We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“February 2014”
Review of La Venta Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Venta Inn Hotel
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Villahermosa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Good breakfast buffet. Unfortunately the Park right across the street was closed until one week after our visit!
We took a bus to Comalcalco for a cacao Hacienda tour and the fantastic Archeological site. Ran into an American "star' with a huge security escort there. Did not recognise him...I suspec t they were scouting a location.
The Hotll staff are definitely spanish speaking...but hey...this is Mexico right? we were fairly bilingual so this was not an issue. I will try posting some pics.

Room Tip: On a busy street, but no room noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillinMidMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
832Gerencia832, Gerente at La Venta Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por sus valiosos comentarios. Capacitaremos a nuestro personal para que mejore su conversación en Ingles y otros idiomas. saludos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 136 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

We booked this hotel because it is located near the Venta Museum park. We were only staying for one night wanted to visit the museum in the morning and leave afterwards. Unfortunately the museum was closed. But of course we can’t blame the hotel for this. Therefore it would have been a good choice if the museum had been open. The hotel was clean, but it is very noisy. In the room, which was on the second floor a fair bit down the hall, you could still hear the receptionists talking on the phone and every other noise in the hallway. The airco and the music in the restaurant were very high so breakfast was not really very pleasant.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corbinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

we stayed here for one night after Palenque before flying to Mexico City. Overall, the hotel is very clean and pleasant. The room was quite modern and spacious.

There is one 'but' though...We've had a rather unpleasant dealing with the front desk person. As I was running short on cash, I asked him how much would be the ride to the airport. He quoted 200MX. I proposed to him to charge my card 300MX (just to have an extra change in my pocket to be on the safe side). He responded that they charge an additional fee (I think it was 10% more) to charge an additional amount to the hotel charge. After thinking a bit, we told him to charge us only 200 pesos. He recalculated the total and charged the card, and the sum on the receipt seemed a bit high to me. After a quick look, I saw that he still charged us 300 pesos but obviously had no intention of giving us that 100MX back. After confronting him, he admitted that he charged 300 more and gave us back 100. This definitely left a bad taste in my mouth - 100MX is not a huge sum, but it was still an unpleasant experience when someone blatantly tries to take advantage of you.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I booked this place after two weeks of being "in the field" and getting some kind of food poisoning, thus requiring me to find a doctor in Villa. The place was a real treat. As for the medical issue, there was a doctor who made a house call very promptly and charged me $500 mxn. That is more than you will pay if you go to the doctor but I was not in shape to leave the room. The rooms are big and clean. They are nicely appointed with a desk, a lounge chair and in my case a king size bed. The bathroom was also reasonably attractive and very clean. The room came with a breakfast buffet which was quite a lot of food - eggs, beans, platanos, tamales, yogurt (including plain but it is still sweet like most plain yogurt in Mexico), fruit, cereals, fresh juices and coffee and tea. The only inconveniences are that the hotel restaurant does not serve lunch and dinner and the "room service" options are Pizza Hut, Dominos and Applebee's (I don't even eat at these places in the states). Also, I came back from working one day to find that the room still had not been cleaned at 4pm. This was only a little annoying but I did expect to be able to put my feet up and relax right away. The internet connection is strong. There is a hairdryer and iron in the room but no coffee maker. I would say it is a bit overpriced but all the hotels in Villa seem pretty expensive.

Room Tip: This hotel is on the main highway coming into Villa so a room on the top floors (4 or 5) is much bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ragini S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Simply booked thru booking and paid an amazing equivalent of 77 USD inclusive of breakfast and all taxes.

We like:
EVERYTHINH you may need is here. Very large, modern and clean room. SUPA soft bed for an immediate and deep sleep. Enough furniture. Enough lighting. Nice shower with enough amenities. A complete desperate-housewife dressing room including iron and ironing table. A large 15' laptop fit safe. A decent breakfast scene. Free wifi for as many laps. Polite and efficient staff. Free parking. AND A HUGE 50'OVER FLATCREEN TV in front of the bed.

We did not like:
The same huge 50'over flatcreen TV our 2 neighbours also have on either side of our room... Once settled, you'll hear coming and going people walking on marble floor from the corridor, you'll also hear happy people chatting and wishing good night to each other while walking, you'll hear wheeping and shouting desperate actors from a Mexican (or whatever) drama on one side of the room, and the late night news from the other side, flushing toilets and rainshower of course. Our poor left neighbour caught cold and coughed all night. It was like he was sleeping right beside us.

All in all:
This excellent business hotel has it all, and the youth hostel atmosphere will bring good memories to some of us ! This did not prevent us from browsing the net while listening to the news from the next room, then sleep like pigs til morning come.

Tips :
This hotel is situated EXACTLY in front of La Venta parc, across the alarming never-ever ending trafic 8 lane carretera Ruiz Cortinez. Gracias a dios, there are 2 peatones crossing above it. If you come from the airport with your own car, then it is on the right, as you enter the city. Simply. Also 3 leading restaurants 500 m away, call them McDa, PizHut and AppleBees.

Room Tip: Rooms without neighbours are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BEEPfromPARIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The installations are newer and before today there were no complaints. I'm not sure if they have changed manager and new personnel. Please, beware your safety and privacy can be seriously compromised if you stay at La Venta inn, Villahermosa Tabasco, Mexico. Yes, in Mexico where violence is a major concern and you want to believe that you have taken all possible traveling safety measures; this hotel can do you not favor. They can enter your room even if your "not enter " or "privacy" sing is on, the excuse will be cleaning service even if you have asked not daily cleaning service or else. They will not call you and let you know their intentions.... they will enter your room when you are not there and at any time for unknown reasons..... accessing your room at 7:45 pm - 8:00 pm evening for a cleaning service you never asked. This Hotel has not regard for your privacy or security and they will never acknowledge that their business practice can put their guess’s safety and privacy at risk. This happened to us there on Sep 16/2012. We ( my husband & I ) left the room around 7:45 pm on a Sunday night to go to eat ( to buy something to eat, should I say ) We came back no later than 20 minutes pass 8: 00 pm. To our surprise they have entered our room even though the "privacy” sign was placed. I called the receptionist and she said that yes, they have accessed the room for cleaning service. I told her we asked not to do the room I asked why cleaning has to be done at night. She said they can do so. I asked why they didn't call while we were in the room. Why they waited for us to leave? I asked for the manager and she said he will be the next day only, not apologies and not regards for our concerns. ID theft, kidnapping all kind of bad things went through my mind so I went directly to the reception desk, to have the name of the person that entered our room, their explanation and supervisor's name. Wired enough, he manager was there with no explanation whatsoever for such a business practice and gross invasion of privacy. We are still wondering what was all this about? If anything happens to us while we are here, or there, any ID theft, please make no mistake it is related to this weird incident at La Venta inn, manager and its employees.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank IIIHUNTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las plantas superiores son muchomas tranquilas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANGIEDESOTELO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Villahermosa hotels
1.1 mi away
City Express Villahermosa
City Express Villahermosa
#4 of 35 in Villahermosa
306 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mision Express Villahermosa
Mision Express Villahermosa
#9 of 35 in Villahermosa
224 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hilton Villahermosa & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viva Villahermosa
Hotel Viva Villahermosa
#16 of 35 in Villahermosa
178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fiesta Inn Villahermosa Cencali
Fiesta Inn Villahermosa Cencali
#10 of 35 in Villahermosa
186 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Villahermosa Tabasco Mexico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Venta Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Venta Inn Hotel

Address: Av. Aldolfo Ruiz Cortines 1110, Col. Oropeza, Villahermosa, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Tabasco > Villahermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Villahermosa
Price Range: $41 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Venta Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your La Venta Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Venta Inn Hotel Villahermosa, Tabasco, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing