We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ineresting place and close to Palenque”
Review of Jungle Palace

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palenque
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jungle Palace
Reviewed February 6, 2014

When trying to decide between staying in the soulless town of Palenque and El Patchan, it was easy, we went for the El Patchan. It's right in the middle of the jungle and a short colectivo ride away from the ruins. The huts are very basic and literally in the middle of the jungle. They are also not the most secure buildings, so be sure to store all your valuables up front in the lockers near the reception desk. Also do not keep food in your locker, we accidentally left a banana in ours and something chewed our bag up over night. The accommodations are very basic, just a hut made of bamboo and windows made of misquito netting, the bathrooms are heavily used and not the cleanest either. Stay here for 3-4 nights maximum.

You can easily get to the ruins by walking out to the main road and waiting for a colectivo van to drive by, you can also do the same for the waterfalls too. Try to avoid the tours as they have a large mark-up included. Hopefully this was helpful and enjoy your time in Palenque!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wheresbaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 64 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed in Jungle Palace for 3 nights and had a blast. The cabanas are cheap and very basic but you really feel like your in the jungle, because you are! The food in the restaurant is good but not that cheap compared to other places in Mexico. The service was hit and miss, sometimes good, sometimes dreadful.

Security seems to be a bit of an issue in El Panchan, things went missing. Make sure you keep your valuables locked up whenever possible.

Also you have to pay for wifi in the restaurant 25 pesos for an hour! This is a bit cheeky considering the money you spend on food and drink.

On the whole a cool jungle experience but i wouldn't stay there for more than 3 nights.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kieran R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Located beautiful and nice bamboo huts - the downside: they don't tell you that the river floods to a level that full covers huts. A nightmarish experience running through hip high water to a two story building in order to not getting washed away in the floods in the middle of the night. No responsibility from staff in keeping guests save. A clear case of a place that should be shut down before any serious harm happens to guests.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

El Panchen is a must. Why stay in ugly Palenque town when you can stay for cheaper in the heart of the jungle?! 4 of us shared one room with two doubles for 60 pesos each. Everything is basic as you'd expect but what do you really need when you're surrounded by breathtaking nature and glimpses of howler monkeys in the trees overhead. There's a handful of little bars and cafes that play live music in the evening and be prepared for the late night extravaganza at Don Muchos restaurant, it's a show-stopper, and free! To arrive take the bus to Palenque then either a collectivo or taxi 10 mins to El Panchen. Collectivos run to/ from the ruins all day and start from about 6am if you need to get to the bus station early when you leave.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miss_dotty78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The ironically named jungle "palace" is a collection of dirty, insecure huts on a floodplain. The staff were rude and unfriendly, and for the majority of our stay there was no water in the showers / taps, or electricity. In fact, we were charged more one day so that the electrician could be paid! Our experience here was particularly unfortunate over and above this - on our third night, whilst we were out at dinner, the "bubbling brook" burst its banks and completely flooded our ground floor canabana, totally destoying all of our possessions. Despite having spare keys and the experience to anticipate this likelihood, the staff didn´t move our things out of danger´s way - in fact, some of them seemed to find the destruction of our passports funny. They extremely reluctantly put our muddy, saturated clothes in the wash and were also very reluctant to provide a written account of the event to help our insurance claim.
El Pachan is cool, but not for longer than 2 days and definitely don´t stay at Jungle Palace.

Room Tip: Don´t stay on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c-phil123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Lonely Planet raves about the jungle experience near to the Palenque park. I disagree. Once it might have been a hip place, but now it is just a very run-down collection of cabanas. There is obviously very little being invested into upkeep of the whole place (it is a collection of 6-7 properties of 20+ cabanas each). It is dirt cheap, but what you get is a ramshackle hut with almost no security, screens with holes (so no use) and moldy sheets. You would be much better staying in the city, despite it too being meh. Makes no difference at all in visiting the archaeological site - you save maybe 10 minutes collectivo ride. No service and some weird people hanging around.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danchee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The cabanas are simple but ok for the price. We love the screens/mosquito nets that the room had as walls.

The music from the restaurants around was very loud until very late (around 5 am) the 2 nights we stayed there and wasn't very nice at all.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palenque hotels
3.9 mi away
Kin Balam Cabanas Palenque
1.9 mi away
Hotel Chablis Palenque
Hotel Chablis Palenque
#2 of 34 in Palenque
631 reviews
3.5 mi away
Chan-Kah Resort Village
Chan-Kah Resort Village
#6 of 34 in Palenque
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Maya Tulipanes Palenque
2.7 mi away
Boutique Hotel Quinta Chanabnal
2 mi away
Posada Nacha`n - Ka`an
Posada Nacha`n - Ka`an
#4 of 27 in Palenque
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Palace

Address: El Panchan, Palenque-Ruinas Carretera km 4.5, Palenque, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Palenque
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Palenque
Also Known As:
Jungle Palace Hotel Palenque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing