We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice right in the centre.”
Review of Olmeca Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Olmeca Plaza Hotel
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Villahermosa
Reviewed August 1, 2009

We were very impressed with this hotel. Nice swimming pool, fitness centre, and a good restaurant. We really loved the staff because they were so helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddy1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 143 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2009

We had originally planned on staying 2 nights in Villahermosa at the tail end of a trip to Chiapas, only to check out the Olmeca heads and then catch a flight (however, the swine flu closed all ruins and museums in the country, including the Parque La Venta). I wanted to book a hotel right downtown, close to the action- however, I have to say that there's not much action to be had in Villahermosa. It's really one of the least attractive towns I've seen in my 18 months living in Mexico. It does have an almost pleasant pedestrian area, but the architecture is rather ugly and the heat and humidity is unbearable. There didn't seem to be any decent restaurants or nightlife downtown, and we resorted to dining in a VIPS one night and getting sandwiches at the Soriana the next. The hotel itself was okay, if a bit dingy. The rooms were pleasant enough, in a generic Holiday Inn sort of way. They did give you a welcome drink, and there's a pool on the first floor (although only 3 pool chairs- ---?). The free parking is absolutely essential, since downtown is a bit chaotic and there didn't seem to be any street parking. They also have a small business center with two computers where you can check your e-mail. The price of 690 pesos (about $51) was quite reasonable. But they were more than a little shady about the reservation. When I had originally called to book the room, the lady gave me a price of 824 pesos. I was literally looking at their website at the same time, which had a special rate of 690 pesos for holiday weekends- when I asked about it, she said no no no, that doesn't apply. Suspecting a "gringo tax" being levied, I had my Mexican boyfriend make a reservation on their website the next day for the special price using his name- and lo and behold they confirmed for 690 pesos. Granted, paying an extra 10 dollars wouldn't have sent me to the poorhouse, but it was still shady and unwelcome.

In short, if you absolutely must stay in the gross downtown- this is the nicest most salubrious place. (I'm reminded of some joke about the being the prettiest girl in Akron?). But if you're not as budget-conscious (or if your company is paying), I'd definitely fork over a bit more and stay in the Quinta Real or the Camino Real out in the newer part of the city.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank briguy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2006

From the website and things I had read about the hotel, I was looking forward to a good experience. Not so.
Upon arrival, the reservation was handled well but not a very gracious reception staff. The gracious person was the bellman, who, of course, works for tips.
The room was a huge disappointment. Badly in need of updating because it appeared to be out of the 60's! The curtains would not close fully, one bedspread torn and the walls scuffed and badly in need of paint. And that is only the worst of it. Not much was right about the room!
The room also was very noisy from street music and traffic. Apparently no attempt at insulating this center city hotel.
The room was booked for two persons but had towels for one. After complaining three times to the front desk and once to a maid, I finally was brought one towel! And this when went down to the front desk and complained in person. The bad part was that the staff offered no apology and really acted annoyed and doubtful that I really needed towels!
I will give good marks to room service pricing, very reasonable and professional. One bright spot in a dismal stay!
I should note, that the hotel was booked directly because after three attempts at using the hotels website and two emails, I received no response. I sent email to the hotel management while there and received one not very apologetic response from the general manager, Sr. Diez. He stated that they were reviewing the replacement of bedspreads, curtains, etc.! I thought that was a routine replacement item at hotels!
Beware, not a 4 star as advertised but maybe a 2 star. I have received better 2 star accomodation at one third the price!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank RobertSDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Roberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo B, Gerente at Olmeca Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Juan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo B, Gerente at Olmeca Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
Thank MAGADANPONCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo B, Gerente at Olmeca Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: de preferencia elegir las ultimas de los pasillos
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mariasoledadvito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo B, Gerente at Olmeca Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Villahermosa hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Viva Villahermosa
Hotel Viva Villahermosa
#15 of 35 in Villahermosa
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mision Express Villahermosa
Mision Express Villahermosa
#11 of 35 in Villahermosa
239 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Maya tabasco
Hotel Maya tabasco
#23 of 35 in Villahermosa
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
City Express Villahermosa
City Express Villahermosa
#5 of 35 in Villahermosa
310 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plaza Independencia Hotel
Plaza Independencia Hotel
#25 of 35 in Villahermosa
69 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Miraflores
Hotel Miraflores
#21 of 35 in Villahermosa
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olmeca Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olmeca Plaza Hotel

Address: Madero Ave. Dowtown 418 | Historic Center, Villahermosa 86000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Tabasco > Villahermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Villahermosa
Price Range: $28 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Olmeca Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Olmeca Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olmeca Plaza Hotel Villahermosa, Tabasco, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing