability for those nights. Now I was out a reservation AND $22 non-refundable deposit. On top of it, their website was out for a week, with a message saying their account was suspended for violations.

It all seems pretty shady. Stay away from this place!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Service
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 60 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2012

If you be need somewhere to feel at home between trips to the jungle or the ruins or are waiting for a bus, this is the place. It's a little more than a basic hotel (500 pesos- about £25) BUT it i totally worth it. The staff are extremely helpful and the pool is great. OK, the shower could do with updating and the food wasn't top-notch, but it's not a problem. Highly recommended if you are travelling alone. Room is large and the lights are actually bright enough to see by! (not usual in Mexico)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themiddlemoffat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2010

Luckily we only stayed here for 1 night. I booked this hotel via bestday.com because the price seemed good $38 USD for 1 night, an apparent discount of around 30%. No breakfast. This equates to roughly $450-475 pesos.
Check in was painless, however no one spoke English in the entire hotel.
Rooms - large, old, dirty, very very outdated, we had a broke window panel facing the court yard so it wasn't safe at all. At least the aircon worked. Luke warm- cold showers, spider webs in the bathroom! On the plus side, the location is very good, around 15 minutes walk from ADO bus station.The common area and swimming pool looked decent, but as with some Mexican hotels the lighting was poor.
We had breakfast at the hotel, that we purchased. It was ok, 45 pesos each for eggs with ham, bread, coffee and orange juice.
We left early in the morning for our bus journey to San Cristobal!! They say you pay what you get in Mexico in terms of hotel. This one was definitely way overpriced. If they had thrown in Breakfast at that price, I may have been kinder.
I would not recommed unless they refurbished!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fizzychi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2010

This hotel is too expensive for what you get. The rooms are very noisy, especially the ones located near the square (a lot of birds in the trees), the swimmingpool is really dirty. No hot water
At the time we visited, the wireless internet wasn't working and we were told an hour before leaving that breakfast wasn't going to happen that day because it was the January 1.
These things might be acceptable, but not if paying 750 pesos a night.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miep29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank ir4ik2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Santiago C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Mayra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palenque hotels
0.1 mi away
Maya Rue
Maya Rue
#19 of 34 in Palenque
119 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Plaza Palenque
Hotel Plaza Palenque
#21 of 34 in Palenque
87 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel La Quinta Exxpres
Hotel La Quinta Exxpres
#27 of 34 in Palenque
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Xibalba
Hotel Xibalba
#14 of 34 in Palenque
278 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Kin-Ha
Hotel Villas Kin-Ha
#18 of 34 in Palenque
224 reviews
89.7 mi away
Hotel Kashlan
Hotel Kashlan
#30 of 34 in Palenque
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palenque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palenque

Address: Av. 5 de Mayo No. 15 | Centro, Palenque 29960, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Palenque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Palenque
Price Range: $34 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Palenque 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
we count on an excellent service of lodging that will totally please our guests; The main purpose of the hotel, is to offer to our guests one complete attention, excellent prices, tranquillity, comfort and all the amenities that we must available to do of its visit in Palenque, an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Palenque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing