We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Daly Waters Pub
Ranked #1 of 1 Daly Waters B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Unique”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Definitely a place to stop in and see and try to plan a meal around it, however, not worth the lodging. First off you pay incrementally more to get a bigger room with more beds, but then they still charge you to put anymore than two people in a room. So we paid more money to have a cabin with a double bed and bunk beds, and then paid an additional $50 ($25 per child) for my kids (2 and 4) to sleep in the room. $130 for the night in a cabin would have been fine, but to pay $180 was over priced, and yes I know it's the outback. They are one of the few places that offers a %10 military discount which was a welcomed adjustment to their prices. A Cabin was clean and air conditioning worked. Pool was dirty, but still refreshing. Pub was full of charm, and this is the main reason people stop here. I had the beef and barra which cost me $36. Fish was cooked ok, beef slightly undercooked and fatty, not worth $36 anywhere. My wife had the barra burger which was nicely priced at $15 and looked really good. Chicken nuggets for the kids was processed, but the kids fish and chip order was fresh and a large size. Kids got a free paddle pop post dinner and the beer was cold. Over all decent experience. Moral of the story, don't tell them you have kids and stick to ordering basic burgers. I will stop in here again for a meal but won't stay the night.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dalywaterspub, Owner at The Daly Waters Pub, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review us we appreciate all feedback as it assists us in planning ahead and striving for excellence.
We have various styles of accommodation Deluxe 2 bedroom (all prices are on occupancy of 2) $170.00 1 room cabins $130.00. Motel $95.00 Budget pub rooms $70.00 Like any other hotel there is an additional $25.00 charge for each extra person using a bed (above the rate for 2 people) If a bed is slept in sheets need to be changed, additional electricity and water and staff need to be paid.
As the names would indicate each style has certain facilities For eg.The deluxe have a TV and DVD player in each room, a budget pub room does not, thus the variation in price. The pool currently has black spot which is very difficult to remove The pool is cleaned daily and water quality measured. The beef and barra is $32.00 not $36.00 We are one of the few on the track that offer a defence discount and have done for quite sometime. I believe you will find our prices are comparative to other establishments along the track and we offer value for $. Once again thanks for taking the time to review and we look forward to seeing you in the future. If I can be of any further assistance don't hesitate to contact us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    130
    40
    14
    12
See reviews for
64
152
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Smithers, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

It's a dry season good time. We arrived in the wet so it was a little slow. Good facilities, cool atmosphere, all in all a pretty good deal. A average camp ground with an average bar. If you want a unique outback bar experience here's the place to go.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Webeetravllingmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

If you're passing by, most sure you drop in, it's hysterical, you need a great sense of humour to go there, otherwise camp elsewhere. It's a great place for a one-night stopover and the beef and barra is a lovely meal. The entertainment was very fitting for the place. The memorabilia is amazing. It's changed a lot in 14 years, dont change it too much, it will lose it's character. On my first visit 16 years ago, you just found a plot, parked your van, strung a power lead across any direction to a power point, went for a meal, hung your bra on the ceiling, wrote on the walls. Leave it alone and if you want 5 stars dont travel in the outback.

Room Tip: Go for a fun time, dont expect 5 stars, you are in the outback.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Daly Waters Pub out of necessity, not able to make it home to Katherine from a Borroloola work trip. The staff seemed apologetic that only pub rooms were available but they seemed perfectly nice to me. Cheap, neat, clean and with some nice touches to preserve the historic building and flaunt the cheeky country character. Woulda been nice to have the fan over the bed, but that's just because i've got too used to hardcore aircon. Nothing was missed - even the table in the shared kitchen had a lovely lace cover.

Dinner was fantastic, the signature beef n barra and salad bar was so fresh and tasty, i didn't expect that. I got excited seeing cocktail ingredients but alas no joy. I guess it's a pub so why expect that. Similarly it's a detraction to have backpackers serving but there's probably no alternative, and in a way the add to the multitude of characters in the place.

The overall feeling of staying at the Daly Waters Pub is of stepping into another world, of country life, a beautiful countryside, interesting folks and cheeky banter. I feel like this experience will stay with me. I'd love to come back.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank tuneless_lunacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dalywaterspub, Owner at The Daly Waters Pub, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. Your comments were very encouraging. It is great to receive some positive feedback and makes all the effort seem so well worth it. It is difficult to entice young Australians to come and work here as there is little for them to do. Backpackers are looking to experience the outback and save for the next leg of their travels. We do have 8 Aussies working here at the moment. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

A must stop when nearby. Friendly bar Staff, iconic pub with walls plastered with everything possible, great food, cold beer. Motel room I stayed in was a bit dated but it was cheap and clean, however the walls offered no protection from the sounds of the visitors in the next room who were up and about at about 5AM

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dalywaterspub, Owner at The Daly Waters Pub, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Great comments thank you very much it is very encouraging to get positive feedback. We are aware of the sound problem and have been investigating ways of overcoming it. As you say they are a bit dated but as we have gone along we have been adding alternative accommodation such as the 1 room and 2 bedroom cabins. We greatly appreciate your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

This place has it all: the memorabilia on the walls, Irish barmaids, good food, a guy that sings with a chicken on his head…
Well he wasn't here the night we stayed, but I hear he puts on a show.
The accommodation is cheap, clean and comfy. The good is great. The atmosphere is like nothing you've ever seen. Stay for a night, or sit at the bar and read all the drivers licences you can find.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DJHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimboola, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

What a sensational experience! Definitely going back for a further visit and enjoy all that is Daly Waters Pub. great staff, great food and a campsite which is what we expected....no soft grass, no busy roads, outback amenities all leading to an excellent outback experience. You MUST visit the Daly Waters Pub for the night!

Room Tip: Just take whatever you can...you will not be disappointed...its not a Hilton or Mecure....Its the Da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonAndJulie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Daly Waters Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daly Waters Pub

Property: The Daly Waters Pub
Address: Stuart St, Daly Waters, Northern Territory 0852, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Daly Waters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Daly Waters
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic multi-award winning Daly Waters Pub is an iconic Australian outback pub. There are a variety of accommodation styles to select for your stay ranging from deluxe 2 bedroom cabins to backpacker dorms. All accommodation is air-conditioned with linen supplied. The pub is 600 kms south of Darwin, 290 kms south of Katherine and 900 kms north of Alice Springs. It is a welcome stop for weary travellers with meals available from 7.00 am til 8.30 pm. There are 6 beers on tap and an extensive selection of wines. During the Dry Season (May - October) there is free entertainment nightly. There is a shady caravan park with powered and unpowered sites. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing