We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“guests was smoking on the 3th floor , no internet available”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plaza Independencia Hotel
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Villahermosa
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Dont be surprise if internet doesnt work and mattresses super hard ( 20 years old furniture in the room). Pros: hotel is cheap and have secure parking lot few blocks away. Guests was smoking on the 3th floor where was sign dont smoke. Hotel`s Restaurant cheap and food ok.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IIIHUNTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Plaza Independencia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 67 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stay at the plaza independencia in Villahermosa , Tabasco. Is well located, but only if you go in car. For a bus it will be very difficult to park. It is 2 blocks far to the Palace of the governor, and is close to docks.

Eventhough is not a new hotel, the rooms are clean and the service, in general is good. People is very kind. The only negative aspect was the elevator. Is old and slooow

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank certchih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Was not planning to stay at this location, but I happen to stumble upon it. It was in a great location right in the heart of the city. At one time it must have been one of the best hotels there. Now it is a little run down but the price is right and the staff was great-free breakfast included. We made friends with the hotel taxi driver who gave us lots of good information on were to eat and what was available. City traffic is horrendous-I suggest taxi service very inexpensive and lots available. Town was very safe at all hours.Rooms were clean and cozy-nothing fancy. Great location if you need to visit and don't want to pay the 4-5 star hotel price-use the addittional $ for siteseeing and food. Bring good shoes and lite clothing-very humid.

Room Tip: Tell front staff what you prefer-very accomodating.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apcaphoto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Room 302 has little insects all over the bed and between the sheets. We were too tired to complain and just fell asleep. No bites but it was off putting. Typical dated Mexican 3 star hotel with secure parking a block away. Very dated /tired decor but clean enough other than the infestation. Good shower, king size bed (room for more insects !) and moderately helpful staff. Room 302 is also next to the church bell which rings early. No problem for us as we were travelling early but could have been an issue otherwise

Room Tip: avoid insects and church bells
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bobtheguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

Now that we've travelled around, we know that Mexican hotels aren't really the most charming of places. This one is not different. It is an OK 3-star hotel, with parking, very close to the city centre which is not the most beautiful but certainly has a vibrant feeling to it that helps kill an hour or two. We liked walking around there and looking at the Mexicans enjoying themselves at the end of the day. Back to the hotel, the elevator has a really strange smell so we just took the stairs to avoid it. The room indeed had no window, so that upset me a bit, but in the end, we had a good night sleep. The real surprise was the very good breakfast buffet, best we encountered sofar!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank indegloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

This hotel was a real oasis for us. This is one busy and bustling city. The staff, except the front desk, were very accommodating. We hit it off with the restuarant staff and had great food and great service. We tipped generously and were rewarded with top notch service. Good food and a very quiet bar. The pool was closed during our stay and that is a good thing because it needed a good cleaning.

I love Villahermosa. It is not for everybody, but you can have everything in this grimy state capital. And I don't use grimy as a derogatory term. There is a definite charm to the place. I really like the open streets in the evening; lots of merchants, music, food and fun. It is walker friendly. Watch out for the traffic though, and the open holes in the roads and sidewalks. It ain't Vegas . . . it's better than that. The city has something for the upscale and the budget traveller. We were kind of in the middle so we enjoyed the Plaza Independencia because for the three of us 850 pesos was affordable. I go back in a heartbeat. We used Villehermosa as our base before we headed of to Chiapas

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KenJCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2008

We decided to begin our trip with a somewhat upscale hotel (for budget travellers) and chose this one because it had airconditioning. We asked for a quiet room and got that (at first). It was quiet because the window looked into the bottom of a ventillation shaft. So, yes there was no street noise, but neither was there light or air.

The room did come with a mini bar which we used as a fridge for our own food, so that was an unexpected bonus. Breakfast was included in the price of $670 pesos a night. It was a fantastic buffet deal with hot or cold food. Be warned that tips are not included as the rather rude older lady informed us on our third morning there. Oops, we made up for it that morning.

Our last night there was not a quiet one. A company of men were partying down the hall in the wee hours of the morning. My husband finally flew downstairs and demanded in his best bad Spanish for the desk clerk to do something about the noise. He was informed that they weren't able to take action until someone complained. Now, there is a sign behind the front desk stating that quiet hours begin at 11:00pm....... There seemed to be a lot of conventions and business meetings scheduled there so I imagine this goes on frequently.

In general, I don't think it was worth the money, but it was air conditioned and was off the main noisey streets. Oh yes, there was a bar associated with the hotel but it was mercifully under renovation and was closed.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IslandGrovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Villahermosa hotels
0.6 mi away
Choco's Hotel
Choco's Hotel
#29 of 35 in Villahermosa
26 reviews
0.3 mi away
Olmeca Plaza Hotel
Olmeca Plaza Hotel
#18 of 35 in Villahermosa
136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miraflores
Hotel Miraflores
#24 of 35 in Villahermosa
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mision Express Villahermosa
Mision Express Villahermosa
#9 of 35 in Villahermosa
216 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mia City Villahermosa
Mia City Villahermosa
#20 of 35 in Villahermosa
2 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Baez Carrizal
Hotel Baez Carrizal
#25 of 35 in Villahermosa
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Independencia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Independencia Hotel

Address: Independencia 123, Villahermosa 86000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Tabasco > Villahermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Villahermosa
Price Range: $25 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Independencia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Independencia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Independencia Hotel Villahermosa, Tabasco, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing