We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST STOP!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Daly Waters
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Daly Waters Pub
Ranked #1 of 1 Daly Waters B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2013

What a sensational experience! Definitely going back for a further visit and enjoy all that is Daly Waters Pub. great staff, great food and a campsite which is what we expected....no soft grass, no busy roads, outback amenities all leading to an excellent outback experience. You MUST visit the Daly Waters Pub for the night!

Room Tip: Just take whatever you can...you will not be disappointed...its not a Hilton or Mecure....Its the Da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonAndJulie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 370 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

Whenever we head south on a road trip, usually around the start of the wet season, we make a point of staying at the Daly Waters Pub -- and we call in again on our return for a scrumptious meal, a drink and a good (albeit short) night's sleep. Great great people, great atmosphere, love the Bougainvillea, traffic light, servo...and the cabins!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TopEndExplorerTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I was really exicited to be visting and spending a night here and though we didn't have a bad time we did leave feeling like we'd missed something.

The website promises nightly entertainment and we'd heard the same from fellow travellers - when I asked what time it started they told me the ipod would be on from 4.30!

The site talks about competitively priced fuel - it was 11c per Litre higher than the roadhouse 1 min further down the Stuart highway.

They charged me for kids to stay despite the website saying anyone under 16 is free - NB. they had no problem refunding the money after I'd checked on this, but I'd rather have not had to ask for the money back.

There were signs everywhere promising new facilities back in July/Aug alas they had not arrived and the units currently in place left a lot to be desired.

We enjoyed a look aroudn the pub and the Beef and Barra was good, but some of the other meals for the familly fell a little flat.

Before arriving we had been a little concerned about some of the online comments about thefts and trouble - our experience was that as the park filled it was mostly couples and families and I felt fine about being there.

All in all we didn't have a bad experience here but were definitely deflated and felt after making the trip that we'd missed out on the promise of something special - which it wasnt!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dalywaterspub, Owner at The Daly Waters Pub, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Firstly, Thank you for taking the time to review our business we appreciate your time and effort. My biggest advice for tourists is before you leave home have a look on a map and see where places are. There has never, in the 14 years I have been here. been an issue with theft. There are other similar named places which may have these issues but they are 500kms from here.
Our website clearly says entertainment from April til mid September Chilli left at the end of August his mum passed away. Col the 2nd entertainer played until the 21st of September.
Yes, children. under 16 are free the young girl who served you confused the accommodation rates and the park she actually came and spoke to me afterwards. There are not may parks who do not charge for children
The new park facilities are actually in place they are down towards the bough shed and have been there since August but as you can see we are 600kms from a major center we are waiting on the local government departments to hook them up. To give you an idea on how well we are serviced out here I have waited 3 weeks for a refrigeration mechanic to replace older air- conditioners. I'm sorry if we did not meet your expectations but sometimes it is good to speak directly to management and hear their side of the story and be a little more aware of the impact our isolation has on operating a business in the outback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

What a great place - so much history. Great chips - and cold cold Guinness. Amazing in the middle of no where. Nearly missed the bus on to Alice. Actually wished I'd stayed the night - would have been fun. What more can one say.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

A wonderful pub experience in the outback. The pub is excellent ... so much effort has gone into the interior decoration (a collection of donated personal effects that must have taken a decade to accumulate). The caravan park is basis but ok for where Daly Waters is located, which is in the middle of nowhere.

If towing a van be warned that you can not connect to water, well that's what we were told by the less than friendly groundsman when he showed us where to park. (I hope he was having a grumpy day because if that is normal he needs a holiday or change of career).

Facilities were clean and worked fine. The pool was a fabulous surprise for the kids and the food and entertainment were excellent. Cold beer on tap.

All-round a definite must visit place if travelling thru the region.

Room Tip: First in best dressed so consider an early arvo arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TackyMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

The caretaker that welcomed us was the rudest and most unwelcoming man I've come across yet and we weren't the only people to say that, if it wasn't for the girls behind the bar we would've left! So considering we spent a minimum of $200 there I was disappointed about the initial welcome. The pub itself had a great atmosphere and the girls that worked there were really nice and looked after our 5 year old with great skill, fantastic to see. The meal was nice and the pool was perfect to cool off in. I will admit that next time if they have the same caretaker there I will go to Mataranka thermal pools.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Nik888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dalywaterspub, Owner at The Daly Waters Pub, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review We appreciate your comments and where necessary can act on them. It helps us grow. We are very sorry & disappointed that this has happened as it is not part of our philosophy. We pride ourselves in treating everyone with courtesy and respect. I'm just sorry that you didn't bring it to our attention whilst you were here. The matter has been dealt with & hopefully will not happen again. Our apologies once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We camped here for 2 nights and enjoyed the wonderful atmosphere each night in the pub. The food was really good, a real Aussie back yard BBQ on a huge scale.
The entertainment goes on from about 4pm till 9pm, it is unique, country music, fun, sing along, comedy etc. Everyone joins in and even the kids were having a ball dancing. The camp site is packed, they must be doing something right.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blewwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Daly Waters Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daly Waters Pub

Address: Stuart St, Daly Waters, Northern Territory 0852, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Daly Waters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Daly Waters
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic multi-award winning Daly Waters Pub is an iconic Australian outback pub. There are a variety of accommodation styles to select for your stay ranging from deluxe 2 bedroom cabins to backpacker dorms. All accommodation is air-conditioned with linen supplied. The pub is 600 kms south of Darwin, 290 kms south of Katherine and 900 kms north of Alice Springs. It is a welcome stop for weary travellers with meals available from 7.00 am til 8.30 pm. There are 6 beers on tap and an extensive selection of wines. During the Dry Season (May - October) there is free entertainment nightly. There is a shady caravan park with powered and unpowered sites. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing