We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A farmhouse converted into a museum, a wonderful B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Maison d'Artgile
Ranked #1 of 1 Zimmersheim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Very impressive conversion of a large farmhouse barn into a three level B&B with extensive art created by Vincente who creates imaginative and exquisite sculptures. Each room is different and we elected, given a choice, to stay in a cosy unique third floor room over a larger one on the first floor. Besides the lodging, the interior is beautiful and the breakfasts, outside essentially in the rededicated driveway, are excellent. Highest rating to the hosts, Philippe and Vicente, who made us feel at home and offered many suggestions on local sites. This is a bit outside of Mulhouse, but a good place to use as a base to explore the southern Alsace. We checked out the reconstructed village museum, and the wallpaper museum, both well worth the time. If ever near the area we will return.

Room Tip: Best to come during the day so you can find the entrance. We did not realize there was a buzzer-bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 81 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

Nice old house which was renovated with a lot of attention to detail and quality. Very caring owners. Perfect breakfast buffet with a lot of fresh and tasty food.
Nice swimming pool in the garden.
Owners give advice for nearby restaurants and activities

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PipaFria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had a fabulous one-night visit (too short!) to Vincente and Philippe's lovely property. We were welcomed warmly by friendly hosts and hot weather and headed straight for the charming outdoor pool, where we were served complimentary drinks. Our room (Georges Braque) was stunning: a tasteful blend of rustic Alsatian farmhouse and pure luxury. The bed is large, mattress firm, and linens soft...just right! The bathroom is generously outfitted with two sinks, a standing tub and an expansive rainshower... we struggled to make it to breakfast on time because we were busy pampering and luxuriating!

The breakfast buffet was fabulous: a wide array of fresh breads and croissants, cheeses, fruit, muesli and delectable homemade jams. We were seated outside at our own little table with starched tablecloth and napkins, individual coffee pots, and several other exceptional touches.

Vincente and Philippe were kind enough to make restaurant recommendations and reservations. Thanks to them, we enjoyed an elaborate (yet very affordable) five-course meal at La Table de Louise, just a five minute drive from the B&B. They also provided tips for sightseeing along la Route des Vins, and saw us off with a map and a big bottle of water for the road.

We recommend La Maison d'Artgile wholeheartedly, and hope to return ourselves one day!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rseelig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

A marvellous barn conversion and friendly owners led to an exceptionally comfortable stay. A surprise modern wood/glass tranquil relaxation area & sauna hid behind a timbered wall. Also, there were marvellous original pieces of metal artwork throughout the house (made by the owner) - all enhanced the stay. There also seems to be a well-kept swimming pool in the lovely garden, though we didn't venture in as it was February..! Breakfasts were exceptional too. Thoroughly recommend it - our 14 month baby would too!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were planning to stay only one night but we decided to stay two. We could not resist the place is so cozy and relaxing. We went with our two small girls and it was perfect. We got the big family room with two double beds. My girls eyes went very wide when they opened the closet and found boxes and boxes of toys and a huge doll house. It was difficult aftr that to convince them to fo out to the Christmas markets! But we did and they are magnificent. A fantastic activity just before the holidays.
La Maison d'Artgile is a bed and breakfast with class. It has been constructed with the best materials and with exquisite taste. It has a brand new sauna that we enjoyed whilst the girls where downstairs playing with the toys and reading the extensive library of children's books.
The owners are incredibly helpful and friendly. It has a pool so I am sure that in the summer it must be really nice.
The breakfast was fantastic with all sorts of cheeses, breads, fresh juice, fruits, yogurt and a roaring fire. I would also thoroughly recommend this bb.

Room Tip: If you have kids the family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the4cs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

A lovingly restored old small barn.
The owners couldn't of been more welcoming and the service was great.
The room had all the modern facilities but still kept it's quaintness.
The 'Continental Breakfast' was excellent.
Would thoroughly recommend this B+B.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stéphanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Maison d'Artgile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison d'Artgile

Address: 10 rue de Rixheim, 68440 Zimmersheim, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Zimmersheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Zimmersheim
Price Range: $156 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining tradition with modernity, la maison d'artgile is a guest house with character and charm. The 17th century farmhouse was restored by vincente and philippe who habe been careful to respect the tradition of alsatian houses. La maison d'artgile offers five spacious and comfortable rooms with a bath or shower,separate toilets, a telephone and television,internet access as well as a sauna and a lovely outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Maison d'Artgile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing