We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Mercedes Palenque
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Palenque
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“nice spot!”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Great location. Clean. The staff is always ready to help. Probably the best option in Palenque.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LUCAS T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    222
    95
    28
    19
See reviews for
146
221
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
327 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed here for one night around Christmas time 2011. Palenque is the type of place where most people stay just one night. There is not a whole lot to do beyond the temples although the town has a surprising number of good eating options and generally a relaxed atmosphere. However this resort is located outside of town, closer to the ruins, in beautiful surroundings. On first glance it really looks like a beautiful resort and to a certain degree it also is. It has a beautiful spacious entrance, the cabins are located amidst lots of greenery, and the central dining area is also spacious and atmospheric. However, there are a lot of things that this resort needs to improve on. Let me start with the positive. The rooms are spacious, decently equipped and of course you are fairly close the ruins.

However, there is a lot to comment on. For starters, the staff speaks very poor English. In fact it is almost impossible communicate with any of them if you do not speak Spanish. Now I realize that Mexico is a Spanish speaking country but most of the guests in resorts such as this one are not, nor are they necessarily from another Spanish speaking country. I totally understand it when the local shop owner does not speak English, but a resort that caters to large tour groups of international tourists: inexcusable. Usually this does not lead to any problems though. However, we had a severe leakage from our airconditioning in our room. When we called the reception desk we were barily able to explain this. The water had leaked into my suitcase and some of my clothes were wet. Moreover I nearly broke my neck when I walked into the room, not expecting a puddle of water in the middle of it. Once we had made oursevelves understood a repair person was sent over. However, he again did not speak a word of English because of which we had no idea how long the repairs would take. And they took pretty much forever, at least that's how it felt since we had no idea.

Although we were given an early check in, which was really kind, the people at the reception seemed unable to find the details of our book with Hotels.com. We had booked a king-size double bed but were instead given two separte beds. Perhaps they thought that two men might not want to sleep in the same bed but then they could have asked us this instead of assuming. Of course we could have gone back to the reception and asked for a different room but that is the besides the point: the booking says something else, that is simply something that needs to be in order.

Another rather perplexing thing was the lack of pillows on the deck chairs next to the pool. We got back from the ruins at ten thirty assuming we would spend most of the day next to the pool. Since there were no pillows on the chairs we assumed it was probably too early and they still had to put them on. But it turned out that they do not put pillows on the chairs as they might get wet and are difficult to dry. We do wonder how these ten of thousands of other resorts around the world manage this dilemma but they seem to be doing just fine.

This resort has a lot of potential but in the scope of the twenty four hours we stayed here there were a number of rather silly/stupid incidents that really left us with a disappointed feeling. Since there are a number of other good five star options nearby we would suggest checking out one of these places first before booking this one.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the room you booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

The rooms are large and nicely appointed but strangely most do not have much of a view, which is a shame. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom good - pity no bath-tub. The lighting in the room and bathroom was very dim - almost impossible to read or shave.The restaurant completely lacks atmosphere and the food is just OK. The buffet is to be avoided - a la carte is better. There is no real bar area - just a few tables in the reception area with no atmosphere. The location is great for the site. Do not bother with the town - not nice at all. The pool is pleasant but the sun-loungers have seen better days and there was no bar service. Overall this is a good option for seeing the Mayan city of Palenque.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms near the small lake - lots of mosquitos!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelltravelledSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

The hotel (setup more like a resort) is a nice oasis in the middle of the jungle.
Located on the ONE road between the Palenque township (5 min drive) and the Palenque ruins (5 minute uphill drive). The road itself is serviced by regular VW combi vans which run consistently back and fourth along the road during daylight hours.
On check-in we were welcomed with a welcome cocktail (tasted like grape juice) and our bags were whisked off to our rooms. Reception offer a 'pre-paid hotel voucher' service which acts like a running tab to use on resort facilities (bar, restaurant, massage etc..) however is just as easy to pay as you go. Hotel staff were always able to find an english speaking employee for us.
The rooms are comfortable and clean, good quiet AC, excellent showers and in-room safe.
No wifi available (hotel is in the middle of the jungle), however there is a PC guests can use at reception for a small fee.
Hotel has two pools (with drink service) which are clean and are a nice escape from the heat.
Restaurant is good and reasonably well priced considering they have a mini monopoly.. alternative meal/snack arrangements would require a decent walk or taxi ride. Menu is a mix of mexican/american offerings and the service excellent. A large buffet is also available when the tour groups come in (4 bus loads on our visit) which tend to take over the restaurant - however service staff still looked after us (most likely as we were paying customers and they had a chance for tips..).
Palenque is in the middle of the jungle so be prepared for lizards, frogs, bugs, bats, spiders and monkeys.. great fun however my partner was jumping at shadows!
I would recommend this hotel (resort) to anyone visiting Palenque, two nights are adequate and give you a full day to explore the amazing ruins!

Room Tip: Rooms toward the rear of the property (up the hill) are prettier than those toward the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank temple_of_gloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Arriving felt like we had landed in paradise. Rooms pretty average but pool and restaurant area feel like you are physically being swallowed by the jungle. Just incredible. Only regret was that we didn't get to soak it up for two nights. Good location for the ruins and brilliant authentic night spent at don mochis for dinner. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrienneLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

I have stayed one night at Villa Mercedes and one night and the Chan-Kah Resort so I am able to give a little comparison about both options in Palenque.

Without a doubt I prefer the Villa Mercedes to the Chan-Kah resort and I cannot understand how the Chan-Kah is even higher in price than the Villa Mercedes!

The reception are is open, big and quiet nice. You are greeted with a welcome cocktail as you check in (always a nice treat!) and then you wander through the hotels lush gardens to your room.

The room is nice, modern with new AC and flat screen TV. The bathrooms have a walk in shower with glass door, all new amenities and good toiletries. Outside of your room each room has a little extra space for a hammock, ours was overlooking a little lagoon which looked beautiful but also attracted lots of mosquitos especially in the afternoon.

We also enjoyed lunch and the breakfast buffet at the hotel, which the quality of the food is good the service was a bit slow but hey, when traveling to Chiapas you need to bring time along so no worries.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deernchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Nice hotel, though quite far away from downtown Palenque, but no problem with a taxi to go to the Zocalo ( and “downtown” Palenque is worth the visit if you want to experience a real lively Mexican town and you can get some great bargains there, both for souvenirs and CDs and there’s quite a few nice restaurants to choose from) . The hotel is made up of several building, the rooms are nice and big, many with hamacas in front to relax. Mine was facing a little lake and had a really nice view. The restaurant is decent for both dinner and breakfast and for tour groups, the meals are included. Despite the large number of people eating there ( there must have been at least 4 tour groups including mine) it was OK and there was plenty to choose from.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannine2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palenque hotels
0.4 mi away
Chan-Kah Resort Village
Chan-Kah Resort Village
#6 of 34 in Palenque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Chablis Palenque
Hotel Chablis Palenque
#2 of 34 in Palenque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Mision Palenque
Hotel Mision Palenque
#3 of 34 in Palenque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Maya Tulipanes Palenque
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ciudad Real Palenque
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Aldea del Halach Huinic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Mercedes Palenque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Mercedes Palenque

Property: Hotel Villa Mercedes Palenque
Address: Carretera Palenque - Ruinas Km 2.9, Palenque 29960, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Palenque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palenque
#5 Spa Hotel in Palenque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Mercedes Palenque 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The design of Villa Mercedes Palenque reflects the Tropical Jungle in its architectural concept and is faithful to the tropical forest style, modern thatched roofs bungalows surrounded by exuberant nature, lovely gardens with exotic flowers, stone paths, two large swimming pools with sun deck, Mayan traditional Spa & Temazcal and many more facilities make this resort a unique space to enjoy and rest in the middle of the jungle.The gastronomy at the splendid VM PALENQUE is offered at “LA FORESTA RESTAURANT”, which is based on culinary excellence offering an international menus, sumptuous buffets and regional specialties.The hotel features a spacious meeting and banquets room, with capacities ranging from 10 to 350 persons, our Salon Bella Vista, garden or swimming pools decks are the ideal place for all kinds of events.The Hotel has the best facilities of the destination, secure car park, air-conditioning in all rooms, a splendid Lobby Bar, room service, laundry, safety deposit boxes. For those who enjoy visiting some of our countless natural beauties or archaeological sites please contact our concierge located in the Lobby.Our guests are invited to experience the traditional Mayan Temazcal and a variety of treatments and massages at the SPA with oils and traditional herbs. Located just 5 minutes from the impressive archaeological site of Palenque, the Hotel VILLA MERCEDES PALENQUE is the best option for lodging and services in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Mercedes Palenque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mercedes Palenque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing