We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Plaza Independencia Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$47
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
$56
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$26
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Venta Inn Hotel(Villahermosa)
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kolem Jaa(Villahermosa)
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveler rating
8
24
25
7
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
24
25
7
7
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 71 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stay at the plaza independencia in Villahermosa , Tabasco. Is well located, but only if you go in car. For a bus it will be very difficult to park. It is 2 blocks far to the Palace of the governor, and is close to docks.

Eventhough is not a new hotel, the rooms are clean and the service, in general is good. People is very kind. The only negative aspect was the elevator. Is old and slooow

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank certchih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Was not planning to stay at this location, but I happen to stumble upon it. It was in a great location right in the heart of the city. At one time it must have been one of the best hotels there. Now it is a little run down but the price is right and the staff was great-free breakfast included. We made friends with the hotel taxi driver who gave us lots of good information on were to eat and what was available. City traffic is horrendous-I suggest taxi service very inexpensive and lots available. Town was very safe at all hours.Rooms were clean and cozy-nothing fancy. Great location if you need to visit and don't want to pay the 4-5 star hotel price-use the addittional $ for siteseeing and food. Bring good shoes and lite clothing-very humid.

Room Tip: Tell front staff what you prefer-very accomodating.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apcaphoto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Room 302 has little insects all over the bed and between the sheets. We were too tired to complain and just fell asleep. No bites but it was off putting. Typical dated Mexican 3 star hotel with secure parking a block away. Very dated /tired decor but clean enough other than the infestation. Good shower, king size bed (room for more insects !) and moderately helpful staff. Room 302 is also next to the church bell which rings early. No problem for us as we were travelling early but could have been an issue otherwise

Room Tip: avoid insects and church bells
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bobtheguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

Now that we've travelled around, we know that Mexican hotels aren't really the most charming of places. This one is not different. It is an OK 3-star hotel, with parking, very close to the city centre which is not the most beautiful but certainly has a vibrant feeling to it that helps kill an hour or two. We liked walking around there and looking at the Mexicans enjoying themselves at the end of the day. Back to the hotel, the elevator has a really strange smell so we just took the stairs to avoid it. The room indeed had no window, so that upset me a bit, but in the end, we had a good night sleep. The real surprise was the very good breakfast buffet, best we encountered sofar!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank indegloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

This hotel was a real oasis for us. This is one busy and bustling city. The staff, except the front desk, were very accommodating. We hit it off with the restuarant staff and had great food and great service. We tipped generously and were rewarded with top notch service. Good food and a very quiet bar. The pool was closed during our stay and that is a good thing because it needed a good cleaning.

I love Villahermosa. It is not for everybody, but you can have everything in this grimy state capital. And I don't use grimy as a derogatory term. There is a definite charm to the place. I really like the open streets in the evening; lots of merchants, music, food and fun. It is walker friendly. Watch out for the traffic though, and the open holes in the roads and sidewalks. It ain't Vegas . . . it's better than that. The city has something for the upscale and the budget traveller. We were kind of in the middle so we enjoyed the Plaza Independencia because for the three of us 850 pesos was affordable. I go back in a heartbeat. We used Villehermosa as our base before we headed of to Chiapas

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KenJCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews