We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub was good”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Daly Waters
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Daly Waters Pub
Ranked #1 of 1 Daly Waters B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

The caretaker that welcomed us was the rudest and most unwelcoming man I've come across yet and we weren't the only people to say that, if it wasn't for the girls behind the bar we would've left! So considering we spent a minimum of $200 there I was disappointed about the initial welcome. The pub itself had a great atmosphere and the girls that worked there were really nice and looked after our 5 year old with great skill, fantastic to see. The meal was nice and the pool was perfect to cool off in. I will admit that next time if they have the same caretaker there I will go to Mataranka thermal pools.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Nik888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dalywaterspub, Owner at The Daly Waters Pub, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review We appreciate your comments and where necessary can act on them. It helps us grow. We are very sorry & disappointed that this has happened as it is not part of our philosophy. We pride ourselves in treating everyone with courtesy and respect. I'm just sorry that you didn't bring it to our attention whilst you were here. The matter has been dealt with & hopefully will not happen again. Our apologies once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 373 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

We camped here for 2 nights and enjoyed the wonderful atmosphere each night in the pub. The food was really good, a real Aussie back yard BBQ on a huge scale.
The entertainment goes on from about 4pm till 9pm, it is unique, country music, fun, sing along, comedy etc. Everyone joins in and even the kids were having a ball dancing. The camp site is packed, they must be doing something right.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blewwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

When we got there we were told we could not put up our awning. They then packed us in like sardines with no personal space around our caravan. The people beside us were travelling in a group and because of the close proximity I felt an intruder just sitting outside our caravan. We went for the meal & show - which because of the monopoly that is all you could do. Show fantastic - but considering they don't pay for the show and all the performers earn is from us - felt like these people were being taken advantage of!!!! Felt like it all was just a money making exercise from the pub with no thought for us or the performers. Meal was good - but if you are happy with this status quo - go - but I was not -& feel like the pub needs to re-think how they treat their patrons!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dalywaterspub, Owner at The Daly Waters Pub, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for your response we appreciate your time. It does get a little cramped but as part of our ongoing plans we are trying to alleviate the situation. Right at this very moment we are about to start relocating power as to allow more space and all so installing new ablution blocks. The problem with the power is that a lot was installed in the 80s and did not allow for growth the first stage has been completed with the installation of sites at the top end of the park. I really don't understand how you can comment on the arrangements we have with the entertainers somethings are said tongue in cheek. Have you sighted the agreements we have with them. As for money making yes we are in business and have poured a lot of money back into it and will continue to do so to improve facilities and comfort for our patrons but this cannot be achieved overnight and in the 14 years we have been here we have made huge steps in that direction. I have photos that highlight this clearly. Enjoy the rest of your travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I'm pleased that Daly Waters pub stays the same. It was our third time there, enjoyed the atmosphere, barramundi meal and the entertainment. At $10 per adult a night in the van park, it's good value. The meal is $28, with happy hour at 4.30pm.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank ozpammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Fantastic stay, the whole family had a fantastic time. The beef and barra on the bbq is highly recommended. Dave Chille's show was bonza with a lot of typical Aussie larrikinism. The deluxe cabin is a huge thumbs up. We are looking forward to when we can return to Daly Waters Pub to stay when the rodeo is on

Room Tip: The deluxe cabin is very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielRhiannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here in October 2012 after we had read about it in Bill Bryson's 'Down Under'.

It's literally in the middle of nowhere and you have to drive off the main highway to get there but that's part of the fun. Arrived late afternoon and found our site in the campsite. Campsite is dusty and not much to it but we didn't plan to spend time in it other than to sleep and the toilets and showers were clean.

The pub is weird and wonderful with every spare inch covered in items of clothes, hats, licence plates, ID badges, photos etc from visitors. The bar staff were great fun, chatty and friendly (still in touch with one of them) and made us very welcome. We had surf and turf from the BBQ (barramundi and steak) with as much as you could eat salad which was really good and very filling! We had lots of cold beer and by the end of the night had made friends with the Women Posties who were travelling around Oz on motorbikes and the Barra Boys from Victoria who were on a fishing trip.

Great fun, unique experience and loved every minute of it!

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Although a little contrived it was certainly a great experience. The night started with ‘Col’ a local singer/songwriter and his accompanying 5 piece county western band playing from 4.30 pm for an hour and a half, followed by another musician ‘Steve Still Rocking’ playing cover songs from the 60s, 70s and 80s for about another hour and a half. This was then followed at 7.30 pm by ‘Chilli’ musician, comedian and raconteur. We ate our meals of barramundi and steak (surf n turf) with salad while listening to Chilli. It was a very enjoyable night and something we had not anticipated in such a remote locality.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greggie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Daly Waters Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daly Waters Pub

Address: Stuart St, Daly Waters, Northern Territory 0852, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Daly Waters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Daly Waters
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic multi-award winning Daly Waters Pub is an iconic Australian outback pub. There are a variety of accommodation styles to select for your stay ranging from deluxe 2 bedroom cabins to backpacker dorms. All accommodation is air-conditioned with linen supplied. The pub is 600 kms south of Darwin, 290 kms south of Katherine and 900 kms north of Alice Springs. It is a welcome stop for weary travellers with meals available from 7.00 am til 8.30 pm. There are 6 beers on tap and an extensive selection of wines. During the Dry Season (May - October) there is free entertainment nightly. There is a shady caravan park with powered and unpowered sites. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing