We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service, no wi-fi”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palenque
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Margarita & Ed's Cabanas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2012

-The worst service! No option to keep the luggage after 6 pm (although it is written to have the service up to 10 pm)!
- We paid for the best room and expected a to a separate cabin like in the photo but received a room in a building. Not a cabin.
- No Wi-Fi, no cellular roaming, no public computers.
- The room was quite spacy, but the beds are too small and the pillows are terrible.
- Shower water pressure was poor.
- We asked to talk to the manager/owner but they said that it is not possible.

Room Tip: Don't go there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tom a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 217 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2012

Pachan is the jungle hotel village near Palenque Ruinas. The cabana we were in was very basic, but clean and had an own bathroom. Although it was 'screened'; bugs came in without any trouble (but that's in every jungle). At the time we were there, a huge thunderstorm struck the jungle and the cabana was not up for it: we got wet in our bed. There's no WIFI, common area or guest kitchen available: no place to chill and meet other people. Don Mucho is the nearby restaurant and it had delicious food for a reasonable price. We didn't like the Pachan hippie vibe too much and went to a hostel in town the next day.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lobke_and_Inge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a cabana at E&M for 3 nights ad had a great stay.

Firstly El Panchan is the best place to stay for experiencing Palenque away from the noise of the town. The town is pretty grubby too and it is much more authentic and relaxed staying in the jungle.

E&W is well situated in El Panchan next door to Don Muchos (restaurant/bar). The cabana was large, spotless and great value. We opted for aircon which was great considering the number of Mosquitos about. At 400 pesos for a big clean room with two double beds, aircon and private bathroom, this is great.

Don Muchos is great for dinner and live music in the eve and you are a stones throw from the ruins.

The staff were also very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickg385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I had a very nice stay here in the jungle. The room was quite clean, with a good bed and shower. No kitchen or lounge, but towels, soap, and purified water were pluses. Perhaps not the best option for budget solo travelers--I had to pay a bit more than I normally would for a private room that is normally for two. It was mostly quiet while I was there, except for a nearby bar that was playing music in the distance.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

They were almost completely booked. But we still managed to get a room with aircon. I really needed this. It was too hot and really humid. Perhaps other people can handle this better.
The room was very clean. You get towels and if you want you can refill your water bottle with purified water.
The owners speak English. We went on a tour and they came to pick up our bags, so we didn't have to take them with us. At the end of our day (we were going to take a night bus) we could change clothes in their own bathroom.
We had a really nice stay!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelliebu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Smack in the middle of the Chiapan jungle. We got a cabana, and slept listening to the sounds of the jungle. Mosquito netting set the standards for jungle dwellings. Very clean room. Hot water. Great fan in room. Margarita is very knowledgeable of the area and friendly.Rooms very secure with bars, a source of pride for Margarita. Not a party place, if you want a party go to jungle palace next door. The cabana was well kept, cheap, and a once in a lifetime experience for us. Didn't need A/C, even in July, as it remained fresh below the tree canopy and a fan was enough. Recommend to everyone for a great time...also don't miss eating at Don Mucho's.

Room Tip: Recommend staying in a cabana, well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I was very happy with the way that Margarita took care of us even though we arrived in the dark. Pachan is very confusing and we had to ask several people how to find Margarita and Ed's. We didn't get a chance to look around until morning and I would believe it was even more confusing then. There are several small hotels and a jumble of tourist guides with no clear lines as to where you are - all wrapped around the restaurant. The rooms themselves were clean, the air-conditioning functioned extremely well - we turned it off and used just the fan once the room cooled down. We probably didn't need it. The room was good sized, with a desk, chair and queensized bed. However, the decorating left something to desire, but for $400 pesos, who could complain? The bed was pretty comfortable but there were only two pillows. I loved the fact we could walk over to the restaurant where prices were decent and the food wasn't too bad, although I didn't come to Mexico to eat Italian food.

I would stay at Margarita and Ed's again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palenque hotels
1.9 mi away
Cabanas Safari
Cabanas Safari
#16 of 34 in Palenque
60 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Aldea del Halach Huinic
2.7 mi away
Hotel Maya Tulipanes Palenque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Chablis Palenque
Hotel Chablis Palenque
#2 of 34 in Palenque
631 reviews
3.3 mi away
Casssa Vlanca Hotel
Casssa Vlanca Hotel
#7 of 34 in Palenque
63 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chan-Kah Resort Village
Chan-Kah Resort Village
#6 of 34 in Palenque
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margarita & Ed's Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margarita & Ed's Cabanas

Address: El Pachan, Palenque, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Palenque
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Palenque
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Margarita And Ed`s Cabanas
Margarita & Ed`s Cabanas Hotel Palenque
Margarita Eds Cabanas Palenque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing