We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, basic and pleasant”
Review of Jungle Palace

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palenque
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jungle Palace
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cheap, basic and pleasant”
Reviewed March 23, 2011

At first, I wasn´t exactly thrilled about this place, but actually it turned out to be very nice stay. The price is cheap - we payed 100 pesos per night for cabana with shared bathroom. The room was basic with one big bed and one small one, chair and fan. The mosquitonets at our room windows didn't have holes, as was said in some previous reviews. Shared bathrooms and toilets were clean. The hostess spoke good English. That was a big plus, as we don't speak much Spanish. Nearby Don Mucho restaurant had delicious food and good coctails.

The only minus is that it was a littlebit noisy at night, but that was a small problem.

El Panchan itself was very nice with many backpackers and hippies staying there. We loved the jungle and laidback atmosphere of the place. It also felt very safe there. Cabanas are much better accomodation in Palenque than some big hotel. Good base to visit the amazing mayan ruins.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marielis_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    24
    19
    4
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
23
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

We thought we were in for a treat... Nice cabanas in the midst of the jungle, not far from the Palenque Maya site. What could go wrong? We were looking forward to falling asleep with the sounds of the jungle: birds, monkeys,... Not! The nearby restaurant played music until one in the morning. Drunken people made a lot of noice afterwards. So no jungle sounds. Then it started raining... inside the cabana!! The roof was leaking like hell. All our clothes soaking wet. We had to flee our cabana. So no sleep at all. Oh and I won't mention the sheets and the mattresses. Full of wholes and a matress, made out of sponge... Imagine that when it's raining... Absolutely not recommendable and no jungle experience at all!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiwiAr0undTheW0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palenque hotels

Palenque, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 24, 2010

My sweet little cabaña was located by the river, backdoors and a little platform above the river with crystalclear water.
The screams of the howlermonkeys and see them pass above you in the trees makes you realise you are in the middle of the jungle.
The place was clean, fresh sheets, clean toilets and showers with hot water, friendly personnel.
El Panchan is a sort of backpackersresort, so plenty of people to meet.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindaskywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

Good cheap cabanas, although there where massive gaps in the floor boards. Friendly staff, warm showers, soft bed, great access to palenque and the ruins.
Good and speady laudry service, no breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cealz15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

at first look we did not liked it the accomodation are made of wood, very poor furniture holes on the walls and ceiling, but is actually in the middle of the jungle. we saw monkeys on the tree next to our accomodation and the atmosphere is so relaxing. nice restaurant 2 min away called don mucho(good pizza). is a bit far from the town but there are collectivo passing by all day as is beetween the town and the ruins.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jagui11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2010

Dont expect more than a clean bed and cold showers when you pay 40 pesos a night! That is what you have when you go to this place. El Panchan is cool to spend a couple of days, waking up to the sound of howling monkeys and seeing insects and lizards everywhere. But it is really hot during the day, and there are not many places to refresh...
Also, there is no kitchen, and only one restaurant (Don Muchos) where everyone gather. It gets expensive for people budgeting, to always eat out. Had a wonderful time anyway!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m4rir0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium, antwerp
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2010

El ponchon is a great place to spent some time...
There are a bunch off places where you could stay.
And if I ever go back, i would´nt stay at the Jungle Palace again.
Although located next to a jungle river, in a romantic spot.
The rooms are very basic. Normally this no problem for me, but now there was no mousquitonet available! (And there were a lot of holes in the floor and walls)
I was troubled by mouses, mousquitos and spiders...normal junglestuff...but you want to keep them away while you are sleeping!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jokelien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palenque hotels
3.5 mi away
Chan-Kah Resort Village
Chan-Kah Resort Village
#6 of 34 in Palenque
593 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Chablis Palenque
Hotel Chablis Palenque
#2 of 34 in Palenque
593 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Quinta Exxpres
Hotel La Quinta Exxpres
#26 of 34 in Palenque
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Piedra de Agua Palenque
Piedra de Agua Palenque
#16 of 34 in Palenque
178 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cabanas Safari
Cabanas Safari
#14 of 34 in Palenque
55 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Villas Kin-Ha
Hotel Villas Kin-Ha
#19 of 34 in Palenque
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Palace

Property: Jungle Palace
Address: El Panchan, Palenque-Ruinas Carretera km 4.5, Palenque, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Palenque
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Palenque
Also Known As:
Jungle Palace Hotel Palenque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing