We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why stay in soulless Palenque when you can spend night in the jungle?!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jungle Palace

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palenque
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jungle Palace
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Why stay in soulless Palenque when you can spend night in the jungle?!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

El Panchen is a must. Why stay in ugly Palenque town when you can stay for cheaper in the heart of the jungle?! 4 of us shared one room with two doubles for 60 pesos each. Everything is basic as you'd expect but what do you really need when you're surrounded by breathtaking nature and glimpses of howler monkeys in the trees overhead. There's a handful of little bars and cafes that play live music in the evening and be prepared for the late night extravaganza at Don Muchos restaurant, it's a show-stopper, and free! To arrive take the bus to Palenque then either a collectivo or taxi 10 mins to El Panchen. Collectivos run to/ from the ruins all day and start from about 6am if you need to get to the bus station early when you leave.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miss_dotty78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    23
    19
    4
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
22
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The ironically named jungle "palace" is a collection of dirty, insecure huts on a floodplain. The staff were rude and unfriendly, and for the majority of our stay there was no water in the showers / taps, or electricity. In fact, we were charged more one day so that the electrician could be paid! Our experience here was particularly unfortunate over and above this - on our third night, whilst we were out at dinner, the "bubbling brook" burst its banks and completely flooded our ground floor canabana, totally destoying all of our possessions. Despite having spare keys and the experience to anticipate this likelihood, the staff didn´t move our things out of danger´s way - in fact, some of them seemed to find the destruction of our passports funny. They extremely reluctantly put our muddy, saturated clothes in the wash and were also very reluctant to provide a written account of the event to help our insurance claim.
El Pachan is cool, but not for longer than 2 days and definitely don´t stay at Jungle Palace.

Room Tip: Don´t stay on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c-phil123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palenque hotels

Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Lonely Planet raves about the jungle experience near to the Palenque park. I disagree. Once it might have been a hip place, but now it is just a very run-down collection of cabanas. There is obviously very little being invested into upkeep of the whole place (it is a collection of 6-7 properties of 20+ cabanas each). It is dirt cheap, but what you get is a ramshackle hut with almost no security, screens with holes (so no use) and moldy sheets. You would be much better staying in the city, despite it too being meh. Makes no difference at all in visiting the archaeological site - you save maybe 10 minutes collectivo ride. No service and some weird people hanging around.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danchee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The cabanas are simple but ok for the price. We love the screens/mosquito nets that the room had as walls.

The music from the restaurants around was very loud until very late (around 5 am) the 2 nights we stayed there and wasn't very nice at all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The first room the owner showed me was really gross. I asked to see another and wound up with a lovely cabana next to a bubbling brook. Security was not great--the walls were made of screens. However, it was really delightful to wake up to the sound of the brook in the morning. Shared bathrooms could have been a bit cleaner, but, then again, we were staying in the jungle.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank hwhite1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2012

They have many difference rooms for budgettraveler and kindness.
I stay a single room 1day/100 Mexican peso cash without shower and wc..WC/Shower is near the rooms..no breakfast..can buy foods and drink near the restaurant..is inexpensive..I thik so.
I go to town by minibus(1 ticket 5 mex-peso ) and bank, many foodshops, supermarket, bank, restaurants, anykinds things are there .it is normal small downtown and safety place because am woman and walking alone on the streets ..they are not same like a MexicoCity.

JunglePalce is very near the MayaRuins NationalPark..about 5 min by foots from Jungle-accommodation zone to entrance.
















t

Room Tip: See and know to my review
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UteliasTampere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

We ended up staying in the "Platano" room at this place for the day only because I was suffering from food poisoning and Margarita & Ed Cabañas wouldn't let us extend the room we had there, (read the details for that incident at our Margarita & Ed Cabañas review). Although we paid for the full night at Jungle Palace, we only stayed till about 6PM as we had a night bus to Tulum pre-booked. Nevertheless, at 250 pesos/night for a semi-detached hut with private bathroom and hot water, it's not a bad value. There is a also a good chance that we overpaid for the room since we were desperate and were in no position to negotiate our room rate at the time of booking. This was the closest place to Margarita & Ed Cabañas and I really just needed to lie down. We can only compare this room to the one at Margarita & Ed Cabañas and it wasn't much worse. The basic room was spacious, the bathroom was big and the beds were comfortable enough for the time I spent lying on it while feeling weak and sick. If you aren't expecting a "jungle palace" than this place might just be good enough if you can get it at a good price, i.e., less than what we paid. For the full details and photos, please visit our site, TheVacationAdvisors.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheVacationAdvisors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palenque hotels
3.5 mi away
Chan-Kah Resort Village
Chan-Kah Resort Village
#4 of 34 in Palenque
575 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Maya Tulipanes Palenque
3.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Mercedes Palenque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cabanas Safari
Cabanas Safari
#18 of 34 in Palenque
51 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kin Balam Cabanas Palenque
2.7 mi away
Boutique Hotel Quinta Chanabnal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Palace

Property: Jungle Palace
Address: El Panchan, Palenque-Ruinas Carretera km 4.5, Palenque, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Palenque
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Palenque
Also Known As:
Jungle Palace Hotel Palenque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing