We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Daly Waters Pub
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Daly Waters
See available hotels
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveler rating
168
142
46
17
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
168
142
46
17
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscaravan parkdaly waters pubbeer gardenstuart highwaydeluxe cabinbeer was coldgreat stopovertourist seasoncamp groundthe main highwayalice springsinteresting placeremote locationovernight stayfun nightone man bandcountry music
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
339 - 344 of 387 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stopped here for lunch: this place is a tourist attraction in its own rights (watch out for the buses) and bigs up the whole outback thing to the point where it's almost kitsch, but you have to smile because it's all tongue in cheek and at the end of the day it's the best (if the only) decent food for mile around.

Salad and steak were decently done, beer was cold and refreshing, and we sat outside under the awnings and enjoyed the "winter" (33C) sun and the local birdlife. Local wildlife can be spotted in the bar as well, looking like it's come out of a Crocodile Dundee film. As a break from the 700k from Katherine to Tenant Creek, it's a well placed and enjoyable place to grab a bite.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MacDaddyinSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here twice on our last holiday. Once on the way up, (where we just used the caravan park facilities), and then again on the way home, at which time we availed of all of their services.
During the main tourist season, don't expect to rock up at 5pm and easily get a site in the caravan park, as the overflow is often full as well. Better to get there mid afternoon to ensure you get a site.
When we arrived, we booked in and then drove into the caravan park. We were given several site options by our friendly bike riding host, who then suggested that there was more shade available in the overflow section. We took this option as it is just over the road from the pub. We then went to the pub to book in for dinner and the kids had a swim. The Barra/Steak dinner was excellent with a good range of salads. Coupled with great entertainment, the whole experience was well worth the short detour off the highway. This is why it is so popular. The staff are a mix of Australians and overseas backpackers, and all were friendly and attentive.
The toilets and showers, whilst looking somewhat rustic, were always clean and the showers were hot, with excellent pressure.
This destination should be on everyone's bucket list.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We arrived at lunchtime and ordered the barra bites and beer . The beer was the coldest on our travels in NT which was appreciated on a hot day and the barramundi was so fresh and cooked to perfection and good value.Good resting spot .we shall return

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minnie273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed on a powered caravan site overnight .After reading some of the previous comments I was not too sure what to expect but I carn't believe where some of these comments come from. We found the staff to be so helpful and accomodating, nothing was too much trouble. We pre ordered our dinner for 6.30 off the menu as we did not want the beef & barra and although they were very busy at this time, our dinner arrived right on time. I was expecting a bit of a delay but no it arrived as ordered. The meals were more than ample for the money, we even went back for breakfast the next morning. This place has so much character, and admittingly it is not the Hilton it was very quirky and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and hope to re visit again next year,

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cheryl m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had a family unit and it was very modern and comfortable. I would stay again. The pub is very old I think a lot like this and think it is character but I was not impressed with the cleanliness and was glad that I could not see the kitchen were my food was coming from if he toilets were anything to go by.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kalggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews