We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not great as it seemed at beginning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Mercedes Palenque
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Palenque
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Convieniently located just 2 km from the Ruins. Rooms are basic equipped with AC and fan. Nice pools, restaurant and location (a lot of green and gorge). You can really rest there but it is a little over-priced.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (559)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 559 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2011

Very near the National Park with the ruins of Palenque - this 3+year old hotel is part of a botique upscale chain - but even starting at about $200. US dollars a night (This is high for the hotels in Palenque) - it does not really deliver and also at times "nickels and dimes" you.

The service staff however - could not be more attentative - I would have to rate them as excellent!!!

The actual room was I would say a average to middle of the road US smallish motel room of no particular destinction.

The rain head shower worked / the TV had a couple English channels on it / the swimming pool was large - but totally in the burning sun all day / the food in the dining room was adequate....but nothing said WONDERFUL 1st Class experience.

Mostly European tour groups come here for one night and then move on. Try and avoid the pre-1 pm check out crush.

Nice overall - but no real bang for the buck.

Also they nickle and dime you with things like a 35 peso per 1/2 hour to use their internet computer to check your e-mail and charge you 20 pesos for a bottle of water in your bath room that sells for 4.5 pesos in a store. At their room rate you should get a couple LARGE bottles of water free.

Room Tip: Do NOT bother even checking on paying for an
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wwtravelerAAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

My husband and I went there as part of our honeymoon trip around Mexico. We had to reserve there because we couldn't find anything cheaper ( holiday season). We reserved and confirmed twice by phone before arriving 'cause they said they were gonna send an email to confirm and never did... We arrived at 11:00 pm and OF COURSE the "reservation" was not there and OF COURSE they didn't have rooms available so they had to send us to another hotel for the night after traveling 9 hours and with my husband sick... We had to go back to Villa Mercedes next day for the second night 'cause the other hotel didn't have a second night available for us... To make this story short THE SERVICE WAS THE WORST SERVICE I HAVE EVER HAD IN MY LIFE for the entire next day.... And here is where the story becomes a nightmare and a bad ending... We went to the next city to continue the trip and when we tried to pay the hotel my husband's card was blocked and after calling the bank to find out about it the bank told us they blocked it because "somebody" used it to buy coins on the internet for 1600 DLS.!! And of course they told us who and where... And guess what... It was the girl who took all our bank info. to make the reservation by phone and she in fact never did and SHE IS STILL WORKING THERE!!! SO BE CAREFUL IF U DECIDE TO GO BECAUSE MOST PROBABLY THE ARE GONNA STEAL FROM YOUR CREDIT CARD... don't remember the name of the girl but his boss is: EDUARDO and he is in charge on reservations office...

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
8  Thank Ivona-de-Giordano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

positive: large and clean rooms , in a green park.
negative: the safe box was not fixed to the wall !!!!
and water sold at a very high price. No refrigerator in the rooms. No coffee machines available anywhere.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leogriffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

I stayed two nights at the hotel in mid-April 2011 as part of a seminar. My room (115) was clean, quiet and well located. The food (a buffet) was provided as part of the seminar and was plentiful, varied and tasty. The staff were all helpful and friendly. Bring your bathing suit and make sure you take a swim in the pool at least one evening - it's magic. The hotel is outside of town on the road to the ruins which makes for a peaceful stay. If I were to return to Palenque, I would definitley stay at the Hotel Villa Mercedes again.

Room Tip: Rooms 113-117 are closest to pool & lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmarieJoshuaTree_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

We spent one night at the Villa Mercedes. The complex as such is quite nice: set in the tropical forest, it has a large welcoming entrance hall and rooms are spread over several bungalows across the hotel area, full of trees, plants and sounds of exotic animals. We found the room quite basic, and yes, it did have a damp smell, but this is probably unavoidable in such a climate. We had booked an "executive room" but the only difference I could find with normal rooms was that it had a marginally larger bathroom. We had lunch at the hotel, not particularly tasty but not a disaster either. Breakfast was ok though and overall we found the service at the restaurant fast and attentive. The hotel is definitely not the luxury hotel it markets itself as, there is nothing fancy, special or spectacular about the place.
The ruins are close by (but still you need transport) and if that's what you go to Palenque for, you will probably be better off choosing a different hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kasibru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

Although it is a bit expensive, the hotel is very nice. The rooms are very clean and the beds are comfortable. This hotel is for individuals that want to rest by the pool after a long day at the ruins.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank californialily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palenque hotels
0.4 mi away
Chan-Kah Resort Village
Chan-Kah Resort Village
#6 of 34 in Palenque
647 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Chablis Palenque
Hotel Chablis Palenque
#2 of 34 in Palenque
631 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Aldea del Halach Huinic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Hotel Mision Palenque
Hotel Mision Palenque
#3 of 34 in Palenque
599 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Maya Tulipanes Palenque
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ciudad Real Palenque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Mercedes Palenque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Mercedes Palenque

Address: Carretera Palenque - Ruinas Km 2.9, Palenque 29960, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Palenque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palenque
#5 Spa Hotel in Palenque
Price Range: $58 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Mercedes Palenque 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The design of Villa Mercedes Palenque reflects the Tropical Jungle in its architectural concept and is faithful to the tropical forest style, modern thatched roofs bungalows surrounded by exuberant nature, lovely gardens with exotic flowers, stone paths, two large swimming pools with sun deck, Mayan traditional Spa & Temazcal and many more facilities make this resort a unique space to enjoy and rest in the middle of the jungle.The gastronomy at the splendid VM PALENQUE is offered at “LA FORESTA RESTAURANT”, which is based on culinary excellence offering an international menus, sumptuous buffets and regional specialties.The hotel features a spacious meeting and banquets room, with capacities ranging from 10 to 350 persons, our Salon Bella Vista, garden or swimming pools decks are the ideal place for all kinds of events.The Hotel has the best facilities of the destination, secure car park, air-conditioning in all rooms, a splendid Lobby Bar, room service, laundry, safety deposit boxes. For those who enjoy visiting some of our countless natural beauties or archaeological sites please contact our concierge located in the Lobby.Our guests are invited to experience the traditional Mayan Temazcal and a variety of treatments and massages at the SPA with oils and traditional herbs. Located just 5 minutes from the impressive archaeological site of Palenque, the Hotel VILLA MERCEDES PALENQUE is the best option for lodging and services in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Villa Mercedes Palenque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mercedes Palenque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing