We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Great Fun had by all!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Daly Waters
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Daly Waters Pub
Ranked #1 of 1 Daly Waters B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Me and my husband stayed at Daly Waters pub in May this year (2013). The food served was exceptional, (from the menu in the pub) with nice large servings and great flavours.
We stayed in a lovely clean deluxe cabin which was reasonably priced and very comfortable.
The only negative was who we assume to be one of the managers. We were having a very interesting chat with one of the chaps behind the bar when a blonde haired Irish sounding girl came and barked at him to 'get on with his work' mid conversation. We understand it gets busy in there but we felt it was embarrassing for all parties and the staff seemed really on edge afterwards.
Overall a great place, just need to relax a little!!

Room Tip: Choose the Deluxe Cabins for a real treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynnBarry367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 376 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

The show at the adjoining pub is brilliant, comprising jokes, songs, verse and slides. It is free and you have the option of buying a specific meal or paying $28 for a good barra/ steak with salad. The show is NOT suitable for children, because the swearing.

As for the caravan park, it was NOT great. We were guided to a site by a grumpy guide who told us we would not have room to put up our awning! It was early afternoon and sunny! Pairs of caravans with their towing vehicles were placed together in long lines (like the capital letter I) and each of the these lines were only 4-6 feet (way less than 2 metres apart). Imagine lots of close letter Is, as in a car park. There was no tap to each site, no sullage, no toilet dump and ONLY one outdoor washing machine that had to be used after 2.00 pm! Hence I could not use my van's machine or get access to the park's. i didn't use our own shower because we were so close to others without sullage. The ammenities were very basic and all on one side of the park and there was lots of dust.

I will never stay at this park again and strongly advise that before you pay, you ensure you will not be jammed in the centre of the park. I have never experienced anything like it, in about 8 years of travelling.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank DawnMarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were travelling in a camper van and had been warned by friends to arrive by early afternoon in order to be sure of a place. You can't pre-book a powered site. This place is just so popular. We arrived at lunchtime, booked in $12 each for the night, that includes basic, but very clean,facilities. Tin sheds that have a wash basin, toilet and shower with plentiful hot water. I never had to wait for a shower. We booked the food on arrival, a choice of Beef or Barra, or a mixture of them both. My partner chose the mixture, I had the steak. It was out of this world. The total bill, including the 2 x $12 came to $80. Money well spent. Entertainment throughout the evening made for a very relaxed night. If driving up through the NT I would definitely go again. No-one should miss it. Lots of memorabilia to photo. Interesting museum across the road...and Stuart's tree(complete with S) a 1km walk away from the campsite.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed on two seperate occasions early this year and the new cabins are great. (stayed in older cabin couple years ago to) Nice and new, clean and comfortable. The pub is of course a tourist attraction in itself but the historic airfeild and hanger down the road is worth a look to. Good meals at the pub and drinks. Cant really cook in these cabins but the pub has your meals covered anyway. best place to stop on travelling the stuart highway...

Room Tip: Stay in the new cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dalytravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We enjoyed our experience at the pub, staying in the campground which is very basic but we expected that. Happy hour at the pub was good fun with a singer/guitar player, then we enjoyed the beef and barra barbecue - you book and pay for it when you arrive at the campground, and they have about 3 sittings. They call your name when it's ready, and you help yourself to the salad bar - the beef and barramundi were cooked perfectly. After dinner there was more entertainment in the form of a comedian/singer called Chilli, and he performed for about 2 hours, really good fun! Our waiter Joe was very friendly and helpful, he even helped me organise a present of merchandise for my husband's birthday. The prices for decent house wine were very reasonable. Another tick on the bucket list!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank sandrapeter63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Best value since leaving Caloundra! Clean, friendly, good value & will visit again! Bathroom is new in room 1. No smells & air con perfect. My steak sandwich was delicious & the atmosphere great especially for families :-)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susieu27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This my fourth visit to Daly Waters Pub, this time took my partner for his first visit. It's old, remote and eccentric to say the least but well worth the detour of the highway. Previously visited in high season but came through earlier this time on way to Darwin in April. Still quite a few campers here. We stayed in campground on a power site. There are several single ensuite toilet/shower blocks which are basic but clean. They have cabins which look fine from outside. Their nightly beef and barra was delicious as usual. There is a small museum across the road worth the look if interested in local history. Apparently Daly Waters was Australia's first international airport. Always worth a visit when driving by.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank kimleyCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Daly Waters Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daly Waters Pub

Address: Stuart St, Daly Waters, Northern Territory 0852, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Daly Waters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Daly Waters
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic multi-award winning Daly Waters Pub is an iconic Australian outback pub. There are a variety of accommodation styles to select for your stay ranging from deluxe 2 bedroom cabins to backpacker dorms. All accommodation is air-conditioned with linen supplied. The pub is 600 kms south of Darwin, 290 kms south of Katherine and 900 kms north of Alice Springs. It is a welcome stop for weary travellers with meals available from 7.00 am til 8.30 pm. There are 6 beers on tap and an extensive selection of wines. During the Dry Season (May - October) there is free entertainment nightly. There is a shady caravan park with powered and unpowered sites. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing