We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, Needs better service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Villahermosa
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Villahermosa
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good hotel, Needs better service”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here for a week as part of a business trip. Hotel is nice, modern, clean, does not smell like others in the area, excellent breakfast, cool pool and bar. Service could be better, check in process was hectic, and I could notice almost every day people complaining because their reservations got cancelled. House keeping was not consistent, one day the missed shower towels, next day they missed shampoo/conditioner, next day I had no hand towels. Rooms in second floor can be noisy as they host events at night in their ballrooms, during a week day I had to keep up with noise until nearly 2 AM.

Room Tip: Higher floors, as ballrooms and pool events can disturb you in lower floors. Parties can be hosted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sooner_orchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    124
    57
    23
    12
See reviews for
58
62
10
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

It's an ok hotel, rooms are a bit on the plain side but serviceable. Dining options are limited and will get old quickly if you don't go out to local restaurants frequently. The breakfast buffet is simply way below par, very limited selection. Not a place to make you want to stay an extra day or two.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Epic61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed here two nights as part of a guided tour, so I do not know how much it cost. But compared to the other places we saw in Mexico, this was quite nice. It had hot water, and significant water pressure. We didn't drink the water, but it is probably safe to do so. Rooms were big, beds comfortable, and since we were up on the 7th floor, no noise either.

We had dinner the first night at this hotel, and we ate breakfast twice at their buffet. Again, because we were on a guided tour, I don't know how much the food cost, but it certainly was plentiful and tasty.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Enyedy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2011

On our recent trip from our home in Belize to our home in Ontario I made a reservation at what I thought was the Hyatt Regency in Villahermosa, Mexico. On our arrival after a long and tiring road trip, we found that I had mistakenly made a reservation at another hotel. We knew we wanted to stay at the Hyatt because of a previous visit.

After explaining what had happened to the Manager, Piotr Grodzicki, he efficiently and very pleasantly contacted the other hotel, arranged for a late cancellation at no charge to us, and gave us a room in his hotel at a very reasonable rate. Our stay was marked by absolutely fantastic service. All the staff members we interacted with could not have been more efficient, accomodating and friendly. Our room was immaculate and very attractive. We enjoyed our dinner the evening we arrived and breakfast the next morning at the hotel's restaurant. Both meals were very well prepared and the service flawless. Several times during our stay we were asked if there was anything further that could be done to ensure a pleasnt stay. Our response was consistently negative, as our needs and wants were abundantly provided for. I have no hesitancy in recommending this superbly managed and staffed hotel. We will return there when we next visit Villahermosa.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2010

We stayed here on our last night in Mexico – in need of a bit of luxury – we found it here. The rooms were clean, upscale with a great bed and fabulous bathroom. Service was very good. We ordered a light supper to our room, and it was quick and delicious. We also had Sunday Brunch at the main restaurant – which was great, with a lot of options including 4 or 5 kinds of exotic juices – cactus leaf juice for example. The hotel is located very close to a large park and the Parque Museo la Venta which has interesting Olmec heads. The rate we got was very reasonable (about $100 USD per room), but be aware that food costs are pretty high for the area, although the food was upscale and good. Overall, I would really recommend this hotel if you are looking for comfort and service.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2009

Okay I know this can start off as sounding fake, but it's not. I am not one to believe in ghosts but the experience I had at this hotel was anything other than ordinary.

Let me tell you about my experiences from staying in Room 101 at this hotel. The night I checked in, I had a series of events which led me to believe there was paranormal activity in my room. Here goes.....

1) After checking in, dropping my bags off, I noticed my alarm clock was facing sort of away from the bed. I left the room for a few hours, I returned, then it was facing towards the bed. Okay, no biggie, this could have been room cleaning or room service, I don't know, but it was just something I noticed.

2) After dinner, I was getting ready for bed, taking luggage off of my bed, and then when I went to pick up my laptop case, one of the straps was unhooked. This has never unhooked before in my life. Okay, still, continued to think nothing of it, and thought it could just be a freak accident.

3) Got ready for bed, got into my night clothes, right before I turned off the lights, I had an uneasy feeling, but went ahead anyways and proceeded to bed. I was restless, tossing, and turning, then I heard my water bottle get slightly squeezed as if someone was holding a grip on it, but just slightly, call it a pinch, it was'nt a death grip but it was loud enough for me to turn on the lights and look around.

4) Nothing was there, then I turned off the lights and went back to bed. I tried forcing myself to go to bed, and right before I was dozing off, I heard a tapping sound (Not Joking!!!!) like on a hard surface, from within the room. I could tell this was not from the ceiling or the walls, but within the room itself. I heard approximately about 5 or 6 taps. This scared the heck out of me and I thought to myself, what am I going to tell the guy at the reception, he is not going to believe me if I told him I thought it was a ghost. So therefore, I decided to go to bed again, and tried forcing myself to sleep.

5) Then after a few minutes, I heard the TV getting squeezed as if someone took placed their hand on top of it and pressed down firmly. I didn't think much of it but it just added to my paranoia considering I never turned on the TV the entire day.

6) Then, I heard more tapping noises exactly the same I heard prior to hearing the TV getting squeezed. The same number of taps and the same type of taps from within the room. So, this became the breaking point for me and I decided to get my clothes on and on my way out, I did not notice any puddles of water on the ground. Then, after requesting a room change and walking back to the room to retrieve my items, I noticed a one square foot of puddle of water on the ground, which I nearly slipped on. Then I looked up and didn't notice any leaks of any sort. I even reached the ceiling, it's a short ceiling, and did not notice any water or dampness anywhere.....!!!

I did then receive a new room and everything with that room appeared okay.

7) This is foreshadowing but upon talking with the reception desk agent, he mentioned to me that sometimes he saw moving dark shadows within dark hallways when he works the night shift. He also mentioned that he sometimes saw a white figure in the lobby but he did not elaborate any further, but he says he tries to convince himself that it is not what it appears to be.

So, all in all, I don't think I will be returning to room 101. I would go back to the hotel if I have no other choice since that is where my company puts me up when we do business there, however will not stay in 101. Otherwise, I thought the hotel was nice and decent for the price.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank worldsport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for one and a half month on a business trip. The mattresses are very hard. It is like sleep on the floor. We stayed so long there because they gave us a big room (suite) with Jacuzzi, two sinks, shower, two TV’s, etc and access to the Regency Club. You have free food and drinks if you have access to this area. They wanted us to stay there so they put more blankets underneath of the sheet so it felt less hard. The people are so nice, specially the guys at the regency Club (Fernando and Dafne). They talk to you and try to help you to find your way around. The hotel is well located you are closed to the mall, downtown, Museo la Venta. On the Paseo Tabasco street, close to Hyatt, you have different restaurants. I recommend one called Etruzco, this is an Italian restaurant, good food, good service and good price as well. This was the good part, now the bad part. They knock the door once, if you don’t open the door really quick they just let themselves in, sometimes they don’t even knock the door. The hotel smells really bad sometimes. The swimming pool looks dirty and it is very slippery. Don’t ask for room service at night the food is horrible.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — mattress
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank analista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Villahermosa hotels
8.2 mi away
Hilton Villahermosa & Conference Center
0.6 mi away
Marriott Villahermosa Hotel
Marriott Villahermosa Hotel
#2 of 35 in Villahermosa
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fiesta Inn Villahermosa Cencali
Fiesta Inn Villahermosa Cencali
#10 of 35 in Villahermosa
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Villahermosa
1.2 mi away
Quinta Real Villahermosa
Quinta Real Villahermosa
#15 of 35 in Villahermosa
184 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Villahermosa
Crowne Plaza Hotel Villahermosa
#17 of 35 in Villahermosa
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Villahermosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Villahermosa

Property: Hyatt Regency Villahermosa
Address: Avenida Juarez 106 | Col Lindavista, Villahermosa 86050, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Tabasco > Villahermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Villahermosa
#3 Spa Hotel in Villahermosa
#5 Business Hotel in Villahermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Villahermosa 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Villahermosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Villahermosa
Hyatt Regency Villahermosa Tabasco, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing